We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dominika M

Excellent place to stay in Bern

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 24, 2024
Excellent hotel with modern amenities, including a gym. All spaces are newly decorated very clean and modern. Superb location, very easy to reach by public transportation. Delicious cuisine with highly trained and professional staff.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Flurin Schmid, Marketing at Swissotel Kursaal Bern, responded to this review
Responded Mar 25, 2024
Dear Dominika, thank you for your positive review! We are delighted that you enjoyed our modern amenities, clean spaces, superb location, delicious cuisine, and professional staff. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Swissôtel Kursaal Bern
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$281
  • Expedia.com
    C$273
  • Vio.com
    C$229
  • Hotels.com
    C$259
0.8 km from Swissotel Kursaal Bern
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
C$308
  • Expedia.com
    C$308
  • Vio.com
    C$247
  • Priceline
    C$250
0.7 km from Swissotel Kursaal Bern
Free Wifi
C$260
C$236
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    C$248
  • Expedia.com
    C$249
  • Hotels.com
    C$249
0.8 km from Swissotel Kursaal Bern
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$186
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$186
  • Priceline
    C$186
  • Hotels.com
    C$186
0.3 km from Swissotel Kursaal Bern
Free Wifi
C$216
  • Expedia.com
    C$216
  • HolidayInn.com
    C$209
  • Priceline
    C$216
5.8 km from Swissotel Kursaal Bern
Free Wifi
Pool
City Am Bahnhof Reception
C$205
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$191
  • Vio.com
    C$153
  • Hotels.com
    C$191
1.0 km from Swissotel Kursaal Bern
Free Wifi
C$201
  • Radissonhotels.com
    C$201
  • Expedia.com
    C$201
  • Hotels.com
    C$201
0.6 km from Swissotel Kursaal Bern
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
C$195
C$161
  • Booking.com
    C$165
  • Expedia.com
    C$165
  • Priceline
    C$177
1.3 km from Swissotel Kursaal Bern
Free Wifi
C$742
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$877
  • Vio.com
    C$597
  • Hotels.com
    C$742
0.7 km from Swissotel Kursaal Bern
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$570
  • Expedia.com
    C$562
  • Agoda.com
    C$516
  • Hotels.com
    C$562
0.8 km from Swissotel Kursaal Bern
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Bern
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
114
27
8
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
114
27
8
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice room swiss hospitality across the bridge great location old town pillows balcony tram
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 159 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2024

From the first to the last moment I throughly enjoyed my stay. The room (405) was great (location, bed, shower...) and the view is simply breathtaking. Can we talk about the breakfast? That alone is worth the stay. And if you are lucky enough to have some extra time, a drink on the terrace next to the Koi pool is mandatory. I'll be back!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank RogerGZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Flurin Schmid, Marketing at Swissotel Kursaal Bern, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2024

Dear RogerGZurich

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay at the Swissôtel.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
At the Swissôtel Kursaal Bern we place the highest value on quality and service. I will be happy to pass on your positive comments to the employees concerned.
Your satisfaction is the best reward for us and motivates us in our daily work.

We would be happy to see you again.

Best wishes from Bern

Pascale Bühlmann
Swissôtel Kursaal Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2024

Nice hotel in a good location. Good breakfast although lack of flax and goji-berries. Pillows menu is available. No benefits for high-level Accor ALL members since there are no SPA nor lounge, and all the rooms are the same. The stuff are very friendly and the rooms are nice and comfortable. Note: for unknown reason there is no daily supply of ear-buds (unless you ask each day...)

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Discover17351560555
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Flurin Schmid, Marketing at Swissotel Kursaal Bern, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2024

Dear Discover

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, comfortable rooms, and the friendly service provided by our staff.

We appreciate your comments regarding the breakfast selection and have noted your preference for flax and goji berries. Your suggestion will be considered as we strive to enhance our offerings.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the lack of daily ear-bud supplies and will review this with our housekeeping team to ensure better consistency in the future. Regarding the benefits for high-level Accor ALL members, we understand your concerns and will explore ways to improve the experience for our valued members.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon and provide you with an even better experience.

Warm regards,

Muriel Riedo
Front Office
Swissôtel Kursaal Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2024

Cute hotel in a convenient location. Right by the bridge into the Old Town.

Hotel is very clean with nice size rooms. They give you free tram tickets but we walked most places.

Hotel is lovely and the staff are lovely. They helped us find a great fondue and ice skating for the kids.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lola9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Flurin Schmid, Marketing at Swissotel Kursaal Bern, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2024

Dear Lola3455,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Swissôtel Kursaal Bern. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our convenient location, clean rooms, and the helpfulness of our staff. It's wonderful to know that you found our hotel lovely and that we were able to assist you in finding great activities for your kids. We truly appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Swissôtel Kursaal Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2024 via mobile

Upon arrival at the hotel, I was immediately greeted by a warm welcome. Then the front desk officer excitedly informed me that my two rooms have been upgraded! Mini bar is refillable each day!!! Wow!!!! I can’t believe their generosity. They are spoiling me and my family and we loved it!!!

The location of the hotel is only 3 minutes walk to the old town of Bern. There is a bus stop right in front so if you don’t feel like walking, just hop on and you will arrive at the old town within 30 seconds.

If you’re in Switzerland for the summer, try to live like a local and swim in the river. It is only a few steps away from the hotel. My children did it and it was their most memorable time in Switzerland (not seeing the alps and sky diving - but swimming in the river!!!).

Breakfast was delightful. The welcome drinks included wine!!! Not all Accor hotels are created equal, I guess.

There is a special lady named Lana who became very dear to us. She was very attentive and helpful whenever we eat breakfast.

Combine location and excellent customer service, you’ve got the best vacation ever.

Thank you so much for making our stay memorable, Swissotel Kursaal Bern! You have my heart!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank medvtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Flurin Schmid, Marketing at Swissotel Kursaal Bern, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2024

Dear medvtan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your delightful experience at Swissôtel Kursaal Bern. We are thrilled to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and that our warm welcome and room upgrade added to your enjoyment. We are glad that you appreciated the convenience of our location, with the old town of Bern just a short walk away and a bus stop right in front of the hotel.

We are also pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed swimming in the river nearby. It's wonderful to know that this experience became one of the highlights of your trip.

We will make sure to pass on your kind words to Lana, who made your breakfast experience special with her attentiveness and helpfulness.

Thank you once again for your kind words and for choosing Swissôtel Kursaal Bern. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back in the near future for another memorable stay.

Warm regards,
Muriel Riedo
Front Office
Swissôtel Kursaal Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2023

ROOM
Premier King Bedroom with Balcony

PROS
- [ ] Free Bern city transportation card. Booked through booking.com and didn’t know needed to enter all the guest names for bern pass activation. It was easily resolved but to save time, sure all names are entered into the system upon booking.
- [ ] Central - take number 9 tram from central station and alight three stops to kursaal. The hotel will just be across. Zytglogge and old town only one bus stop away. There’s also a grocery called Aldi at the bus stop.
- [ ] Staff were very courteous. I broke my snowglobe and asked for a vacuum of the room at night. Special thanks to “Hyatt” (not sure if I heard it right)
- [ ] Spacious
- [ ] Free refillable drinks - still water, sparkling water, beer and apple juice
- [ ] There’s a small balcony.

CONS
- [ ] Sink is very small
- [ ] English telephone use instructions would be nice

Room tip: Tram 9 from right across the hotel literally take you everywhere - Bahnhoff train station - 3 stops - zytglogge and old town - 1 stop
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank maries963
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Flurin Schmid, Marketing at Swissotel Kursaal Bern, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2023

Dear Maries ,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the swissôtel Kursaal in Bern.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Muriel Riedo
Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews