We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Japanese Gem in Paquis”
Review of Sumo Yakitori

Sumo Yakitori
Ranked #276 of 1,902 Restaurants in Geneva
Price range: US$28 - US$55
Cuisines: Japanese, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mont-Blanc
Reviewed March 7, 2017

We like Japanese but are usually put off by Geneva prices. Cozy and authentic with the hard working chef fanning the coals in front of you as you enter, you are in for a simple but tasty meal of Yakitori or Terriyaki, served by a delightful waitress who speaks perfect English and French. We had Eggplant, pickles and the Terriyaki set menu. Cost CHF 80 when washed down with two Asahi and a glass of very acceptable Cab Sav. Good "people watching" as it is so small! The Cool Jazz makes one think this could be NYC at times.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 87 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

Makes you feel like you are in Japan for a meal. Great jazz fills the small space, the cooking happens in the middle of the bar area. The food is good and the quality is good. It is very small so wheelchairs of strollers would not fit. Forget yourself for an hour or two...

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank grossetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2016

Despite sushi everywhere, I finally can taste Yakitori in Switzerland! Personally, I really love Japanese food! They have pictures menu so it's quite convenient to order a variety of Yakitori! The price may not so cheap according to the amount but it's definitely worth to taste! I paid CHF42 for 5 Yakitori, a set of grilled onigiri and a pot of hot tea. Overall I really enjoy my dinner here!

The restaurant only opens from 19pm-22pm, Tuesday to Saturday.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chaobao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

I stumbled across this place by accident- I was walking past and it looked authentic. The flavours are true to Japanese style, not tourist-appeasing fake flavours but the true taste of Unami Japanese! Always a good sign too when you see Japanese people eating in a Japanese restaurant!
Comfortable enough place to go alone and watch the world go by or the grill and the chef!
I'll be back on my next business trip.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank daisyo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

Cosy yakitori bar. It's great to see the preparation directly infront of you. Due to the size of the place, it is recommended to book a table. Sumo Yakitori offers some menu plans, which are affordable for Geneva standards. It's definitely something different compared to the usual boring sushi place!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank proshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sumo Yakitori also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Sumo Yakitori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing