We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living at he Euler”
Review of Hotel Euler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Euler
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Just in 2017 so far I have spent around 8 weeks at the Euler. An old-school hotel located right at the Bahnhof, it radiates an elegance. Every evening there is live piano in the lobby or on the veranda, and the food is good.

Rooms and bathrooms are generally smaller then modern hotels, but this is as to be expected. There is a decent buffet in the morning with good service at normal Swiss prices.

What the Euler lacks in infrastructure due to age (pool, gym) it makes up for in Quality of Service and overall elegance.

This is not a hotel for children. There are no amenities and the clientele leans older or business.

I will tay at the Euler again.

Room Tip: There are a few very small rooms with twin beds. Just request something larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeepwrangler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJeschek, Manager at Hotel Euler, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear jeepwrangler

We sincerely thank you for your loyalty to the "Euler" as well as for sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community.

We are very happy that our hotel suits your needs and that you enjoy the ambiance.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again
Jana Jeschek & associates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

MY husband and I just stayed their for one night before a river cruise.The staff were so accommodating.They could not do enough for us.The room was very modern. THe lovation was right next to the train station. Transportation in Basl was free when staying there.Breakfast was well worth the cost. WOuld recommend this place for anyone who has come to this part of world.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank pat46455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJeschek, Manager at Hotel Euler, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Pat

Warm greetings from the Euler and many thanks for your nice review.

We hope that you enjoyed your river cruise and look forward to welcoming you again upon your next Switzerland discovery.

Jana Jeschek & associates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We visited Switzerland in october month, last year. First started with Basel, the city in the northwestern part of the country. We booked the great Hotel Euler, with very well location, just across the SBB Train Railway Station or Bahnhof Basel.
That is the first-class traditional hotel, now combined with the modern facilities that every guest expects in 21st century.
And also, it might be said, that it is situated in the very heart of Basel.
Everything here, within the hotel, was above our expectations, starting with very hospitable and pleased staff, then very nice rooms, guestroom, with the state-of-the-art technology, furniture, designs, WIFI
access and so many things beside that.
The restaurant is also very good one, with great offer of delightful dishes, although we more ate outside the hotel, in the want to see as much as we could in beautiful city of Basel.

Room Tip: Any room You choose, You won't be wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Oleg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJeschek, Manager at Hotel Euler, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Oleg

Many thanks for your visit last autumn as well as for your nice review.

We are very happy that our hotel and its services were above your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you soon again and wish you a wonderful summer!
Jana Jeschek & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We have stayed at this lovely hotel on several occasions. Everything about it is first class, from the service when you enter to the great room you are taken to. Even the rooms that face the street are completely quite. The rooms all have AC which is quite nice in summer.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJeschek, Manager at Hotel Euler, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Alisa

We thank you for choosing the Euler for your stay in Basel as well as for sharing your nice experience with other travellers.

Good to hear that everything was up to your satisfaction.

Looking forward to your next visit!
Jana Jeschek & associates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Very good location and convenient very pleased and helpful personnel. Free travel with public tram or bus. Next to the Swiss and French rail station .I am a repeat customer and will return. Thank you ..

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mmwehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJeschek, Manager at Hotel Euler, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you very much choosing the Euler for you stay in Basel and for sharing your positive experience at our Hotel with the community.

Looking forward to having you back as our guest soon!

Best regards
Jana Jeschek & the EULER team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel is so nice. The staff was the best we have had in Europe so far. The restaurant served a delightful selection of entrees. The pillow menu offers a unique experience and the duvet was soft and comfortable.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJeschek, Manager at Hotel Euler, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Dear Larry

We thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Euler as well as for your nice review.

Your feedback makes us very proud and we will do our best to keep this level up o:)

Looking forward to seeing you soon again
Jana Jeschek & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel is grand and classic.
Very close to the SBB train station and local tram station. I've stayed the front room with the road view. It was not noisy at all
Rooms are quite spacious, clean and full of amentities. The coffee machine is in common corridor in each floor.
Only one thing is odd. There is no slop at the hotel main entrance to pull our luggage up. I do not found the way to lift up the disable too.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Nwe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJeschek, Manager at Hotel Euler, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear guest

Many thanks for choosing us for your stay in Basel as well as for sharing your experience with other travellers.

We are glad to hear that you liked the hotel and its amenities.
Indeed, the elevated hotel main entrance is not easy to handle with heavy luggage.
Our apologies for not having offered luggage assistance as our bellboy usualy does.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again!
Jana Jeschek & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 52 in Basel
996 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#10 of 52 in Basel
639 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#7 of 52 in Basel
1,050 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#23 of 52 in Basel
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Euler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Euler

Address: Centralbahnplatz 14, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#18 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range: $158 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Euler 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Euler was built in 1867 by Abraham Euler and is one of the earliest tributes to high-end hospitality in Europe. Since 1981 it has belonged to the Manz Family. This elegant four stars superior hotel was completely refurbished in May 2008 in a modern style, still keeping the traditional elegance of a grand hotel. It has 66 rooms, 6 of which are junior suites. All rooms offer the highest in comfort and modern technology and combine modernity with tradition and design. The Euler restaurant and bars combine seasonal specialities with classic traditional dishes and cater to all needs, from a hearty breakfast to a fast business lunch to a cosy candle light dinner. In the summer time the Euler Terrace is one of Basel’s main meeting points, for a quick coffee or an aperitif. A Starbucks coffee shop on premises completes the food and beverage offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Euler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euler Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing