We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
RabePaul
Philadelphia, PA

Great place, and two problems were completely & immediately handled

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 15, 2023
When traveling in Europe, we always try to stay at a place close to a city's main rail station. Although it can get confusing the first time you walk through the tram stops between the station & the hotel, it's becomes a five minute walk once you remember to turn left when you reach the street with the Loeb store. In addition to being close to the station, the hotel was right in the Aldstadt, with streets & buildings seemingly unchanged from 500 years ago. Add the hotel providing a pass giving free access to the city's mass transit, and our time in Bern became one of the highlights of our trip to Switzerland.

We used a third-party booking to reserve our room but, even though we showed our confirmation from that site, the clerks stated that their system did not have our reservation. The problem was resolved within fifteen minutes, during which they offered us complimentary drinks & croissants for the trouble. It almost made their mistake enjoyable! Later, during the three-night stay, I got back to the lobby only to find a line of about fifty people, each with large suitcase, waiting to use the one elevator -- obviously a tour group had just arrived. The clerk offered me a free drink as I waited for the elevator to become available, but I just walked the stairs. I recognize that problems in the lodging business can occur, but I was pleased when the staff went out of their way to not only resolve the problems, but offered freebies to make up for them.

Our room had a half-bath, phone, coffee-maker, AC, mini-fridge, in-room safe, hair dryer, free wifi, and TV with over 100 channels -- about ten in English. It was clean, surprisingly quiet, and well-maintained. As noted, staff was helpful, polite, and professional. Scores of shops & restaurants were nearby.

If you enjoy walking streets in a UNESCO designated historic site, close to the train station; then Bern, and this hotel, is a great choice.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roman Oschwald, General Manager at NH Bern The Bristol, responded to this review
Responded Jun 20, 2023
Dear Mr. Rabe Paul

Thank you very much for the great feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be pleased to welcome you again at the NH Bern The Bristol on your next visit to the Federal City.

Kind regards and all the best


This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$268
  • Expedia.com
    C$268
  • Vio.com
    C$230
  • Hotels.com
    C$268
0.0 km from NH Bern The Bristol
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
C$321
  • Expedia.com
    C$322
  • Vio.com
    C$258
  • Hotels.com
    C$322
0.2 km from NH Bern The Bristol
Free Wifi
C$242
  • Swissotel
    C$242
  • Destinia.com
    C$237
  • Priceline
    C$242
0.8 km from NH Bern The Bristol
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$186
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$186
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$184
  • Expedia.com
    C$186
1.0 km from NH Bern The Bristol
Free Wifi
City Am Bahnhof Reception
C$237
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$220
  • Agoda.com
    C$183
  • Hotels.com
    C$221
0.2 km from NH Bern The Bristol
Free Wifi
C$239
  • HolidayInn.com
    C$231
  • Expedia.com
    C$239
  • Priceline
    C$281
5.2 km from NH Bern The Bristol
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
C$206
C$169
  • Booking.com
    C$206
  • Expedia.com
    C$173
  • Priceline
    C$179
2.0 km from NH Bern The Bristol
Free Wifi
C$200
  • Radissonhotels.com
    C$192
  • Hotels.com
    C$192
  • Expedia.com
    C$192
1.3 km from NH Bern The Bristol
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$570
  • Expedia.com
    C$563
  • Agoda.com
    C$526
  • Hotels.com
    C$563
0.2 km from NH Bern The Bristol
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$1,081
  • Hotels.com
    C$756
  • Vio.com
    C$597
  • Expedia.com
    C$754
0.3 km from NH Bern The Bristol
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Bern
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
257
99
30
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
257
99
30
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location train station old town nice big room shower design quirky decor mini fridge central location a couple of minutes walk room safe would stay again tour group good size spoke english coffee maker breakfast buffet spacious rooms
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 402 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2023 via mobile

The perfect hotel for exploring Bern and Switzerland. 5 mins walk from the station, for easy access to mountains, lakes and cities. Also centrally located in Bern close to multiple sights and restaurants.

The hotel is very comfortable, quiet and has a friendly welcome. An excellent cooked breakfast and a nice atmosphere for an evening drink.

Room tip: There were quite a few business people staying. Breakfast is busy at 8am.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank eEagle276
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roman Oschwald, General Manager at NH Bern The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2023

Dear eEagle276

Thank you very much for the great feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Bern at the NH Bern The Bristol.

Kind regards from all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2023

The room was OK but i think there was a thing with air conditioning because when I woke up I felt cold in the mornings. Besides the breakfast buffet needs some diversification because the only meat or processed meat was pork products. I think this hotel stands out for its excellent staff with always a big smile on their faces and ready to help you on every ocassion. Thank you Christine and Janine

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank enis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roman Oschwald, General Manager at NH Bern The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2023

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will gladly pass on your compliments to Janine and Christine. The breakfast buffet is currently being rebuilt and will have a larger selection in the future.
We would be pleased to welcome you again soon at the NH Bern The Bristol.

Kind regards and all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2023 via mobile

Such a beautiful hotel and only a short walk from the train station!Welcomed by staff who also spoke English which was super helpful! Spacious rooms, huge bed and beautifully decorated. Staff were very friendly and very helpful with all requests. Close to everything in Bern!

Room tip: There’s a gym on the top floor!
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roman Oschwald, General Manager at NH Bern The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2023

Hi Lee

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon in our hotel.

Kind regards and all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2023

I really enjoyed my two-night stay in this hotel. The location is excellent, facilities well organised, clean and appropriate for short city stays. Nice friendly staff and great ambience in the bar/breakfast room.

Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank manyagem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roman Oschwald, General Manager at NH Bern The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2023

Hi Manyagem

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon in our hotel.

Kind regards and all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2023

My daughter and I stayed 3 nights here. We had a lovely room which had been upgraded when we arrived. The room was comfortable and well appointed. The beds were not as comfortable as they could have been though. The bathroom was a nice size with lovely toiletries. The shower design is a bit strange as there is only a shower curtain, not a true shower wall with glass or tile. We saw this design in Italy too. That being said, the staff was just wonderful. Very welcoming and kind! It is a great location--only a short walk from the train station in a lovely shopping district. We were able to walk everywhere from this location.

Date of stay: March 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 862maribeths
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roman Oschwald, General Manager at NH Bern The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2023

Hi 862maribeths

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon in our hotel.

Kind regards and all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews