We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Specialty”

Gourmanderie Moleson
Ranked #17 of 574 Restaurants in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$52
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Swiss, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: In Berne's traffic free Aarbergergasse quarter, just five minutes from the parlament house and main station, lies the Gourmanderie Moléson. The gourmet menu entices you with real culinary pleasures. Grandma's market fresh meals with Swiss veal Cordon Bleu, Emmentaler rack of lamb, French free range chicken, AOC certified Charolais beef and SwissPrimBeef, fresh seasonal fish, Scottish Salmon (certifed Red Label), certified AOC swiss cheese fondue AOP from Gruyère and crispy Alsatian pies. All our meat comes from animals that were raised in their correct natural environment. All dishes are prepared from start to finish in our kitchen including our desserts. We are proud that all of our meals are prepared without any factory products. The restaurant is devided into three separate dining spaces where all meals are served. Experience the ambiance of a classic Brasserie in the Gourmanderie. The Petit Moléson swings with the rhythm of a Parisien Bistro. The Greyerzerstube with its original old wooden finish is perfect for bankets with twenty to thirty guests. In the summer time, enjoy your meal under large umbrellas on grand oldstyle furniture and feel the atmosphere of a Bernese old town street. Our place is the meeting point for local politicians, artists, business people and romantic connaiseurs. In Moléson you don't eat, you feast! Bernie & Sue Hüsser, Denis Vrankulj Assistent Manager, Sarah Ascone Assistent Manager, Conrad Wipf, Executive Chef and the Moléson Team
Reviewed September 28, 2017

This is a very popular restaurant in the Old Town section of Bern which has a cozy, charming atmosphere. They feature the Alsatian specialty , Tartes Flambe, a very thin crusted, crispy pizza with an unusual selection of toppings. We had one with cheese, onion and bacon; and another with mushrooms, pumpkin and cheese. They were delicious.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DaveandJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huesserbaerni, Inhaber at Gourmanderie Moleson, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017
Google Translation

Lieber DaveandJudy, vielen Dank für Ihren Eintrag. Es freut uns sehr, dass Sie unsere Elsässer Flammkuchen so genossen haben. Auf den leichten Weizenteig kommt nur das Beste: Crème fraîche, Zwiebeln, schwarzer Pfeffer und je nach Sorte die anderen Zugaben. Am Schluss gibts reifen AOP Greyerzer und Vacherin, 4 Minuten bei 320 Grad gebacken, und darüber frische Gartenkresse. Vielen Dank und vielleicht bis bald! Ihr Moléson-Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 230 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2017

We were looking for a classic French restaurant and based on the reviews stopped by Moléson. It was a great choice. Fast and kind service, fantastic food. Though I am not a fan of risotto these guys could surprise me. The foie gras was just perfect, creamy like a mousse.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anamaria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huesserbaerni, Inhaber at Gourmanderie Moleson, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017
Google Translation

Liebe Anamaria K, vielen Dank für Ihr Lob. Es freut uns sehr, dass Sie es bei uns so genossen haben. Die Leber für unser Mousse de Foie de Canard stammt aus tierfreundlicher Haltung ohne quälerisches Stopfen. Aus Respekt zum Tier verwenden ausschliesslich Fleisch aus würdiger Haltung. Wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie ein Andermal wieder bei uns verwöhnen zu dürfen und grüssen Sie herzlich! Ihr Moléson-Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2017

This is a large restaurant, near the market streets and the train station. There is outdoor seating available, with lots of room indoors. The food was typically swiss, with a few daily menu options. The service was good. Nice spot to enjoy a bit of downtime when touring the old town.

1  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huesserbaerni, Inhaber at Gourmanderie Moleson, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017
Google Translation

Liebe Anna H, vielen Dank für Ihren tollen Eintrag. Es freut uns sehr, dass Sie sich bei uns so wohl gefühlt haben. Mittags bieten wir unseren Gästen 5 verschiedene Menus an, dabei ist auch immer ein veganes. Die grosse Karte steht selbstverständlich immer zur Verfügung. Bei uns ist alles hausgemacht, wie wir es auch mögen. Wir wünschen Ihnen einen schönen Aufenthalt in unserer Berner Altstadt und grüssen Sie herzlich!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2017

We had our best meal in Switzerland at this restaurant in bern. I had the beef cheeks which just melted in my mouth and my partner had the steak. Their butter is sublime!

The service was very good and helpful as we had tried to order too much food with the waitress informing us that they are large servings, which they are.

Good wine selection and all in all a great restaurant to eat at.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Guven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huesserbaerni, Inhaber at Gourmanderie Moleson, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017
Google Translation

Lieber Guven P, vielen Dank für Ihren tollen Eintrag. Was für eine Freude, dass unsere butterzarten Rinderbacken auch Ihnen auf der Zunge geschmolzen sind. Diese haben über vier Stunden im Ofenrohr geschmort, darum sind sie so zart. Die Kräuterbutter zum Steak sind hausgemacht, wie eben alles, was wir anbieten. Auch freut es uns, dass Sie auch unseren Offenausschank an Flaschenweinen so schätzten. Wir würden und freuen, Sie ein Andermal wieder bei uns kulinarisch verwöhnen zu dürfen und grüssen Sie herzlich! Ihr Moléson-Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017

It was one of the few restaurants open until 10:00 pm on a Monday at Bern but, we decided to go for it's good reviews. It didn't disappoint us. My husband and I split a fois gras appetizer and each of us ordered an entree.
I had the shrimp with herb risotto and it was delicious, just a shame I couldn't finish the dish because of its size.
My husband ordered the trout and it was well seasoned. Not amazing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ana Beatriz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huesserbaerni, Inhaber at Gourmanderie Moleson, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017
Google Translation

Liebe Ana Beatrice G, vielen Dank für Ihren Eintrag. Es hat uns sehr gefreut, dass Sie es bei uns so genossen haben. Unsere Portionen sind gross, darum nennen wir uns Gourmanderie. Das ist die Heirat von Gourmet, der Feinschmecker und des Gourmands, der Vielfrass. Das nächste Mal kommen Sie hungrig, und wir werden Sie auch mit unseren Portionengrössen begeistern. Herzliche Grüsse, Ihr Moléson-Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gourmanderie Moleson also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to Gourmanderie Moleson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing