We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel St-Gervais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St-Gervais
Ranked #75 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Bergen
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

A nice and clean hotel with friendly reception staff and good breakfast. Shared bathroom with two other rooms, but that was ok, even in a fully booked hotel. There was a bit of noise from the hallway and the streets, even in the top floors. The bus to the airport is just 50 m away, and it is only a short walk into Geneva city centre.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_SBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    74
    58
    17
    11
See reviews for
14
69
48
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This hotel is in an excellent location in Geneva, just a 5 minute walk from the train station. The stafff was extremely friendly and willing to assist guests with providing information on Geneva. I paid $105 per night for a single room which seems like alot for a budget hotel but actually by Geneva standards, that is a dirt cheap price for a room. There is a small elevator which you can use to get your luggage up to the floor of your room. The room is simple but clean. It has a small TV and a plug in alarm clock.. WI-FI Internet access was a strong signal in my room. Breakfast is a typical french breakfast of bread croissants, yogurt, juice and tea or coffee. There are lots of restaurant and shops within a 5 to 10 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DigDougLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed there 1 nite. 115 CHF in Geneva (very nice price)

Okay quality - small room , small bed, small tv, breakfast. Meet 2 stars hotel.

Shared bathroom on the same floor (about 5 rooms to share).. so all depend if the other guests kept it clean or not as hotel seemed to clean daily.

Location is very good - closed to train station (city walk 10 mins), to Jet d'eau/old town (easy city walk 15 mins), to big department store (5 mins/ bought a lot of sourneirs there), to airport bus station (just outside the hotel/free for tourist) .. so highly recommended if you are looking for 1 nite stayover on Geneva!

Last note the receptionist Louis was very helpful/cheerful/energetic/professional. He is an intern.. too bad.. I do not think he will work there long..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Openrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

I arrived at Hôtel St-Gervais at midnight, tired and wanting to sleep, but after 20 minutes of ringing the door bell, still nobody answered the door. Therefore, I had to find another hotel, which I finally did after checking a few hotels nearby that were already fully booked. The following afternoon I went back to ask why there was nobody at the reception the night before. The receptionist said that I should have read the regulations of the hotel, which said that they close at 23h. The receptionist said it was a no-show (which I think is more applicable to the receptionist itself) and that she therefore could not pay back my money! I did not even get an apology from the hotel for leaving me standing in front of a closed door and still taking money from my creditcard! Beware of this hotel and its unfriendly staff!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jilles36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Salatiga, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Just 4 minutes walks to Central Station, 7 minutes walks to Lake Geneva
Close to bus stop and tram
Close to supermarket
It has small elevator
simple breakfast but nice enough
friendly reception staff
small room, small bed for 2 ppl.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junsurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattem
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

This hotel is very basic, but it offers all you need for a good night sleep. And within walking distance of the central station. The showers and toilets outside the rooms are a bit inconvenient, but everything is very clean and you only share it with three other rooms. The bed was good, shower was hot. Breakfast was simple but nice. The staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Courtesy of the hotel: a free ticket for public transport.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargrietH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

I booked this hotel about 6 weeks before departure. I got a rate - advertised as a special internet rate - which was 105 swiss francs.
I didn't expect much - but was very pleasantly surprised. The location is super - I timed myself - 6 minutes from hotel door to front of the main railway station.
The room was very basic - but better than I expected for the price. A single bed - washbasin - a table - with lockable drawer and a couple of chairs. I was surprised to see a TV and a radio alarm clock - I hadn't expected such luxuries!
The WC and separate shower room were directly opposite my door. Both were spotlessly clean. The shower was a bit like walking into a cupboard and locking yourself in - but there was plenty of hot water.
Certainly there were 'no frills' - but it is a super little place - with its own charm
The next morning the reception of the hotel was transformed into a breakfast area. Plenty of hot coffee, tea or hot chocolate with bread/ cheese/ croissant and jam.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
I had a lovely meal at a restaurant just around the corner 'La Nasse'the previous evening
I would not hesitate to use this hotel again
Directions are : on exiting the railway station - turn right - and cross over the main road.
Pass the Hotels Savoy and Astoria on your left and continue on - passing the large church on your right.
Cross over Rue de Chantpoulet and continue on - pass department store 'Manor' on left.
At this point if you look straight ahead you should see a yellow post box attached to a wall and just beyond that, the Swiss flag and a Geneva flag on teh front of a building - this is the hotel. If you arrive by bus from the airport - bus number 10 - and take the stop 'Coutance'.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imjatanaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#48 of 105 in Geneva
435 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Hotel Admiral Geneva
#77 of 105 in Geneva
465 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#60 of 105 in Geneva
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ibis Geneve Centre Gare
#34 of 105 in Geneva
433 reviews
NH Geneva City
#53 of 105 in Geneva
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St-Gervais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Gervais

Property: Hotel St-Gervais
Address: rue des Corps-Saints 20, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Saint-Gervais Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel St-Gervais 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel St-Gervais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gervais
St Gervais Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing