We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location but you really pay for it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel City am Bahnhof
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Fantastic location but you really pay for it”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The name of the hotel is a little confusing. On the internet, is Hotel City Am-Banhorf however when I got to this hotel, it was Hotel City. I was not sure if this is the right hotel until the reception told me it is the right one.

This hotel has the best location. It is right opposite Bern train station. Most of the tram stations are around that area. Although it is a little expensive but the location was fantastic!

The entrance is unique – you will walk through a “bridge” over a water pond into the hotel property. The reception area is not big but the staff was helpful. She gave me all the tourist information I needed. There is a computer by the reception for guest use however they do charge for internet. The wifi service in the hotel is not free and the charge was a little high. There is no breakfast included in the room rate.

The room was huge comparing with most of the hotel in Europe. It doesn’t look like a room for a single use. It can easily fit 2 adults without a problem. There was a clean and comfortable queen bed, big working desk and a heater below it, a closet and a small TV on the wall.

My favorite is the bathroom. It was clean and big with a bathtub. Amenities are more then enough.

The room has a good view of the train station.

Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    97
    118
    42
    12
See reviews for
37
88
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Very easy to find as you disembark from the train station. We reserved a good room but were told the rate was for a weekday and not weekend. They did howver give me the room at the weekday rate as it was their mistake. The room was pretty basic but in pretty good shape. The outside can be noisy but with the windows closed it was ok. I always like free WiFi in the room but this was not an option here. All in all a good hotel for the location.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank barry51555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanthi, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed there at 11/6/2011. The best location and big rooms is the good news. Very poor breakfast, old fashion decor and staff (girls) in the recebtion very blase (they probably think that they work as top models in Milano...) is the bad news...!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sorkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bern hotels

hong kong
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Just walk outside the train station and you will find the hotel. The room is very simple but clean and spacious. Our room is facing the train station and therefore it is quite noisy. Compared to other buffet breakfasts I had in CH, it was a nice surprise as there were many choices (don't forget this hotel was the cheapest during the trip!). For the internet, you need to pay CHF 5 (half hour) to use the PC.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happylittlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Hotel City is right outside the Bern train station and in the center of the city. The city is small, so the hotel is close to everything and despite its location it was remarkably quiet and peaceful inside.

After entering the hotel, there is a small bridge to walk across to get to the reception. The water under the bridge was pretty foul smelling but luckily the smell did not permeate the rest of the hotel.

The staff was friendly and spoke English quite well. The room itself was clean and comfortable. They charged a lot for the wireless internet, which was a significant draw back.

We paid almost 200 CHF for a double room for one night (not including internet or breakfast) which was probably not worth it. Overall, it was an ok experience but probably not worth as much as we paid for it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
836 reviews
244 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,134 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

City hotel is opposite the main railway station, the other side of the bus and tram stop. So it was ideally located as we came off the train from Basel.

Hotel entrance is in a row of shops. Reception is on ground floor. They speak several languages. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful

Our two-bedded room 309 was on 3rd floor and our friend had a single room on 6th floor in the loft. Our room had combined bath and toilet, with washbasin outside. It was separated from bedroom area by an opaque glass screen. There was a single switch for the two lights over bath and washbasin. Not ideal during the night as it lit up the bedroom when you used the toilet.

The beds were low down but were reasonably comfortable. There was an armchair and chair so we did not need to sit on bed. The room had a rather austere feel about it.

There was limited clothes hanging space.

Breakfast room was on first floor but it cost CHF 20 so we chose to eat a bit cheaper in Titbits in railway station where quality of produce was high.

We paid CHF 135 per night for the double room and 115 for the single room.

The plus points of the hotel were its location and the friendly receptionist.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alanreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2011

This hotel is wonderfully centrally located, allowing much of Bern to be accessed within a few minutes. The rooms are simple, but adequate. If you can get a room on the 5th floor, do, as these rooms facing the street come with balconies. As it is immediately adjacent to the street car depot, it can be a bit loud. I didn't have problems, but for those who are light sleepers I might suggest ear plugs. The expense of the breakfast (20 Franks) is easily avoided by visiting any cafe or supermarket in the vicinity. Also, it is possible that the prices of the WLAN (WiFi) just reduced, as we were treated to quite reasonable rates (7 days - 20 Franks for the whole time). Be sure to speak with the staff to get this rate as some of the credit card login pages have outdated information (with very expensive prices!).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgm12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 km away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
79 reviews
0.3 km away
Sorell Hotel Ador
Sorell Hotel Ador
#12 of 30 in Bern
344 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Hotel Kreuz Bern
#23 of 30 in Bern
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel National AG
Hotel National AG
#25 of 30 in Bern
240 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
0.4 km away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#29 of 30 in Bern
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City am Bahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City am Bahnhof

Property: Hotel City am Bahnhof
Address: Bubenbergplatz 7 | 3011 Berne, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City am Bahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Berne, Switzerland’s capital city. Our *** hotel is only a few steps away from the main railway station, Berne’s historic arcades and the Federal Houses of Parliament. City Hotel is the ideal choice for both business and holiday travellers, with cultural sites and shopping possibilities all within easy walking distance of our centrally located position. This charming hotel provides 58 generous rooms with a comfortable atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with bath or shower, radio, TV, telephone, hair-drier and a mini-bar. Quiet rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel City am Bahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Am Bahnhof Bern
City Am Bahnhof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing