We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
livo3
London

Cosy hotel

Review of Hotel Landhaus
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 24, 2016via mobile
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel for two nights in July. The location is excellent - right next to the bear park and a short walk over the bridge to the old town. Number 12 bus gets you from the main station to the hotel in around 15 minutes.

Everything felt quite new, clean and well kept. The breakfast was simple (no hot food) but very pleasant, with nice coffee. The wifi worked really well in our room. We were given a bus/tram pass which was very useful for getting around the centre.

Very friendly staff, who let us store our bikes in the hotel a couple of days prior to our checking in date.
Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Swissotel
    C$370
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$243
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Hotel Landhaus
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$210
  • Booking.com
1.1 km from Hotel Landhaus
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$302
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Hotel Landhaus
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$291
  • Booking.com
1.3 km from Hotel Landhaus
Free Wifi
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • ibis Budget
    C$174
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Hotel Landhaus
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$263
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Hotel Landhaus
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$226
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Hotel Landhaus
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Novotel
    C$247
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.1 km from Hotel Landhaus
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ibis Styles
    C$242
  • Booking.com
2.3 km from Hotel Landhaus
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Bern
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
70
63
13
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
70
63
13
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 153 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2016

Firstly, look at the picture. The Hotel Landhaus is the grey building on the right. NOT the cream one on the left. And it is the one on the left that is called Landhaus.
The building on the right houses back packers accommodation. And is expensive to boot. No parking available. Public parking is paid for over the street. No lifts, but drag your stuff up the winding narrow wooden staircase.
Arrive late pm on Sundays, no one to meet you. Really is not reception. I asked management a question in March 2016 via email and got a response July 2016.
Look, if your looking for somewhere cheap so you can share bathroom and toilets, this is OK.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 13, 2016

It's a bit tricky to find this place, once you do hard to figure out what to do with the car. Once we got this straightened out, things were better. Front desk is so friendly. Everyone there was a friend. I wish I could remember their names, but they were so sweet.

Long, windy, dark staircase up to our room. The room has no view at all. And there was some construction going on below. Room was fine. There was a step to the bathroom area which always caused a bit of a problem in the dark. This is an old place, and we just weren't used to it. Bathroom was tiny, little itty bitty. We were in the quad room which was plenty big and nice. Kids liked the bunk beds and that it had some separation.

Breakfast was terrific and the coffee can't be beat. Really great. I can't say enough about it.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webtravelreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 12, 2016

This hotel was located just across the river from the old city of Bern. We stayed here three nights and enjoyed being able to walk over the bridge to Bern. The hotel was clean and the WIFI was good. The breakfast was very good. The staff were very helpful. We also had free passes on the city bus and train system for the days we were staying at the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Merle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

Even though the hotel was full, the owner helped us for an hour scour the town of Bern for another place to stay; an excellent service for two struggling with all the German webpages. Even called ahead and reserved a place nearby for us! Very nice.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Bennett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 20, 2016

Step out of your comfort zone, reject the predictable environs of a big chain hotel and immerse yourself in the culture and history of this picture post card city. This little hotel did just that for us. The reception hall and desk is incredibly tiny and cramped. No lift, but an old twisting staircase on which we hauled our luggage up to the 2nd floor. Our room was a decent size with a real window that could be opened! The wooden floor sloped madly off into the corner of the room. No ensuite , but the shower/toilet was right outside our door and we didnt encounter any other guest using it during our 3 day stay .Bed and pillows were ok. Good wifi in the room. Breakfast , included in the tariff was a continental, but good (including some amazing Swiss cheeses) Lovely staff. Arriving by train we went straight to the Tourist info centre at the Station and a very helpful young man gave us a map and instructions. Number 12 bus (free) drops you off near the Bear Pit , then cross the road and a short walk down the hill to the Landhaus. Hotel is in easy walking distance to the old town, and also up to the rose gardens and a view of Bern that would be hard to beat. This hotel isnt flash, but it;s real; we loved it.

Date of stay: October 2015
2  Thank bitey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews