We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
siriwanrosa
Bangkok

Nice and cozy hotel near train station

Review of Moxy Bern Expo
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 8, 2023via mobile
The hotel is near the train station. The decoration and atmosphere is very nice and cozy and nice scent. The room is clean. The breakfast is good. The staffs are friendly and helpful. My special thanks to Ms. Hana and Mr. Ivan for their friendly services.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$268
  • Expedia.com
    C$268
  • Vio.com
    C$230
  • Hotels.com
    C$268
2.8 km from Moxy Bern Expo
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
C$321
  • Expedia.com
    C$321
  • Vio.com
    C$258
  • Priceline
    C$261
2.8 km from Moxy Bern Expo
Free Wifi
C$242
  • Swissotel
    C$242
  • Destinia.com
    C$237
  • Priceline
    C$242
2.1 km from Moxy Bern Expo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$186
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$186
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$184
  • Expedia.com
    C$186
1.9 km from Moxy Bern Expo
Free Wifi
C$257
  • Priceline
    C$244
  • Expedia.com
    C$257
  • Hotels.com
    C$257
2.9 km from Moxy Bern Expo
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
C$206
C$169
  • Booking.com
    C$206
  • Expedia.com
    C$173
  • Hotels.com
    C$173
1.1 km from Moxy Bern Expo
Free Wifi
C$250
C$239
  • HolidayInn.com
  • Booking.com
    C$239
  • Hotels.com
    C$239
7.4 km from Moxy Bern Expo
Free Wifi
Pool
C$200
  • Radissonhotels.com
    C$192
  • Expedia.com
    C$192
  • Hotels.com
    C$192
1.8 km from Moxy Bern Expo
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$1,081
  • Expedia.com
    C$754
  • Vio.com
    C$597
  • Hotels.com
    C$754
2.8 km from Moxy Bern Expo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$570
  • Expedia.com
    C$562
  • Agoda.com
    C$526
  • Hotels.com
    C$562
2.8 km from Moxy Bern Expo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Bern
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
33
21
9
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
33
21
9
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable bed central station min walk public transport modern hotel great hotel good size would stay here again city centre stadium hangers train lobby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 71 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2023

Stayed here to be close to the stadium, which is a 5 min walk away on the other side of the Wankdorf train station. Room was a reasonable size and clean, good shower and firm bed with decent pillows. The bathroom sink had trouble draining which was a bit annoying. Service at check-in/out was on the slow side and could be improved. Bar/lounge area was nice and had a good variety of drinks/snacks as well as board games and a fussball table. Lots of work stations available too. Overall, it was a good value for Switzerland and fine for one night. Even if you don't need to be near the stadium, it is a good budget option in Bern since you get free local public transport and there are frequent trains to the main Bern station (3 min ride).

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank inkwave17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 24, 2023 via mobile

Rooms are ok but not useful for longer stays. For one night ok. Breakfast not worth the money. Juices are colored water. Check in was disappointing and took nearly 20 minutes although the room was pre-booked and all necessary data already provided.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Venture02678127404
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 24, 2023

I am aware it is a Moxy and also for the rate I could imagine what to expect.
In general it was ok, but I was upset about the ironing room. The iron was dirty and I destroyed 2 white shirts. I have reported it but it took some time to correct it and provide a clean iron. I was on business and wanted to iron my shirts. Most hotels have an iron in the room, but at least they had this iron room. Also no phones in the room and first night the internet was not working - so you need to go back to the reception. Also the barmen and some staff on the reception only spoke English. This is also no problem but for a hotel in Bern a bit strange. Positive the room and the comfortable bed. Also the boxes to deposit the suitcase if you check out early near reception. Location is also good with only a few steps to the train and tram and super guests get a free ticket for the duration of the stay for public transport.

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 922herbertw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Moxy Crew, Guest Services / Front Office at Moxy Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2023

Dear 922herbertw

Thank you for your detailed review. We would like to apologize for the dirty iron, it is definately not in line with our standards and we took immediately action. As far as I know my colleague offered you something upon your stay as compensation. Certain things like no phones, no minibar and no wardrobe are part of our concept and we are not going to be to change that. We are happy to read that you were happy with our staff and the location with the hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back!

Best Regards

Johann Barsch
Captain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2023 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Moxy in Bern. This is the second Moxy that we have stayed in (the first without Covid restrictions) and it didn’t disappoint. The room was a good size as Moxy hotels go with a two seater sitting area, fold out luggage stool, a large flat rack with hangers (a brilliant way to hang clothes without taking up floor space). The bed was supportive and comfortable. There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room but there is a kettle (and a microwave) in the lobby for guests to use. Staff were happy to regularly fill the kettle so I could have hot water in my flask for the room.

All staff were friendly, helpful and spoke good English. Breakfast was super and all food was to a very pleasing standard. They had a selection of two juices, at least 8 different cereals and 3 different milks, a couple of yoghurt options, fresh fruit, as well as a selection of breads, rolls and loaf with a toaster. There was also a selection of cold meats and cheeses. Breakfast included a choice of three hot options including scrambled eggs, bacon bits or sausages and also waffles. There was also a coffee machine providing latte, espresso etc. One of the things I really appreciated was that they put small quantities of food out so that it was regularly replenished and therefore fresh and not picked through.

The hotel provided a small menu of bar snacks including Nachos and cheese, a couple of different rice/pasta dishes, a couple of different pizza options as well as flatbreads and a few other options. Food is not Michelin Star quality but was good and very welcome if you didn’t want to leave the hotel in the evening.

Whilst the location of the hotel is out of the city centre (it is a 30 minute leisurely stroll to the Barengraben), we made use of the Bern Card which gives free travel in the city centre. Trains run every 10-15 mins and take 3-5 mins to reach the central station. There are other trams and buses but these take slightly longer. The Bern Wankdorf train station is extremely handy (about 50 metres from the hotel) but we hardly ever heard the trains in the hotel when the windows were closed. Between the station and the hotel is a handy Co-op store which, for all the size of it, was very well stocked with essentials including fresh bakery, fresh sandwiches and a small hot food counter.
The hotel is also located less than a 10 minute walk from the Stadium Wankdorf complex which also includes a shopping centre, McDonalds, as well as a couple of other cafes.

All in all, a great stay and we would be delighted to return to this hotel if we are ever in Bern again.

Room tip: Excellent travel hub
Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank steviethetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 11, 2022

Stayed one night here on our way to Zermatt! Drinks were good. Pizza was also good. Staff were friendly, breakfast was good for continental style. Nice ambience in the bar/Lobby. Room was clean with USB port for charging

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Explorer07753082771
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews