We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Euler
Nearby Hotels
US$136
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel D - Basel(Basel)
US$135
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$123
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$160
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$124
US$120
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Victoria(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$174
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rochat(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
DASBREITEHOTEL(Basel)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Stuecki Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$99
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
141
125
28
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
125
28
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspillow menupiano playertrain stationdouble deluxehotel terracelong standingespresso coffee machineexcellent locationsingle duvetsfree mineral watercentral locationevery eveningtraditional hotelfree ridehotel pricesentire cityroom upgrade
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

It is not clear how to park, you use valet parking and drop off outside the entrance. Clean and friendly staff, nice food options but the city is full of restaurants. The room was sound proofed from the road and trams and when there the a/c was a bonus this hot summer.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJeschek, Manager at Hotel Euler, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear Ian

We thank you for your stay at the Euler and for your review.

Good to hear that you had an enjoyable stay despite the hot outside temperatures.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again we wish you a nice summertime.
Jana Jeschek & associates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Euler while visiting Art Basel. While it wasn't the closest hotel to the Messeplatz it was fantastically easy to get there & other places using the trams & buses right outside the door.
The common areas are a little dated but the room was spacious & we had a relatively recently refurbished bathroom. The beds were comfortable and they had a pillow menu which was great for those of us that don't like flat pillows.
The staff were really helpful & managed to get us restaurant bookings at a very busy time of year.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJeschek, Manager at Hotel Euler, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Dear Fiona

We thank you for choosing the Euler for your visit during the ART Basel as well as for sharing your experience.
Nice to hear that our services were up to your satisfaction and that you liked the hotel and its amenities.
Looking forward to welcoming you for next year's ART Basel or sooner and wish you all the best in the meantime

Jana Jeschek & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Having selected this hotel for a two night stop in Basel on our Swiss Holiday my first indications of the superb customer service this hotel prides itself on delivering came after making the reservation on their website. In the "special requests" section I had asked for an extra pillow as my wife has a long-standing neck issue and often benefits from having an additional pillow. The hotel responded virtually straight away asking which type of pillow I would like in the room. In communicating with the receptionist via email we agreed on the type and this was indeed in situ in our room when we arrived. In reality the hotel has a pillow menu in each room should you need to request a different one to the item supplied ... something we have never before come across other than the firm or soft option of the IHG hotel chains.

In terms of the hotel's location you emerge from the main station at Basel onto the Stationplatz, look across to the left and the blue-facade-decorated building is the Euler. Absolutely simple to find.

Reception staff were totally welcoming and attentive to acknowledging us ... even the ones not directly dealing with us. Nothing was too much trouble for them to answer. Our spotless room had been perfectly prepared by the room servicing team who obviously took the same pride in making their contribution to the hotel's standards as all the other main staff we encountered. The room was well appointed with plenty of space and all the items you'd expect to find in a top quality hotel.

The one difference you might find lacking is an in-room coffee facility but that is taken care of in a different way at this hotel. Each floor has its own conveniently positioned coffee maker for guests to enjoy a fresh cup whenever they want. We found the equipment was always provisioned with the coffee capsules and had a topped up water reservoir whenever we wanted to use it so I suspect they have a staff member whose duty is to make regular checks on such matters and top up as necessary. The floors also appear to have a centrally located fruit bowl should you wish to enjoy any of its contents.

We enjoyed the good selection available at the Breakfast Buffet where the servers were as friendly and helpful as the other staff we had encountered.

Should you wish to explore this very walkable city this hotel is a great base to do it from but if you prefer using public transport to get around then the hotel automatically provides guests with the Basil pass to facilitate this.

Given its central location near the train and bus station you may have been worried about traffic noise. All I can say based on our experience was that we had no issues whatsoever ... not even my wife who is an extremely light sleeper and the one who is usually affected if rooms are not sound insulated.

Should we ever find ourselves visiting Basel again there would be only one choice of hotel we'd be making ... this one.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor and the de-luxe room
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue and Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJeschek, Manager at Hotel Euler, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Dear Sue and Alex

We sincerely thank you for choosing the Euler for your stay in Basel as well as for taking the time for this nice and extensive review. Great to learn that you enjoyed the hotel and its amenities. We look forward to your next visit and wish you a wonderful summer

Jana Jeschek & the Euler team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We arrived here after a long trip with several delays – without our luggage. On check-in, we were upgraded from the City Hotel to Hotel Euler. The upgrade included 2 glasses of prosecco and 2 transit passes. Dinner in the restaurant was a little pricey but the food was outstanding. The staff were extremely helpful in tracking our luggage and arranging its return. The transit passes were a tremendous bonus as they allowed us to explore Basel without also trying to figure out the transit system.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Dragon45459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJeschek, Manager at Hotel Euler, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Dragon45459

Many thanks for staying at the Euler and great to hear that your luggage finally made it.

We are happy that you liked our hotel and the staff and that we could make you feel like at home after the long journey.

Looking forward to your next visit
Jana Jeschek & the Euler crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

This is a very very good hotel.
Located across the Main station, a 2 min drive with the bus to the center.
Very clean rooms and the staff is very very professional and friendly !
I tried to find something negative but I could not find anything ....

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cke007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJeschek, Manager at Hotel Euler, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Cke007

We thank you for choosing the Grandhotel Euler as well as for your nice review.

Your feedback makes us very proud and we will do our best to keep this level up o:)

Looking forward to seeing you soon again
Jana Jeschek & associates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews