We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very contemporary”
Review of Hotel Allegro Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Allegro Bern
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very contemporary”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed one night as part of a tour group. The hotel has some construction going on but we obviously were in the renovated parts as everything seemed bright and new. The hotel is very contemporary in styling, furnishings and fixtures. Open atrium and staircases with glass elevators, curved outside corridors and open dining area near the staircases make for a very modern feel. It may seem a little cold to some but our room was very comfortable and we loved the colors. The modern lighting was not real user friendly, however. I have no idea on value since we did not pay separately but it was a nice break of a different type hotel from what one expects in Switzerland.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvlmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feliciaallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Dear traveler
Thank you for your rating and kind comments!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in Bern!

Kind regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    407
    137
    37
    25
See reviews for
125
385
42
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Having been disappointed by hotels down in the city before, this time I opted for the comfort of a Panorama Club room at the Allegro. The fact that the Allegro is across the river didn't really prove a disadvantage, as it was just a 5 minute walk across the bridge to the centre of the city. In return one receives glorious views across the city, and on a good day to the Berner Oberland. The hotel is designed to maximise this advantage of being a step above the city.
The rooms are modern, well appointed, comfortable and very clean, and unlike colleagues staying down in the city, we had the benefit of air conditioning during an unseasonal warm spell.
The service is friendly and efficient.
Unlike 90% of the hotels I stay in worldwide the Allegro does not offer free internet (something it seems to have in common with many others in Bern). While it is not expensive to make use of their SwissCom hotspot, it is a nuisance to be forever connecting and disconnecting in order not to be charged for idle time. I don't understand why SwissCom cannot charge by the Megabyte (ie the actual cost to them) like most other internet service providers rather than time. I suppose it makes them more money. Given the prices of rooms at the Allegro I am surprised that they do not feel they can throw in the internet for free.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with Panorama Club rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sangio7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feliciaallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Dear traveller

Thank you for your rating and kind comments!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments about the architecture are appreciated. Of course we are aware of the fact that it can be quite noisy at the front desk area upon check in time. However we are happy to hear that during your stay you were not disturbed anymore.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in Bern!

Kind regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The location is excellent, about 10 minutes scenic walk to Zytglogge (the famous clock in the town centre). The walk goes across a bridge suspended high above river Aare flowing underneath.
The quality of the hotel is reflected in the efficient service, cleanliness, good restaurant service. This is kind of standard across the whole Switzerland.
What really impressed us was the quality of the soundproofing in the rooms. The entry to the room is from a large atrium that extends across 4 floors, each containing 40 (maybe more) rooms. This large open space accommodates tables on the ground where people have breakfast or dinner. There is significant scope therefore for noise from the dining area to seep into the room, especially given that the room only has one single door. Not so. We couldn’t hear anything at all. I don’t know how they did it!
Also, no noise from adjacent rooms either. I should mention that there were noisy groups of tourists that came and went every day staying for one night only (I am resisting the temptation to mention their nationality). They were clearly a nuisance in the large lobby where they called each other loudly across the tables or the floors, but strangely enough this was not audible in the rooms.
I should mention that we got upgraded to a room with a view (from a room without a window). That made a big difference to the whole experience of staying there. Although on a low floor (second) the view between houses and trees was still magnificent with the town centre and the snow-capped Alps in the distance.
The hotel is undergoing refurbishing and extending with works planned to carry on till summer 2012. We didn’t hear any noise thought and there was minimal impact on the public areas.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank JasperD_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

As part of a detailed review of historical guest visits and comments, we have read your (though dated) feedback, and thank you for this.
Any still relevant comments will definitely be reviewed positively.

Kind regards,

Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The rooms (and the common areas) in this hotel were modern, updated and trendy and very roomy, which I didn't expect. The hotel was bigger than a boutique but still cute like one. It was a very quick walk into Old Town Bern across a bidge with beautiful views. Bern was so pretty! I think staying outside Old Town was a good choice -- our hotel was much roomier, and we had parking right in the hotel basement (for a cost- Switzerland is expensive).

The restaurants were the only off putting part -- they were pretty expensive, and we were told that one or two of them were closed (even to hotel guests), except for people with "packages" - still not sure what this means. Also, we went to the hotel casino for an hour or so but if you've ever been to a real casino anywhere it won't be very impressive at all, and the minimums were very high - don't bother.

But overal, great experience and I would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytrailsNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feliciaallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear traveller
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Nevertheless, we are sorry for the discomfort with the restaurant opening times.The packages which were mentioned to you consist of a dinner and an entrance to the casino. On Sunday evenings, one of our three restaurant is opened uniquely for reservations of this kind. Furhtermore, we are aware of the fact that our casino is not large, however, for Swiss standards, it is quite sizeable.

We are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel soon again.
Kind regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
186 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I was here for a 10 day business trip, having a room at a lower rate through a third party seller. As reported by other reviewers, the continental breakfast means that you are served a portion by the staff, instead of visiting the buffet. Some days this means that you have to wait longtime (15-20 min) before being served. Rooms are OK but both me and my colleague got a room with a window displaying on an intern wall (so actually they could have installed no rooms). Other colleagues got a room with a balcony and a nice city view. Due to some renovation works there was some noise from 7 AM on, however it was not very disturbingly on most days. Service was OK, and a small sauna and gym is available. Internet (wifi) is pricy. Overall this hotel can be recommended, but prices are rather high. The Italian restaurant attached to the hotel is also rather pricy, but provides rather good value compared to many other restaurants in this expensive city.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geographtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feliciaallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear traveller
Than you for your review. Referring to your room, you must have booked an Atrium room, which is our low priced category. All of these rooms are facing the inner part of the house. To avoid being allocated in such rooms, we suggest that you book an upper category.On the other hand, we would like to apologize for the waiting time in the breakfast restaurant, as we are aware that this is very unpleasant. At the moment our hotel is undergoing construction. We are trying to avoid inconvenience for our guests and we are very sorry if we failed to do so. Kindly we would like to inform, that free wifi will be provieded at the beginning of 2012.
Nevertheless we would be happy to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This is a very nice, good value hotel in a great location, just 5 minutes walk from the old town. Very modern and clean, with very friendly and helpful staff.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitty-Ten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feliciaallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear traveller
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards from Bern
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Location was on a main bus route (Bus No. 9) and within easy reach of the train station and city centre; staff were good, helpful and efficient; The hotel was clean and the light continental breakfast provided in the room rate was very good. We were able to get a very good room rate when booked one week before our arrival through Octopus Travel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank OAPHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feliciaallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear traveller
Thank you very much for the favourable comment! We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay and hope to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards from Bern
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
503 reviews
0.7 km away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#6 of 30 in Bern
57 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.5 km away
Best Western Hotelbern
1.3 km away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#5 of 30 in Bern
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allegro Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegro Bern

Property: Hotel Allegro Bern
Address: Kornhausstrasse 3, Bern 3013, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Allegro Bern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star superior Hotel Allegro is renowned for its high standards of service, excellent accommodation and choice of great gastronomy. Not to mention the breathtaking views of Bern's historic old town quarter, since 1983 a UNESCO World Heritage site and one of the first in Switzerland. The hotel comprises 171 rooms and suites in various categories. These include Economy rooms, Comfort rooms (with beautiful balcony) and Panorama rooms (which offer not only fine views but also special design and décor). For privileged guests and in a comfort and quality class of their own are the hotel's exclusive suites – Junior, Panorama and Penthouse – enhanced by distinctive yet discreet design and every comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Allegro Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing