We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
28
48
45
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
48
45
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnumber tramminute walk from the hotelminutes walkingexhibition centrepublic transportyogurtthe busswitzerlandcheesepass
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 137 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at one of the apartments and all through the night you could hear every other guest coming and and going which was incredibly disruptive to both my son (17 Months old) and our sleep all night. Plus the rooms were freezing cold! Only positive was location to the main Basel sights.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Jez S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2018 via mobile

Staff were all really friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived, room was modern, clean and comfortable.
The location was perfect you can get the 50 bus from the airport to Basel train station then hop on the number 2 tram to Messeplatz and you’ll be a 2 minute walk from the hotel (transport all free with your hotel confirmation until the hotel provide you with travel cards)
Slightly disappointed that there was a coffee machine/hot water dispenser in the room but no coffee/tea provided as the restaurant sells it.
Ate in the restaurant once it was nice, slightly expensive but standard for Switzerland prices (2x pizza, 1xcoke 1xwater and 1x chips 58chf)
Would recommend the hotel and we would return, thanks for a pleasant stay.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank heidibeth93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2017

I had very low expectations before getting to the hotel, mainly because of the negative reviews I read before booking. I was very surprised to find that there was very little not to like about this hotel.

The location is extremely convenient, close to almost everything by foot, but also in the middle of a big public transport intersection. My room was small but just enough for one person. The building seems old but renewed, there was nothing to complain about that aspect - I'm usually picky with hotel bathrooms but this one nice, clean, and had a fresh look.

The breakfast was very nice, had all the usual basics, nice ham and cheese, eggs and bacon, bread and croissant. Good coffee and tea. Very kind and helpful staff.

There's no luxury but it's a great value for money. I absolutely recommend it and would definitely stay there again if back in Basel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is clean and staff are very helpful i for got to take my plug adapters when I told the reception they lend them out at CHF 10 and when you check out you get it back
The rooms are dated but very comfortable and warm
Breakfast is also good
good continental and also bacon and scrambled eggs
Did not try evening meal so cannot say
If you going here, from the airport get the number 50 bus to the train station then the number 8 tram to messer plaz
This hotel has everything close by
And a very good transport system
Show the bus and tram driver your hotel conformation and the transport is free also the hotel gives you a pass for all the transport
The area is very expensive our evening meal out consisted of 2 lasagne 1 margarita pizza 1 cola and 2 large beers cost CHF 80
So have plenty in the bank
Would stay at this hotel if I return to Basel

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank junemor2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2017

Our room was comfortable but definitely not spacious. The bathroom had been renovated and was bright and airy. There was a reasonable amount of hanging space and shelving. The fridge only worked when the light was on. There were two complimentary pods for the coffee machine. After that you could purchase more from reception. The hotel is situated next to the tram line so we had to close our windows at night to block out the noise. There is no airconditioning but a fan is provided. Thankfully the weather in Basel wasn't too hot. The lift is very small so we used the stairs most of the time. Breakfast in the dining room is basic but adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews