We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Janis M

Very average

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 20, 2024
Plugs are a big problem. Charging your device is a challenge. There is only one plug in the room in an inconvenient location. Also it is a poor design in a thick casing. Some travel adapters don't fit. An inexpensive power bar would solve the problem

There is no hair dryer in room. One can be requested for a 20 euro deposit but there are no plugs near bathroom. Cannot see your hair in mirror while styling it.

Very small towels.

Breakfast is very expensive.

Shower door is clear so no privacy.
Odd for a room for three people.

Have to go to the bar for ice.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Ibis Budget Bern Expo, responded to this review
Responded May 22, 2024
Hey Angela, thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us! 😊

We're delighted you found our location convenient for your adventures around Bern! Our team is always here to ensure you have a 24-hour service with a smile. As for the plugs, we aim to keep the room design practical and uncluttered, but we appreciate your suggestion for a power bar and will consider it for future improvements. Sorry to hear the hair dryer situation wasn't ideal. It's true that they're available at the reception to ensure we keep our room rates budget-friendly. We hope the available high-speed WiFi helped keep you connected without a hitch. It's also worth mentioning that our breakfast pricing follows the typical rates in Bern, offering a variety of options for a great start to the day.

We'd love to welcome you back to our hotel in the future! Take care and happy travels! 😊


This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$268
  • Expedia.com
    C$268
  • Agoda.com
    C$230
  • Hotels.com
    C$268
2.0 km from Ibis Budget Bern Expo
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
C$321
  • Expedia.com
    C$322
  • Priceline
    C$261
  • Hotels.com
    C$322
2.0 km from Ibis Budget Bern Expo
Free Wifi
C$242
  • Booking.com
    C$242
  • Vio.com
    C$237
  • Priceline
    C$242
1.3 km from Ibis Budget Bern Expo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$257
  • Priceline
    C$244
  • Expedia.com
    C$257
  • Hotels.com
    C$258
2.0 km from Ibis Budget Bern Expo
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$186
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$186
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$184
  • Priceline
    C$186
1.3 km from Ibis Budget Bern Expo
Free Wifi
C$239
  • HolidayInn.com
    C$231
  • Expedia.com
    C$239
  • Hotels.com
    C$239
7.0 km from Ibis Budget Bern Expo
Free Wifi
Pool
City Am Bahnhof Reception
C$237
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$220
  • Agoda.com
    C$183
  • Hotels.com
    C$221
2.2 km from Ibis Budget Bern Expo
Free Wifi
C$200
  • Radissonhotels.com
    C$192
  • Expedia.com
    C$192
  • Hotels.com
    C$192
0.8 km from Ibis Budget Bern Expo
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$754
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$1,081
  • Vio.com
    C$597
  • Hotels.com
    C$756
1.9 km from Ibis Budget Bern Expo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$570
  • Expedia.com
    C$563
  • Agoda.com
    C$526
  • Hotels.com
    C$563
2.1 km from Ibis Budget Bern Expo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Bern
Reviews (779)
Filter reviews
779 results
Traveller rating
118
292
258
65
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
118
292
258
65
46
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 779 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2022

The room was nice and comfortable and the breakfast was good. The reception staff were very friendly and spoke multiple languages. There is a tram stop right outside the hotel which provides easy access to the city centre. The Welcome Bern card which can be got at the hotel provides free use of public transport for guests. I can definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay at a budget hotel.

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TheNeshMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 18, 2022

1) The room was very hot
2) The breakfast was very limited at Budget hotel. Sunday breakfast at neighbor hotel was very good.
3) The door to the toilet makes a lot of noise (slamming shut).
But in general, stay was OK!.

Date of stay: February 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank luelco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 5, 2021

We enjoyed our time in Ibis budget hotel. It was a small room, but a good price/quality ratio. The people from the reception were really thoughtful and kind. Because of the coronavirus we had the possibility to cancel before check-in. This was very nice!

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank joycepanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 23, 2019

I am very satisfied with the hotel, which is clean, comfortable and quite close to the city center. The staff was polite and helpful. Moreover, they gave a pass ticket to use for the transportation in the city during my stay. Bern is also a very beautiful and historical city that is worth visiting. All in all, I am happy with my trip to Switzerland.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank WhiteBird2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 20, 2019 via mobile

We were mighty displeased with the place.. The 3.5 stars is for the absolutely amazing staff and the location .. Not for the property per se..

I initially wanted to give a 4 star and mention 3.5 but after staying in Ibis Budget Lucerne, cudnt do that.. As it's much better when compared to the one in Bern and would paint an unfair picture.. We generally prefer Accor group wherever we go and have stayed at multiple properties (mostly Ibis and Mercure) across Europe and Asia with minimal or no research as they are pretty good everywhere and maintain basic standards.. However this was the first time in budget and probably the last.. Or at least will do a better research before I book budget next time.. The trip was pretty much last moment and was planned within 20 days before our arrival in Europe.. So we knew that hotels would be expensive.. I don know if you would call 110 Francs for a night average or steal .. But looking back I wudnt mind paying 50 extra for a better room with better ventillation.. Probably Novotel which is housed in the same building.. As I said dint so much of a research and look at other places after I saw Ibis and the price..
Also, if you are just two people, do not take the room with bunk bed.. it makes it feel much smaller because of the additional steps in the side..

Positives......

Right from people at the front desk to the housekeeping staff.. Real charming and helpful folks.. Never had any problems with any requests be it hot water, getting around the city, places to eat, keeping the baggage on the last day etc.. Helped always with a smile on their face.

Secondly the excellent location.. It's a very convenient location with Tram 9 from station stopping right at the door step in Guisanplatz Expo station.. Takes you to the city centre in like 8 minutes and runs every 10 minutes on normal hrs and guess
6 mins during peak hours.. Hotel provides the city pass that allows you to travel on all public transports for free..

The Wankdorf centre that's like less than 500 metres from the hotel has some pretty good restaurants and cafes.. Tried only in one of them as we checked it out only on the last day.. A good Italian place walkable from the hotel.. So over all was convenient to go around from and in Bern..

Thirdly, we enjoyed the breakfast.. 16 Francs for the spread they have is not bad at all..

Ok for overnight sleep or when you want to spend most of your time outside..

Coming to the negatives.. Well there is a whole big list..

1. Damn hot !!! I got a doubt now if I had actually booked a Non AC room.. I had read multiple comments in the forum regarding the AC problem wherein the hotel has actually claimed that based on the ambient temperature the apt room temperature is decided.. However, I failed to notice any vents in the room.. Realized this only after checking into Lucerne Ibis again a budget hotel.. But then this one actually had a vent.. So not to sure if i actually booked non AC room if something like that exists.. Even in the night it was becoming hard to sleep as it was quite hot.. Dint bother to complain as we had read about multiple complaints without any resolutions..

2. Very small..
It actually wasn't a very big problem for us as we weren't in the room most of the time.. But after keeping a big suitcase and two bags there wasn't much place left.. But as I said we were totally fine with that coz we had no plans of spending more time in the room..

3. The quality of the towels were very bad..

I am not comparing the above to any other hotel with more stars.. I am comparing it to the Ibis Budget property at Lucerne where we are currently staying.. It's much better quality and the overall feel is better.. Also has a Vent and the room is nice and chill.. You can also play around the AC controls in the room not sure if it makes a difference or not in controlling the AC Temp but psychologically it felt good after the one in Bern..

4. Bathroom with transparent door (Translucent stickers at the right places) and no latch.. Again not an issue for us but not sure when friends or family with grown up kids travel.. Might be a tad inconvenient..

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Narendar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews