We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
160
139
30
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
139
30
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspillow menupiano playertrain stationdouble deluxehotel terracelong standingexcellent locationespresso coffee machinefree mineral watersingle duvetscentral locationevery eveningtraditional hotelnoisy at nighthotel pricesrelaxing stayentire city
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 335 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

Located next to the main train station and right beside the tram transfer point, the hotel is small but very comfortable and welcoming. It has a restaurant 'Caspers' which serves breakfast lunch and dinner with coffee in between. Our room was an executive room with a king bed, a bath and a walk in shower. Enough room for2 comfortable chairs. Even had room to open our 2 suit cases. No gym on site but there is one around the corner. This a good hotel by European standards.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Rodney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJeschek, Manager at Hotel Euler, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Rodney

Many thanks for choosing the Euler for your trip to Basel and for your nice review.

We are pleased to learn that you liked our hotel and hope that you enjoyed your stay in Basel.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again!
Jana Jeschek & associates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2017

On this occasion my wife and I were arriving in Basel by car so we wanted a hotel with easy parking but we also wanted to be near the central rail station. The Euler is just across Centralbahnplatz from the station so really could not be more convenient. The hotel has just ten parking places in the basement so advanced booking is essential. If you leave your car at the hotel entrance they will valet park it for you, a real luxury – though at a price. Check-in was efficient and the young lady most personable. Unusually these days, they couldn’t accept a charge against a debit card to cover any extras but required the guarantee of a credit card. Fortunately, as an experienced traveller, I always keep a credit card for these occasions though I don’t expect to use it.

We had booked a large king-bedded room for two nights. We were upgraded to a junior suite, which was nice. The room was equipped with frig and safe. Electric window shutters were a bit of a novelty. The bathroom was luxurious with separate bath and shower and two basins and was impeccably presented. Neither basin would hold water, though. The air conditioning was quiet and effective.

I did have several issues with this room. Despite being a suite in what is obviously one of Basel’s luxury hotels, I thought the room décor and furnishings were very average – apart from a nice escritoire. There was also a serious lack of electric light which made it difficult for me to read or write almost anywhere in the suite in the evening. I tried moving one of the floor lamps but their leads were too short to plug in anywhere else. There were tea and coffee facilities but these were placed in the corridor to be shared with all other rooms on our floor. Really? Surely not in a luxury hotel!

The room offered a pillow menu if we had wanted to order something exotic but otherwise the bedding provision was only one pillow per person. Housekeeping brought up two more in an instant when I phoned down but when you’re already in bed before you realise it, that’s a bit of an irritation and seems to fall short of the luxury image. Also, the king bed duvet was actually two single duvets and, as each one hung down on just one side of the bed, they tended to slide off in the night.

We didn’t eat dinner in the hotel but from a breakfast perspective the dining room was pleasant with French windows opening onto a patio facing the Platz. Staff were most pleasant and helpful. However I thought the breakfast buffet choice was too limited for a hotel of this class.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the trams at the front; sound insulation is good
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJeschek, Manager at Hotel Euler, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Dear Philip

Many thanks for choosing the Euler for your stopover in Basel as well as for your constructive and precise review.

We learn a lot from comments like yours and always try our best to get better and better.
Once again, thank you very much for giving us the chance to improve.

We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Jana Jeschek & associates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2017

My wife and I were looking for a nice hotel within walking distanmce of the train station, and this one fit the bill. One additional advantage to staying here was that many tram lines depart near the train station, so getting around Basel by tram is convenient (although we walked most of the time). The front desk was friendly and helpful, the room was excellent, and the breakfast spread was fine too.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WoofleDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJeschek, Manager at Hotel Euler, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

Dear guests

We sincerely thank you for choosing the Euler for your visit of Basel as well as for your nice review.

Great to hear that our hotel met your expecations and that your services were to your satisfaction.

Looking forward to your next stay
Jana Jeschek & associates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2017

I stayed in Basel for 3 days for an official visit. Overall, Euler hotel was comfortable and cozy with the tram station in front of it. Location is great and is at walking distance from shops and other entertainment locations. Food was average, hotel rooms were small (like in most of Europe). They give you a mobility pass for free travel in buses and trams, which is great. Switzerland is an expensive place, so be prepared to shell out a little more.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jinu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJeschek, Manager at Hotel Euler, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2017

Dear Jinu

We thank you for choosing the Euler for your visit in Basel as well as for sharing your experience.

We are glad that you liked our location and the mobility ticket.
Kindly note that we also have large deluxe rooms and huge suites.
Our reception shall be happy to recommend you the right room for your next stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again
Jana Jeschek, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2017

The hotel's location is unbeatable for convenience for anyone arriving or leaving by train, and the public transport infrastructure on the doorstep means that not being right in the town centre is not a problem. Comfortable rooms, smiling staff and a good breakfast: it's a no-brainer as a choice in Basel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jb5753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJeschek, Manager at Hotel Euler, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Dear guest

We sincerely thank you for your stay at the Euler and for your nice review.

We are very happy about your feedback and grateful for your recommendation to other travellers.

Looking forward to your next stay
Jana Jeschek & the Euler team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews