We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Shiv0123
Bengaluru, India

Good Stay but not Value for Money

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 13, 2022via mobile
Stayed in this hotel for two weeks during my official visit in Switzerland.
Located just opposite to Schonegg Tram stop, this hotel is just 10 mins from Bern Bahnof (Railway Station).
This is an old design hotel with all modern amenities. The staff at the reception are polite helpful.
The room which I got was at the end of the corridor which was quite small in terms of width. The bed was also quite small. The room was giving a vibe of coziness though. The bathroom was neat and clean but was small
The hotel has an in house restaurant located in the first floor. Overall the food in the menu were quite expensive.
The room rent didn’t include complimentary breakfast so the breakfast was also quite expensive ( 7.5 CHF for express and 19.5 for Buffet)

Positives
1. Courteous Staff
2. Free High speed Wi Fi
3. Complimentary Public Transport pass
4. Clean and Hygienic room
5. B’ful view from the window
6. Check In and Check out was smooth

Negatives
1. Small room
2. Items in the mini bar were quite expensive
3. Small bed
4. Air Condition in the room was bit confusing in terms of controlled heating/cooling
Date of stay: October 2022
Room Tip: 1.Avoid rooms at the end of the corridors 2. From Bern Bahnof take T9 Tram towards Wabern and get...
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$230
  • Expedia.com
    C$268
1.5 km from Ambassador Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    C$597
  • Expedia.com
    C$754
1.5 km from Ambassador Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    C$244
  • Expedia.com
    C$257
1.5 km from Ambassador Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$258
  • Expedia.com
    C$321
1.7 km from Ambassador Hotel
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$553
  • Expedia.com
    C$562
1.6 km from Ambassador Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$242
  • Tripadvisor
    C$242
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
2.2 km from Ambassador Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$184
  • Priceline
    C$186
2.4 km from Ambassador Hotel
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • HolidayInn.com
    C$231
  • Expedia.com
    C$239
5.1 km from Ambassador Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Radissonhotels.com
    C$192
  • Expedia.com
    C$192
2.5 km from Ambassador Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
C$179
C$169
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$173
3.3 km from Ambassador Hotel
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Bern
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
59
133
57
24
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
59
133
57
24
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tram stop old town small room city switzerland tramp keys basement corridor furniture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 282 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2022

HOTEL AMBASSADOR BERN
An ideal mix of good location, excellent staff & facilities

We chose Hotel Ambassador primarily because it offered free parking service as we were travelling on rent-a-car and didn't have much idea about parking houses in Bern

But the hotel turned out to be much better than our expectations.

POSITIVES
(+) The location is brilliant especially if you're new to the city. Close proximity to the tramp stop and ideally located in a neat, clean neighborhood.
(+) I got a message from the hotel one day in advance summarizing all details of the stay and the city. Special thanks to Dominika Motykova who sent this message which really helped me book my free tramp tickets and get ready for the hotel stay
(+) The staff and service are very good. Smooth check-in and check-out experience
(+) I got a two bedroom option as we were a family of 2 adults and 2 children. This was really awesome as kids were independent and loving their own room
(+) Views from the room especially with the barn and cattle side is breathtaking. Highly recommended to go for this view instead of city / old town view
(+) Abel at the bar was very friendly and gentle during service hours in the evening. He chit chatted about our country, stay and gave advice on the tourist attractions.

NEGATIVES
(-) The hotel is slightly outdated in terms of infrastructure with old styled keys for opening doors, slightly old furniture & upholstery. The walls and carpeting inside the hotel is 90s styled.
(-) The most painful aspect I experienced was the bed which was of poor quality with the mattress & pillows being really off. I was sleepless on both nights that I stayed here.
(-) The pool is not heated and has limited space for people with only 4-5 beds and chairs
(-) Access from basement parking to the main hotel is through a ringer which new comers may not know. No clear signage or messaging is written anywhere on how to go inside from the basement. I had to literally drag all the luggage by myself to the lobby for elevator access

Overall, based on service / location / neighborhood, the place is Highly Recommended

Rating: 8 / 10

Room tip: Go for the room with pastures/zoo view, good bar, supportive staff at breakfast
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saadirauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 28, 2020

This hotel obviously caters to the tour groups and claims to be much higher end than it is. In fact, it's low-end from our experience. The AirCo did not work, reception at check-in did not seem well-trained. We had trouble getting into and out of parking. The shower handle cover came off when we turned it on. It was mostly clean, but the corners did not have detailed cleaning that is expected during COVID. Pillows were extremely uncomfortable. The safe door did not close or latch and the cooler fridge did not get cold.

It did have decent water pressure and warm water and is close to a tram stop, which is nice for getting into the city centre.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SuperCubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 27, 2020

D: mein Zimmer war sehr guenstig, gross, und praktisch. Restaurant und Spa nicht getestet. Personal hat mir noch was geschenkt. Lage ausserhalb vom Zentrum dafuer nahe Zoo.

E: big and useful room at a low price. Did not test the food or Spa. Receptionist made it cheaper then it should have been. Location is outside of the center but near a zoo and public pool.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OrlandoRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 10, 2020 via mobile

I really liked this hotel, where we stayed for two nights to visit Bern. The hotel is located in a calm residential neighborhood, 5 - 10 min with tramway to the center. We got free public transport tickets from the hotel for the days we stayed. It was very easy to get to the center, the tram stops in front of the hotel. The room was nice and functional. Maybe a bit ‘old’ in the design, but still a fun design. The shower could have been better, but ok. Great view on the Palais Fédéral and the city. Staff was very nice. We didn’t try the breakfast, there are several cafés where you can get breakfast nearby, a tram-stop or two from the hotel.

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marg0Marg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 1, 2019

This property claims to be more than it really is and charges way beyond its value. On top of it, their location is off center and their service is quite surly.
On my next stay in Berne, I will certainly not return to this place..

Room tip: Go elsewhere
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GranZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews