We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location and cheap price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Hostel Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Hostel Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good location and cheap price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Located near the main train station, it was easy to find. Our room was only ready at 3pm and were offered the use of the lockers for our luggage when we arrived at 2pm, but we needed to have our own locks. The staff were efficient but not exactly friendly. A Geneva transport card was provided. We stayed in a twin bunk bed. The room was clean and decently sized. It was quiet and the toilets were clean. A pleasant stay for the 75Fr we paid.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YiChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    195
    74
    10
    7
See reviews for
21
89
134
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed here on our last night of a long European trip, and it was what we expected from reading other reviews: a comfortable bed for the night, without absolutely breaking the bank. We booked the 'eco' room to have duvets included (not having brought sleeping bags on our trip)- this was a questionable extra spend as the room was quite warm anyway and having two single beds instead of a bunk made it a bit cramped.

The reception was very friendly, bathrooms excellent (more modern/renovated compared to the rest of the hostel), although I would have liked to have some sort of breakfast option given that this hostel always seems to have critical mass. For a fully booked hostel it was very quiet/closed up compared to other places we stayed.

As others have noted, a plus side of staying in Geneva is that you get free public transport (good thing too because everything else is so expensive!) If you are flying in/out and staying just one night like we did I would highly recommend leaving your bags at the airport train station overnight and traveling lite around town.

Room Tip: Think twice about the eco room option- is a duvet in an already warm room and more cramped sinlge be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mythicalmanticore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We made the booking for City Hostel, Geneva pretty much last minute for one night. We were really lucky to have found accommodation at a good price in expensive Geneva.

The room - We booked a room for 3 people; the room had 1 bunk-bed and 1 single bed. Each bed had a reading light, there was ample storage in the form of a wardrobe and small drawers, there was a wash-basin in the room and it was spotless. The price included 2 towels and bed-sheets per person.

The facilities- The reception was amazingly friendly and there was a neat lounge area with TV, a spacious cyber-room and loads of guide books and travel references. The price didn't include breakfast. It has an amazing kitchen (open till 11 p.m.) and I sooo wanted to stay another night and cook, lol

Location- Its a very short walk from the Geneva main station. The city is rather small, so one could pretty much walk everywhere; still the hostel is in a great location. It has a nice-looking breakfast place down the road, grocery stores and restaurants (though they are pricey).

What stood out - They have these amazing bins on each floor for recycling, which impressed me a lot. ( Refer to pics attached.) The emphasis on keeping Switzerland clean is visible almost everywhere, but City Hostel, Geneva went one step further. They also say they are the cheapest sellers of the famed Swiss army-knives, cute!

We wanted to stay another night but the place was completely booked; the next day being a Saturday at that!

All in all, I loved this hostel. There were a couple of families with children as well and they looked happy being there. According to me, if families seem comfortable living in an accommodation, the accommodation must have done something right. City Hostel, Geneva sure did.

Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Book sooon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita_Visvanath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Geneva is easily the most expensive city I've been to. The hotels are obscenely priced with nothing semi decent for less than 200 euros. Took a chance with this hostel and I wasnt disappointed. It's very clean. The reception staff is friendly and helpful. Book early, they run out of space quite rapidly. The receptionist had to tell at least 5 callers that the hostel was full in the 10 min that I was chatting with her.

Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank dxbtraveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

If you have done your homework on Geneva it is VERY expensive. It is almost a miracle that this hostel exists in such an expensive city. I can't give it anything other that a 5 star review.

The staff was all very helpful to help out and offer assistance. The rooms were nice and clean. The hostel was very quiet. It is centrally located to walk to the Lake and center of the city. All the hostels give you a voucher for free public transportation services during your stay which is nice.

You will need to book well in advance for this hostel. Every night I left the hotel they had a Full sign hanging on the front door meaning if you think you are going to show up and find a room it is very doubtful.

Downstairs they offer lockers in case you come early and don't have a room ready. They also have kitchens on each floor for cooking and downstairs an entertainment area.

There is a mens and womans bathroom on each floor with a toilet and shower. I never had to wait for either one of them so the shared facilities was no problem. In the room there is a sink with running water.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GringoEnMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ston Easton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Hostel kept clean and staff helpful and friendly. Location is brilliant for the city and for the conference centre. Toilets and wash room were clean and modern. kitchen was also kept tidy. Remember to bring your own towel as they only provide a small hand towel. The internet room was good, although Geneva has free city wide wifi if you bring your own laptop or phone. Overall, recommended for a short stay 'cheap' stay in geneva.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniellejohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed here for two nights with 3 others Sept 15/16 - shared a room with 2 sets of bunk beds. The rooms are basic and functional, but clean and adequate. Shower and washroom facilities across the hall were very clean and modern. It was very hot that weekend, so we found the room a bit warm and it was loud with partiers out on the street - but nothing serious.

The location is ideal - minutes walk from the train station and right on the main tram line. The lovely woman at the front desk was SO helpful with restaurant ideas and even called ahead to check hours and reservations for us. Geneva is expensive and this place is a fantastic bargain for those wishing to see the area on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#46 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#80 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hostel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hostel Geneva

Property: City Hostel Geneva
Address: 2, rue Ferrier, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hostel Geneva 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your City Hostel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hostel Geneva Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing