We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It helped ease our travel fatigue.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bernina Geneve
Ranked #70 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Paris, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“It helped ease our travel fatigue.”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

An unexpected stop over in Geneva let us to this hotel (no prior booking). We were tired and fell out of the railwaystation in Geneva and just wanted somewhere to rest for the night. The hotel is across the road from the station and we seemed to just walk directly into it. Straight away our travel fatigue started to disappear. Friendly welcome, efficient, fast and professional service plus an affordable price got things rolling in the right direction. Very clean and updated rooms (we had two rooms). Decor is a bit eclectic but overall pleasant. Outside there is a very busy world of people, traffic and noise. Inside the hotel there is an atmosphere of peace and calm. With the windows closed we had no problem for sleeping. Excellent breakfast included in the price. Surrounded by restaurants and only a short walk down to the lake. All in all a good hotel just two steps away from the railway station. Maybe you could do better for your money if you shop around and don't need to be right in the middle of everything and just beside the railway station.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deadeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    191
    159
    63
    41
See reviews for
83
147
54
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Very French style hotel, done up well to accomodate modern amenities like LCD TV, wireless internet, etc. Had a basic breakfast spread with wireless internet, which was the best thing alongwith location! Just opposite Geneva Central station with good shopping below the metro station.
Trams, Buses, restaurants line the hotel so is very safe and convenient.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monalisa7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed here both going and coming from our French Alps vacation. Perfect location as we could not have dragged our suitcases, skis, boot bags, and backpacks another foot from the train station across the street! Simple, clean rooms with more than adequate bathrooms. Breakfast was pleasant and plentiful. Desk staff was helpful with our bags and recommending shopping and food close by - Metro Center and Migros. A walk along the waterfront park is only a short four blocks away and the University just across the bridge (about a 20 minute walk).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighDesertFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I flew in from Australia and had an afternoon and night to recover from jetlag. The hotel was easy to get to, close to the train station, it was quiet with a simple and good breakfast.

I few issues with safe but the staff we friendly and responsive.

I had a pleasant stay at a reasonable cost (for Geneva)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poonopolous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This hotel does not have much to recommend it. We stayed in their quadruple room but they refused to give us more than one key (just the plastic card type). This is not adequate for 3 adults. One night the card wouldn't work and the attendant on reception had a very bad attitude when we asked for his help. The room was clean but not in any way attractive. The breakfast was passable but not particularly good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Happy Valley
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Only two days in Geneva to get over jetlag before going off to the mountains. A perfect hotel for this -- quiet (winter so windows closed), warm, reasonable cost -- hotel not flash but perfectly adequate and a fantastic location, for train station and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinkletoes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The check-in clerk at reception was abrupt and unpleasant. The male receptionist in the evening was merely an intern and was lumbered with everyone's problems. The inappropriately sarcastic and unpleasant female assistant receptionist was merely an American student! No senior staff were available from Xmas to New Year. The radiator in one room didn't work, so we had to change room. The electric razor port in the new room didn't work so I couldn't shave for 3 days - I was just not prepared to be put to the further inconvenience of changing rooms again. The hotel director would become available the following week, i.e. when we had long gone.

At the end of our first evening we wanted to leave, but unfortunately we had paid Expedia in advance for 3 days, so we were stuck. We had just had a stay at a 4 star hotel in Chur costing less than this for a wonderful stay. The Bernina is disproportionately expensive - the place is left to run itself during the shoulder period from Xmas Eve to New Year's Day. It was our worst hotel stay in Switzerland in all the 11 years we have been holidaying in the country.

If Expedia had not taken the money for a 3 day stay, in advance, we could have checked-out on day 1 as soon as all the problems became apparent. Paying in advance, with no refund possible, is a definite 'no-no'.

Room Tip: Rooms 101, 102, 103 and 501 are single rooms with larger beds, but the hotel system does not indicat...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Le_Coin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cornavin
International et Terminus
International et Terminus
#55 of 106 in Geneva
264 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 106 in Geneva
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cristal Design
#42 of 106 in Geneva
459 reviews
Pâquis-Temple
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#48 of 106 in Geneva
97 reviews
Warwick Geneva
#31 of 106 in Geneva
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernina Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernina Geneve

Property: Hotel Bernina Geneve
Address: place de Cornavin 22, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Bernina Swiss Quality Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernina Geneve 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family business hotel for 80 years at your service. Benefiting from a prime location opposite the Main Train Station of Geneva, Hotel Bernina is adjacent to a big shopping center and only a 5-minute walk from Lake Geneva. The property is also next to the bus terminal and the business district as well as the commercial area of the city. The United Nations and other international organizations are about a mile away. Venture out, enjoy Geneva's nightlife and retreat to your spacious, elegant and bright. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bernina Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Geneva
Geneva Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing