We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
zoeboe1
Thornhill, Canada

A Delightful Suprise

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 25, 2022
The Kreuz Bern hotel was our favourite during our 8 dat trip to Switzerland. We stayed two nights at this centrally located hotel and found it to be wonderful. You walk right out to shops and restaurants and it is very close to the train station. The rooms were a good size. There were three of us and we were delighted to find that our room had two of us in one room and then a smaller room within our suite held another bed and storage space. We had lots of room, it was clean and modern with laminate floors. The breakfast was very satisfactory to help us get our sightseeing day started. The staff at the front desk were all very friendly and helpful. We used Bern as our base as we travelled to Interlocken and Grindelwald for the day and found the hotel location excellent for this. I highly recommend booking this hotel for your stay in Bern. It was also reasonably price considering it's excellent location.
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julia Allemann, Gästeservice/Empfang at Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel, responded to this review
Responded Aug 27, 2022
Dear guest!
Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are pleased that you felt comfortable with us and that you found the central location and the breakfast buffet especially positive. We are very happy to forward your compliments to our staff! We are already looking forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Kreuz Bern. Best wishes from Bern
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$268
  • Expedia.com
    C$268
  • Agoda.com
    C$230
  • Hotels.com
    C$268
0.2 km from Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
C$321
  • Expedia.com
    C$322
  • Priceline
    C$261
  • Hotels.com
    C$322
0.2 km from Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
Free Wifi
C$257
  • Priceline
    C$244
  • Expedia.com
    C$257
  • Hotels.com
    C$258
0.2 km from Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$242
  • Swissotel
    C$242
  • Vio.com
    C$237
  • Expedia.com
    C$242
0.6 km from Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$186
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$186
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$184
  • Expedia.com
    C$186
0.8 km from Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
Free Wifi
C$239
  • HolidayInn.com
    C$231
  • Expedia.com
    C$239
  • Priceline
    C$239
5.4 km from Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
C$200
  • Radissonhotels.com
    C$192
  • Expedia.com
    C$192
  • Hotels.com
    C$192
1.1 km from Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
C$206
C$169
  • Booking.com
    C$206
  • Expedia.com
    C$173
  • Hotels.com
    C$173
1.8 km from Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
Free Wifi
C$754
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$1,081
  • Vio.com
    C$597
  • Hotels.com
    C$756
0.3 km from Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$570
  • Expedia.com
    C$563
  • Agoda.com
    C$526
  • Hotels.com
    C$563
0.3 km from Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Bern
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
103
95
36
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
103
95
36
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pancake maker tea room tea station nearby garage play pool nice hotel store suitcases old town train station check in was quick fitness room smaller room fourth floor good size rooftop terrace within walking distance excellent location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 245 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2022

We stayed here for two nights on our way from Interlaken to Onnens. The hotel is centrally located and so great for sightseeing. Again, not too far from the train station. It was very clean and minimal. I understand the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in each room (this was because of their ethos regarding green and sustainable living etc.) however, I do wonder if using the lift to and from the fourth floor to the tea and coffee making facility actually used more energy than having a kettle in each bedroom. The breakfast was good and the staff were very pleasant and friendly.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 1, 2022

The Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel is located in the old town of Bern. It the nearings of the hotel there are lots of shops and restaurants other than some of the best places in Bern such as the Bundeshaus. Everything is perfectly reachable within a walk of max 30 min or by simply using public transportat (the hotels had a lot of bus and tram stops at around 4 minutes and the Bern central station at 10 minutes). We were also provided with the Bernticket, with whom we had free access to public transport in Bern.

Breakfast is buffet style with plenty of choice. Rooms are nice and comfy. One side note about the rooms is that the double bed was a bit uncomfortable since it was composed by two single beds placed togheter.

The hotel provides you also with a variety of "entertainment" rooms such as the playroom with a mini pool table and a table football. Unfortunately the room is pretty small and play pool is difficult. Also the pool table is inclined, making the plays inaccurate.

Other than this the hotel provides also a small fitness room with nice if you want to have a bit of training (of course it's not a professional gym but its enough). In the fitness room there is also a small sauna and a shower.
From the fitness room you have also access to the rooftop from which you have a beatufiul view on the city.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank rensykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julia Allemann, Gästeservice/Empfang at Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2022

Dear guest.
Thank you for your stay in our hotel and your great feedback. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our breakfast selection. Regarding the double bed with two separate mattresses, we also have rooms with one queen mattress. (Style Queen Room) Please contact our reception next time. Our staff will be happy to arrange this type of room for you if available.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again. Best wishes from Kreuz Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2022 via mobile

Excellent service and stay at a most central location. Walk to train main capital train station is 5 min. Plenty of sight seeing opportunities right out of the hotel. Very clean, friendly, great service and quiet at the same time for a reasonable price. Would certainly book it all over again for q stay in the Swiss capital.

Room tip: No taxi needed from train station. You will get a free ticket for all local travel needs during the time of your stay.
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank swissone00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 24, 2022

This hotel is a great hotel: so thoughtfully designed—not only for attractiveness, but also to satisfy the customer’s needs. Every floor has a common-area room in the middle where one can get coffee or tea all day, read, play pool or other games, or do other things. The floors are filled with light, and the carpeting is tasteful, but also bright. Lights go on automatically when you walk down the hall. Our room was modestly sized, but we had plenty of space to store suitcases and clothing. Choice of things like bathroom drinking glasses, with interesting shapes and colors, added pizazz to our room. A small laundry room was available to guests for washing clothes, for a modest fee. Breakfasts were delicious, with hot and cold items available every day. The cheeses were amazing! Staff was courteous and helpful. Location was superb.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeslieD935
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 11, 2022 via mobile

Due to a missed train connection I checked in quite spontaneously. The very friendly staff welcomed me courteously and I was very happy to get a room even after midnight for a reasonable price.

The room was modern and clean. The breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious. My stay was just a great experience! I'd definitely recommend this place; you won't find a hotel in the same price range and with a comparable standard anywhere nearby.

Merci vielmol!

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank dominjio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicolas Lluis, Gästeservice/Empfang at Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, which we appreciate. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us and especially that you liked the room and our breakfast selection.

We would be happy to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Nicolas Lluis
Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews