We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (905)
Filter reviews
905 results
Traveller rating
169
440
193
59
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
440
193
59
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room train station panoramic room top floor floor to ceiling windows main station jet d'eau breakfast is served convenient location free wifi trams and buses swiss hotel excellent location decent size old town stayed one night modern hotel
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 905 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2018 via mobile

I was dreading living in a hotel opposite a train station but due to lack of hotel availability booked here...it was a pleasant surprise. The rooms were huge..and not just by European standards but by international ones also. The decor was basic but the bed huge and comfortable. With good sound proofing one did not get affected by the hustle across the road. The location is outstanding in terms of availability of trains and buses and taxis but it is also fabulous for food and shopping. Hotel prices are reasonable and altogether its not a ritzy but certainly not a bad place to stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank AidaAinsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2018

Centrally located hotel next to the railway station So really easy to get there. Had a room on the top floor with a nice view over Geneva. Room are spacious and clean. Breakfast is ok. will be staying again here in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joriscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2018

No-one can deny that the Cornavin is superbly positioned to make the best of the views around Geneva. Our room was on the 7th floor offering a floor to ceiling of the views over the station and city to the mountains. But, the room itself was a throw back to the sixties and spartanly furnished - 2 chairs, 2 beds pushed together and a modular desk- cum-wardrobe-cum-cupboard. The bathroom needs updating - a walk-in shower would nice. The bath itself was a pension trap when used as a shower, narrow and slippery with nothing to hold onto while getting out on to a wet floor. The room was, however very clean as was the rest of the hotel. We booked online at short notice and being in Geneva, the price was exorbitant, the same online as at the hotel. Even at Geneva prices, it was not worth the £20O plus a night. Not impressed and wouldn't stay there again. Oh, and where's the bar?

Room Tip: Find another hotel
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Colmor12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

The hotel may be lacking in features, but the location in Geneva is great as a launching place for investigating all that Geneva has to offer, - the hotel’s free travel pass for train, bus, tram and ferries across the lake is an additional bonus. On a clear day the breakfast room gives you a great view of Mont Blanc. It has a mini "bar" in the foyer but visitors better served by the bar in the room. It is next to Gare Cornivan (the central train station) but can't say (unlike other reviewers) I have heard a train, bus or tram in my visits (4+). If you need a pool or a real gym go elsewhere, but if you want to start your day with a good European breakfast and a great view of the mountains, before a walk to the lake - then stay at Hotel Cornavin. The rooms are spacious and a bit spartan. Reception service is friendly and helpful Best prices are on the weekend (Fri to Sat night) given the UN nature of Geneve.

Room Tip: Enjoy your view at breakfast
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForgoneConclusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

We booked a room for three adults and were glad to see a relatively big room with three actual beds (no rickety extra-bed nonsense). The decor of the entire place is ancient, looks like you jumped on a time machine and went back to 1960’s but everything is clean and fresh so we found it actually quite charming. The room had a magnificent view of the city with the backdrop of the mountains which was breathtaking. The bathroom was large and spotlessly clean and had all the necessary equipment (face mirror, hair dryer, etc). The breakfast is served in the 8th floor panoramic room, marvellous view over the city!

The best thing about the hotel is however the location. Right beside the Cornavin train station, we took a two minute walk from the TGV to our rooms! Almost every single bus or tram in the city stops right by the hotel. I must mention that there is no train noise in the room.

The people at the reception were really friendly and eager to help. I had a fantastic stay at Cornavin Hotel. I would recommend it to everyone.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank RonnieAhmady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews