We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Italy ”

Ristorante Il Baldo
Ranked #109 of 888 Restaurants in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

Accidentally stumbled upon this place and glad that we did. Clearly a place where the locals eat. We were surrounded by tables filled with large Italian families. They have a fine house red wine and an excellent antipasto platter. We just hung out for the ambiance!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank lynnebernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 282 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

Very helpful and fruendly staff, good home cooked food. The language barrier did not stop communicstion. Went there twuce.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 265ElaineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2016

Very good, sympatic owners, this popular place is not easy to see from Corso Vannucci and therefore only peoples knowint it attend; we have seen no tourist but only local peoples. We have been a Friday evening and returned Saturday evening. After the order the owner came to advice us that the meat we asked did not please her and she propose to change it with something better for the same price.
Very good; This will be my cantine from now on in Perugia.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Samuel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

Il Baldo is a no-nonsense restaurant with very friendly staff that offers plain but decent food at low price. I went there because Happy Cow suggested it. I wouldn't go there for a romantic dinner, but for a fast and decent meal you are at the right place here.

Date of visit: April 2016
1  Thank Sernilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We went to this restaurant, because it was listed to offer "vegan" meals on this website.
When we checked the menu, we realized that there was hardly anything vegan. Since it was already late, we just decided to give it a try. We should have been warned, though. We were the only guests in the main dining area.

You can find many vegan dishes in any Italian restaurant, at least some pasta dishes with tomato sauce or pizza, where you just ask not to put cheese on it. Most Pizzeria have "Pizza Marinara" on their menu, which is by definition served without cheese, but just with tomato sauce and garlic.

It was really difficult to find something suitable in this place. I went for Pasta with tomato sauce and basil and a mixed salad. While we waited for our meal, we could hear some noise. Several people, including the waiter, were watching a football match in the next room.

When the food arrived, I realized that there wasn't any basil on the tomato sauce. Also, we weren't given a tray with olive oil and Aceto Balsamico for the salad. That is standard in any restaurant in Italy, since the vinaigrette will be made by the guest himself. So we asked for both, and when asked about the basil, the waiter said that they run out off it. The service was very poor overall. I haven't seen a waiter being so bored by his job. He was apparently more interested in the football match on the TV. The pasta wasn't good, overcooked and the sauce was just bland tomatoes. The pizza of my friend was ok, but we had much better ones in Italy.

If I think about it, there was one good thing about this place. They had a very good dark Italian beer, which was really tasty.

Else, better avoid this place. We were surprised that, with such poor service and bad food, a restaurant can survive in a town like Perugia.

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Olver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Il Baldo also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante Il Baldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing