We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
hutchss
Benicia, California

One of my favorites

Review of Hotel Savoy
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 24, 2022
Hubby and I just returned from 3.5 weeks in France and Switzerland staying in 6 hotels. This was my favorite of the hotels we selected. The location was fabulous - very close to the train station, and the immediate area was full of small businesses and restaurants to enjoy. The staff was incredibly helpful, the room was comfortable, immaculate, airy, and you were able to open the window which is always a plus for us. The breakfast was adequate, nothing special, but quite nice. The elevator was a funny contraption, but it worked! Loved the city of Bern and staying at this hotel.
Date of stay: October 2022
Room Tip: We were in room #107 facing the street. When the windoww were closed, the room was quite quiet.
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corina Gilgen, Inhaber at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review
Responded Oct 28, 2022
Dear Hutchss,
Thank you very much for your great feedback and for choosing our Hotel Savoy Bern.
We are very glad to hear about the friendliness of our staff and you can be sure that your praises have been passed on to the mentioned staff. It is nice to hear that you really much enjoyed our hotel and that for you we offered the best value during your time in Bern.
We find also our elevator funny but very usefull and working well.
Thank you for the good rating and we hope to see you very soon.

Best regards from Bern

Corina Gilgen & Team Savoy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$268
  • Expedia.com
    C$268
  • Vio.com
    C$230
  • Hotels.com
    C$268
0.2 km from Hotel Savoy
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
C$257
  • Priceline
    C$244
  • Expedia.com
    C$257
  • Hotels.com
    C$257
0.2 km from Hotel Savoy
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$242
  • Swissotel
    C$242
  • Destinia.com
    C$237
  • Priceline
    C$242
0.7 km from Hotel Savoy
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$186
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$186
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$184
  • Priceline
    C$186
0.8 km from Hotel Savoy
Free Wifi
City Am Bahnhof Reception
C$237
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$220
  • Agoda.com
    C$182
  • Hotels.com
    C$220
0.2 km from Hotel Savoy
Free Wifi
C$239
  • HolidayInn.com
    C$231
  • Expedia.com
    C$239
  • Priceline
    C$239
5.2 km from Hotel Savoy
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
C$206
C$169
  • Booking.com
    C$206
  • Expedia.com
    C$173
  • Hotels.com
    C$173
2.0 km from Hotel Savoy
Free Wifi
C$200
  • Radissonhotels.com
    C$192
  • Expedia.com
    C$192
  • Priceline
    C$200
1.3 km from Hotel Savoy
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$570
  • Expedia.com
    C$562
  • Agoda.com
    C$526
  • Hotels.com
    C$562
0.1 km from Hotel Savoy
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$1,081
  • Expedia.com
    C$754
  • Vio.com
    C$597
  • Hotels.com
    C$754
0.4 km from Hotel Savoy
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Bern
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveller rating
332
137
23
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
332
137
23
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town train station pedestrian street excellent location great hotel i highly recommend this hotel big bathroom comfortable bed breakfast buffet great room walking distance hotel is located nice breakfast open the window visit bern coffee machine the air conditioning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 502 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2022

Excellent location - just a block away from the exit at the rail station!
Staff that greeted us on arrival was very friendly and helpful. We were given maps and suggestions for our day's adventure.
Room was comfortable and had all amenities we needed.
Breakfast was very good. Hostess was helpful in seeing to our needs.
Upon departure, I accidentally left behind some Beats headphones. The staff collected them and held them for my return a week later. They were super in that respect.
We had a delightful stay and slept in a comfortable, quiet room.

Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Irvin Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corina Gilgen, Inhaber at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2022

Dear PattheDesertRat,
Thank you very much for the excellent feedback and review.
It is great to hear such nice positive words. Thank you for sharing your honest feeling of the Hotel.
We are very glad to hear about the friendliness of our staff and you can be sure that your praises have been passed on to the mentioned staff.
Thank you for the good rating and we look foward to welcoming you again.

Best regards from Bern

Corina Gilgen & Team Savoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2022 via mobile

We loved the location a 1/2 block from the train station, & a couple of blocks from the Capitol. The staff, the room, the breakfast, were excellent. It was on a busy street but with the blinds closed and the exterior automatic shutters closed, we couldn’t hear a thing! We felt like the value for what we paid was well within reason. We would highly recommend this property.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Connector577545
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corina Gilgen, Inhaber at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2022

Dear Connector577545,
We are very gratefull for the time you took to rate us and give your honest review.
It is very pleasant to hear that you found comfort and great location.
We are located in the heart of Bern but thanks to our triple glassed windows we are protected from the noise.
We appreciate that you would recommend us, don't hesitate doing so !
We hope to see you soon again,
Best regards from bern,
Corina Gilgen & Team Savoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2022

We loved this hotel, the rooms were spacious, the breakfast, while small, was perfect and the location was excellent. This was our first stop in Switzerland and we were very happy with it. My husband claims it has the greatest shower he's ever experienced (and he travels a lot).

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SpartyElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corina Gilgen, Inhaber at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2022

Dear SpartyElle,
Thank you very much for reviewing us and your stay in Hotel Savoy.
It is very pleasant to hear that you found comfort and great location with your first stop in Bern.
It is true that our showers are appreciated.
We hope to see you soon again,
Best regards from bern,
Corina Gilgen & Team Savoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2022 via mobile

The hotel is really well located near the main train station so it makes travelling across the region really easy.

The rooms are spacious with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom had a fabulous walk in shower. Good tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary water. The room had excellent blinds that made the room totally dark which helped with a good night sleep. The only negative was the room was quite warm even with the air con on.

However, for us one of the best things about this hotel are the amazing staff on the front desk.  The wonderful Sabrina looked after us for most of our stay. She was so friendly and helpful giving us lots of recommendations and making sure that our stay was just perfect. Charles and Katrin were also really helpful and friendly. The reception staff are a major asset to this hotel and really made our stay such a lovely experience... the biscuits in reception are lovely too (we bought some to bring home with us)

Room tip: You don't need a Swiss Travel Pass for days you are staying in Bern and not going off on the train as the hotel gives you access to a Bern pass giving you free trams and buses.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Lou1974Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corina Gilgen, Inhaber at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2022

Dear Lou1974Edinburg,
Thank you for your kind review of your stay in Bern.
We thank you for having taken the time to share your experience and honest feeling of the Hotel.
We are very glad to hear about the friendliness of our staff and you can be sure that your praises have been passed on to the mentioned staff.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back one day,

Best regards

Corina Gilgen & Team Savoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2022 via mobile

Very friendly staff and amazing variety of breakfast hotel is very near to the railway station which was best thing for us as we traveling a-lot via train.also very near to the bus stop. Rooms were super comfortable Location was amazing also had many restaurants nearby.Surely would recommend others and will definitely stay there next time too.

Room tip: Very polite helpful and friendly staff so any confusion or doubts just talk to them.
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 673pankajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corina Gilgen, Inhaber at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2022

Dear 673pankajr,

We are very thankful for your positive review on our hotel and the Savoy experience you had.
It is great pleasure to have nice comments on our friendliness and on the location of the Hotel.
We hope to see you soon again in Bern,
Best regards
Corina Gilgen & Team Savoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews