We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Etruscan Chocohotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Etruscan Chocohotel
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sweet Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

The Etruscan Chocohotel was well designed to match it's concept, which is chocolate. It smells like chocolate throughout the hotel and they give you a welcome chocolate gift. The rooms are extremely clean, the breakfast buffet is very good (and it includes all sorts of chocolate desserts and fudges). In addition, the staff is friendly and and some of them are fluent in English. Furthermore, there is a swimming pool on the top floor. The only problem we had is that we had lunch at the hotel and misunderstood that there were two types of salad buffets (not clear in the menu) and one was much more expensive than the other. Overall, we were satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fdphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    615
    210
    33
    11
See reviews for
239
630
31
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

After traveling through Italy and staying in some truly fantastic hotels that expressed the Italian culture to its finest, our stop in Perugia was highlighted by CHOCOLATE! Yes, we truly loved the magnificence of Michelangelo, DaVinci, et al, but how could we dismiss our other love - Perugina Chocolates and the tour of the factory Perugia has to offer.
Well, the Chochotel is obviously goes with the theme. It is clean, central and easy to find (what a relief!). The prices are reasonable and it has a pool. I would have liked to have more access to CHOCOLATE, (on the pillow, in bowls or whatever), but as a basic, "chain-like" hotel, it was good. Breakfast was fun.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

The idea of a Chocolate hotel seemed like a great change from our average stays, before arriving we joked it would either be really good or realllllly bad. Luckily it is a perfect blend of fun, taste and of course chocolate. The gift shop and lobby are wonderful, the rooms are not too over the top and apart from the delicious chocolate they give you when you arrive, there is also a rooftop pool to top it off. Well worth the stay, even if it wasn't exactly close to the city center. Still worth it if you fancy a little change, excellent for kids!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexander d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koper, Slovenia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

Hotel was clean with friendly stuff.
Breakfast was not various, but lots of chocolate, that was great anyway.
Room was just the right size, but too old furniture for my taste.
It the hall there was a free access internet PC.
I would mark it as average.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollidaystraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

I booked this hotel purely because it is the first hotel in the world dedicated to chocolate and because I am a chocolate fan. I was very disappointed however. The outside of the hotel does not scream chocolate at all. It isn't until you walk inside and you enter the choco store where you begin your choco-experience with a bath tub of gigantic chocolate cubes. However, that's pretty much all the excitement.

The hotel inside is gloomy, not well lit. We were also very disappointed with the staff. We asked them several questions regarding tours but they could not assist us. We had to use the internet to find out what tours were available. A positive is that the internet and phone calls are actually included in your room rate so they are not extra expenses. We were however not told about this and we only realised that these services were included upon checking out as we had expected to pay for them. The staff also don't speak English very well and did not answer our questions.

The location of the hotel is not very good. It is quite far from the city centre and a bit of a walk from any restaurants/cafes/bars. It is opposite a couple of petrol stations, and that's about it. You feel a bit deserted. The roof top pool however is lovely and the breakfast was magnificent. Huge buffet breakfast with a chocolate fondeu fountain. But do not stay at this hotel just for this reason.

The rooms were clean and comfortable with bed spreads that have "chocolate" written all over it in different languages. The hotel's restaurant is quite popular but very expensive. We ate there one night and the food was lovely but way too over priced. My friend ordered potato chips and they came out after we had both finished our meals. One of the waiters began to clear our table when the waitress realised that we hadn't received our potatoes yet. No apology was given for the wait and ridiculous timing. My friend certainly did not feel like potatoes after finishing her main. She wanted to eat them with her main, not as a dessert!

If I were to return to Perugia, I would stay at a hotel in the centre or close to the centre. This hotel is just too far out and the staff aren't willing to assist you to make your stay more pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EatPrayLove123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The hotel itself was quite nice for a 3-star hotel, nice rooms, excellent roof-top pool and garden, and an amazing chocolate store near reception. We got a bar of chocolate on our arrival, which was a nice surprise! The staff were pretty average, they really didn't seem like they were interested in you and not nearly as friendly and helpful as the staff in other hotels we stayed in. The hotel itself was a little outside the city center of Perugia, maybe a 30 minute walk, but we knew this upon booking the hotel. The restaurant was quite expensive and they brought you things that you didn't order (like salad), and then charged you for it at the end of the meal!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole_Barile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area
3.0 km away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Rosalba
Hotel Rosalba
#5 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
1.1 km away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#6 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Signa
Hotel Signa
#13 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etruscan Chocohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etruscan Chocohotel

Property: Etruscan Chocohotel
Address: Via Campo di Marte 134, 06124, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Etruscan Chocohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Etruscan Chocohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etruscan Chocohotel Perugia
Etruscan Chocohotel Hotel Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing