We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
CaribbeanBeachQueen
New Jersey

Charming and fine for one night

Review of Hotel Landhaus
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 29, 2015
The room was clean and comfortable, the location was convenient for exploring the city, and it was fine for a night in Bern. Our view from a back room on the fourth floor was lovely. The only real con was the lack of an elevator, as climbing the windy steps with our bags is not one of my fondest memories from the trip. Beautiful city, and great place to stay (especially with the decent price).
Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$365
  • Expedia.com
    C$364
  • Agoda.com
    C$304
  • Hotels.com
    C$332
1.2 km from Hotel Landhaus
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
C$254
  • Swissotel
    C$372
  • Vio.com
    C$238
  • Priceline
    C$254
0.8 km from Hotel Landhaus
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$284
  • Priceline
    C$270
  • Expedia.com
    C$284
  • Hotels.com
    C$284
1.3 km from Hotel Landhaus
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$262
  • Agoda.com
    C$262
  • ZenHotels.com
1.1 km from Hotel Landhaus
Free Wifi
C$323
  • Priceline
    C$289
  • Expedia.com
    C$323
  • Official Website
    C$309
1.3 km from Hotel Landhaus
Free Wifi
Exterior view
C$220
C$175
  • Booking.com
    C$179
  • Expedia.com
    C$179
  • Priceline
    C$178
1.1 km from Hotel Landhaus
Free Wifi
C$305
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$321
  • Agoda.com
    C$259
  • Expedia.com
    C$305
1.0 km from Hotel Landhaus
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$242
  • Radissonhotels.com
    C$242
  • Expedia.com
    C$242
  • Hotels.com
    C$242
0.4 km from Hotel Landhaus
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$1,086
  • Expedia.com
    C$1,028
  • Trip.com
    C$869
  • Hotels.com
    C$1,028
1.0 km from Hotel Landhaus
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$719
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$719
  • Lol.travel
    C$645
  • Vio.com
    C$664
1.4 km from Hotel Landhaus
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Bern
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
70
63
13
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
70
63
13
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 153 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is old (a historic landmark) and funky. It is sort of a cross between a youth hostel and a quaint hotel. Breakfast is served in the bar area and is basic but adequate: better than what your mother would lay out for you but not as much as she would lay out for special house guests. (Cheese, croissants, homemade jams, cappucino or coffee, fruit, yoghurt, granola, juice.) It's very close to the original (low) bridge across the Aare River and in good weather it's fun to watch the local youth jump from the bridge into the water and let the swift current carry them downstream. Very close to the Barengraben (Bear Pit) stop on the #12 tram line. Pros: location, charm, convenience, nice local pub on site, very charming co-owner host (Patrick). Negatives: three flights to our room with a small balcony, traffic noise until midnight or so if you need to have the window open (no AC).

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank lionel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 14, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is situated beautifully near a bridge that overlooks the river and town. The bus stop is nearby to get into town easily. My husband and I were welcomed by the owners who very warm and friendly. The room was clean and cozy and we were fortunate to get a bathroom in our room. We ate dinner on the balcony and took in the beautiful scenery. Before we left, we sat down to have breakfast in a room that felt like being at someone's dining room. The food was homemade, fresh and tasty. Our stay was delightful!

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ethel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 14, 2015

I think it should have been expected as a partly backpackers hotel. I did get my peronal bathroom and toilets which was part of my booking. No bar fridge in the room but there is a common fridge in a kitchen on the first floor where you can keep your food or drinks, but you must label them to make sure no one else uses them. The room is quite spacious, bed quite comfortable. Small flat screen TV on the wall with stations in different languages. Room adequaqtely furnished. I was amazed not to see a small wardrobe or even some shelves to store your clothes in a room with so much space. Room a bit dark, the lights act like spot lights and don't spread enough and at times it makes it quite hard to see your things. On my first two nights, it was very hot, around the 35+ degrees centigrade, so the room was very hot. I borrowed a small fan from the reception and left the large windows open all night to be able to sleep. The floor is quite squeaky at every little step and thank god I had sensible people next door, I guess if you have some hyper active people next to you it could be a nightmare.
The good parts about this hotel is the free wifi and it works. The hotel is in a charming surrounding, beautiful river and bridge on the side and the whole area is a beautiful place for strolling and taking photos. Walking up a few metrres you are on the bridge where you can catch bus number 12 to go to the city and come back, I think the bus goes up to midnight. The reception gives you a free bus pass for the no 12 bus to be used during your whole stay. That is really sweet as transportation is not cheap in Bern. If you walk up hill on your left it takes you to the rosegarten and many people flock there in the afternoon to watch the sunset. The bear park is just on the opposite side of the bridge, but unfortunately, it is closed for renovation. Breakfast is not much, but they make nice coffee in the morning and have nice croissants. All the staff members working at the reception/bar are very nice people offering a friendly and excellent customer service. They are all easily approchable, easy to talk to and always keen to give you a good service and they speak at least three different languages. Patrick is the one who offers you a great service with a good sense of humour. Bern is a very beautiful city and I had the opportunity to have a memorable visit to Shiltthorn, the top of the Swiss alps. They have some nice underground shops at Bern train station, reminds me of Montreal.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bluering73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 16, 2015 via mobile

We have spent 6 weeks travelling Europe and of the 20+ places we stayed this was our favourite! Heritage house with traditional character. We had a private double room with shared bathroom. Room was huge and freshly decorated with comfortable bedding and large windows. Staff were fantastic. Location is perfect for exploring the old town, and is near great restaurants, the bear pit and the rose gardens. Beautiful fresh breakfast was included in our stay. If you are visiting Bern, stay here!

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nicolamR7115QQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 9, 2015

We stayed in a family room for 4 persons; it was warm, clean and cosy. The hotel is close to the city center, and the environment is really beautiful. Staff is really friendly and charming, as is the breakfast room. The breakfast was really nice too! Very good price-quality, I would definitely recommend it to my friends!

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank A-lies82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews