We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel, perfect location”
Review of Hotel Fortuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fortuna
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel, perfect location”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Very pleasant hotel, in an ancient builiding right in the historical center, so perfect for tourists, as in Perugia you mainly walk around. The room was a bit on the small side, but this is expected when the builiding is so old. Anyway it was clean and nicely furnished, and the view from my window, on a little street with balconies and flowers, was charming.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clafromitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    240
    64
    10
    11
See reviews for
70
232
31
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Unfortunatly we only stayed one night but, for sure, we will be back. The hotel location is perfect, you step out and you are in the main street of Perugia, a small medioevel town, sort of an hidden jewel in the heart of Italy. The rooms are large enough and warm (it was cold outside, around 32°): Nice breakfast with lots of pastries and good cappuccino. Good concierge service. An experience to be repeated next time in Italy.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My wife and I had the opportunity recently to stay at the Hotel Fortuna in Perugia. Prior to arriving the staff was very accomodating in answering my questions via email. Upon arrival, as well as during our stay, the staff was quick to provide excellent service. Rooms are well appointed and roomy enough if you are out most of the day, as we were. If you want to lounge in your room then you might think the room is small.
We would consider this hotel again should we return to the area. For the price, we were very pleased.

Room Tip: My only caution is for one to know that a room on the second floor can actually be 3 to 4 flights up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulnutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed here in November, one night. Location is perfect to visit the city, everything you need to see is in walking distance. We took the train from Rome and a taxi to go to the Hotel so we did not have trouble parking a car. Rooms are nice but not large, at least the one we had. Breakfast well serve, everything very fresh, good cappuccino. The young boy at concierge a sweetheart, always smiling and caring. He suggested la Taverna for a good dinner and he was right. Fairly priced, we were very happy.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhonda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

A very nice Hotel in the heart of Perugia, just few walking minutes fron everything. Lovely rooms, clean bathrooms (small towel for a big man like me.....). Breakfast above expectations, very helpful with parking. From the terrace on the top floor you can enjoy a breathtaking view of the Umbrian hills. Fairly priced.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 326thestein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This hotel was placed right in the middle of Perugia hilltop town in a laneway only about 50 metres from the town square. However to reach the hotel you have to either catch a taxi to the door or walk about 100 metres down stairs from the bus stop or the escalator from town. The furnicular railway from the station at the main railway station in Perugia is on the other side of the town square in the old town and is about 300 metres away.
The hotel was charming and we were lucky enough to have a lovely room on roof level with a private balcony overlooking the town rooftops. The decor in the hotel has many original features and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast was very good. We had a great 7 days stay here and found it quite easy to find bus depots to enable us to visit outlying hilltop towns.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony or terrace room if you like to sit outside with your own table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icehouse45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed here several nights as a base to explore the region. As others noted, this is a place for someone that enjoys interesting historic properties. The building has a charming dining room, roof deck and common area. Location is great for accessing the main piazzas of the city. The only major detraction is variation in the size of the rooms. We had two rooms, one which was spacious and another one that was much smaller, though the price was the same. Rooms were clean, wifi worked well and breakfast was the standard Italian b&b. Book through their website as they had discounts.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFeet21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.1 km away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.4 km away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Rosalba
Hotel Rosalba
#4 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel La Rosetta
Hotel La Rosetta
#32 of 66 in Perugia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.4 km away
Albergo Morlacchi
Albergo Morlacchi
#14 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortuna

Property: Hotel Fortuna
Address: Via Luigi Bonazzi 19, 06123, Perugia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Perugia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortuna Hotel Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing