We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GrandTour589523

Best Western plus bern

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 15, 2024
Very good hotel, located in the center of Bern, close to the Train Station (7min walk) and to the river. I was even upgraded cost free to a better room. I like Nespresso coffee machine in the room and Rituals soap/shampoo 😊
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, Gästeservice/Empfang at Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, responded to this review
Responded Feb 20, 2024
Dear GrandTour589523, thank you kindly for your recent visit and wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would be pleased to welcome you again in the future. - Your Team Hotel Bern
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$268
  • Expedia.com
    C$268
  • Vio.com
    C$231
  • Hotels.com
    C$268
0.3 km from Best Western Plus Hotel Bern
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
C$321
  • Expedia.com
    C$321
  • Vio.com
    C$258
  • Official Website
    C$308
0.3 km from Best Western Plus Hotel Bern
Free Wifi
C$257
  • Priceline
    C$244
  • Hotels.com
    C$257
  • Expedia.com
    C$257
0.3 km from Best Western Plus Hotel Bern
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$242
  • Booking.com
    C$242
  • Destinia.com
    C$237
  • Expedia.com
    C$242
0.5 km from Best Western Plus Hotel Bern
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$186
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$186
  • Priceline
    C$186
  • Hotels.com
    C$186
0.7 km from Best Western Plus Hotel Bern
Free Wifi
C$250
C$231
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    C$239
  • Expedia.com
    C$239
  • Hotels.com
    C$239
5.5 km from Best Western Plus Hotel Bern
Free Wifi
Pool
C$200
  • Radissonhotels.com
    C$192
  • Expedia.com
    C$192
  • Hotels.com
    C$192
1.0 km from Best Western Plus Hotel Bern
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
C$206
C$169
  • Booking.com
    C$206
  • Expedia.com
    C$173
  • Hotels.com
    C$173
1.7 km from Best Western Plus Hotel Bern
Free Wifi
C$1,081
  • Expedia.com
    C$754
  • Priceline
    C$646
  • Hotels.com
    C$754
0.2 km from Best Western Plus Hotel Bern
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$570
  • Expedia.com
    C$562
  • Agoda.com
    C$526
  • Hotels.com
    C$562
0.4 km from Best Western Plus Hotel Bern
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Bern
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
75
37
9
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
75
37
9
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clock tower rooftop bar would recommend this hotel to anyone excellent location parliament building coop supermarket historic hotel lovely hotel old town standard room would definitely stay here again min walk nice room one night coffee machine within walking distance train station
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 130 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2023 via mobile

Very clean, modern and comfortable rooms where everything works well. Friendly staff. Great rooftop bar and fondue area. Easy (flat) walk from main train station (exit station by tourist information office for the most direct route to the hotel). Hotel is right in the middle of the old town and close to restaurants, shops and main tourist sights. The astronomical clock is just a street away! Breakfast was ok but they kept running out of things and we had to wait for dishes to be replenished. Also there is no door to shower/bath and an opaque glass door to toilet which you can sort of see through - a lovely modern room but VERY open plan!

Room tip: Coop supermarket very close by which is very handy
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank AngusMilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, Gästeservice/Empfang at Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2024

Dear AngusMilly, thank you kindly for your recent visit and great feedback about your stay. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us overall. - Your Team Hotel Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2023

Our stay at the Best Western Plus Hotel Bern was fantastic! The hotel's location in the heart of Bern's old city was ideal. The rooftop restaurant boasted incredible city views, and the food was delicious. The staff was attentive, the rooms were comfortable, and the hotel's central location made exploring Bern convenient. Definitely recommend this spot for a memorable stay in Bern, especially for the stunning views from the restaurant!

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Traveler21521847415
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, Gästeservice/Empfang at Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2023

Dear Traveler

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Best Western Plus Hotel Bern. It's great to know that you found our central location ideal for exploring Bern's old city and that you enjoyed the incredible views from our rooftop restaurant.

We're delighted that you found the food delicious, the staff attentive, and the rooms comfortable. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we're honored to have been a part of your memorable experience in Bern. We can't wait to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay!

Your Hotel Bern Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2023

Reception was very welcoming and friendly esp SV. Room was properly warmed and sufficiently big. Instructions pre-arrival (hard pillow and setting up sofa bed) were carried out which made checking in efficient. Toilet was clean and the bed and general comfort probably gave me my best night of rest on a 14-day trip.

Toilet door could be more opaque though…

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vguudeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, Gästeservice/Empfang at Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2023

Dear Vguudeal.
Thank you very much for your great feedback! We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you were satisfied with our services.

Your kind words mean a lot to us and it was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Your Hotel Bern Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2023 via mobile

We liked this hotel. It's well-located, with lots of nearby options for morning coffee and dinner. Room was attractive, clean & modern. The one problem is that there are almost no electrical outlets. None at all in the bathroom, none near the bed, so it was really inconvenient to charge phones & tablets. I understand that it's an old building, but this is fixable.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank arlenetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, Gästeservice/Empfang at Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2023

Dear arlenetravels, thank you kindly for your recent visit and feedback about your stay. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us overall. Regarding the one point we are happy to have a look into internal. - Your Team Hotel Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2023

Best Western Plus, which used to be Hotel Bern, is strategically located on the fringe of the Bern Old Town. In front of it is the French Church and to the side is KornHaus. The hotel itself is narrow but deep, with a very small lobby. We were given a room in their ‘annex’, a standalone structure inside the block, where you had to cross the terrace of the original hotel, then climb up a short flight of stairs to the newer structure. There were only nine rooms in this annex since the rooms were ‘suites’, with a bedroom and a living room, both with doors, separated by a hallway that included the door, the T&B, the washbasin, and the wardrobe-safe-ref cabinet.

In the living room is a sofa bed with a TV screen on the opposite wall, and the work table with chair under the TV screen, plus a small coffee table. What was impressive were the BBC channels, in addition to CNN and CNBC. The T&B was pretty small. The wash basin was outside, opposite the T&B sliding door. The bedroom had its own TV screen. We didn’t appreciate the low ceiling. The AC was centralized. There were two floor lamps that didn’t seem to work.

Breakfast was on the restaurant on the lower ground. They had no custom egg service but at least they had fried eggs in addition to scrambled and hard-boiled options.

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, Gästeservice/Empfang at Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2023

Dear JGR001, thank you for your recent visit and detailed feedback about your stay. We are pleased to hear that you could enjoy your stay with us overall. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again on another occasion.
Kind regards, Team Hotel Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews