We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
ibis Styles Geneve Gare(Geneva)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NH Geneva Airport(Meyrin)
US$104
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$170
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Warwick Geneva(Geneva)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$383
US$271
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$408
US$243
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$300/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Le Richemond, Geneve(Geneva)
US$475
US$342
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$235
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Geneva City(Geneva)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$150
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$515
US$472
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
141
210
89
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
210
89
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk bedstrain stationshared bathroomsingle roomswiss standardswi fifirst floormain stationmin walkstayed one nightpublic transportlockerssinkfridgelidlreceptiondorm
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 459 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2012

This place really was a great pick. I stayed here for 4 days on the first leg of my travels and then for another 2 on my way back home. It is a nice walk from the train station and right of the main street. Both times the rooms were nice and the bathrooms were clean. The internet access was great for sorting out last minute details and the lounge area was good for meeting fellow travelers. When I return to Geneva this will be my choice!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceantravelFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Located near the main train station, it was easy to find. Our room was only ready at 3pm and were offered the use of the lockers for our luggage when we arrived at 2pm, but we needed to have our own locks. The staff were efficient but not exactly friendly. A Geneva transport card was provided. We stayed in a twin bunk bed. The room was clean and decently sized. It was quiet and the toilets were clean. A pleasant stay for the 75Fr we paid.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YiChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed here on our last night of a long European trip, and it was what we expected from reading other reviews: a comfortable bed for the night, without absolutely breaking the bank. We booked the 'eco' room to have duvets included (not having brought sleeping bags on our trip)- this was a questionable extra spend as the room was quite warm anyway and having two single beds instead of a bunk made it a bit cramped.

The reception was very friendly, bathrooms excellent (more modern/renovated compared to the rest of the hostel), although I would have liked to have some sort of breakfast option given that this hostel always seems to have critical mass. For a fully booked hostel it was very quiet/closed up compared to other places we stayed.

As others have noted, a plus side of staying in Geneva is that you get free public transport (good thing too because everything else is so expensive!) If you are flying in/out and staying just one night like we did I would highly recommend leaving your bags at the airport train station overnight and traveling lite around town.

Room Tip: Think twice about the eco room option- is a duvet in an already warm room and more cramped sinlge beds worth the extra price?
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mythicalmanticore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We made the booking for City Hostel, Geneva pretty much last minute for one night. We were really lucky to have found accommodation at a good price in expensive Geneva.

The room - We booked a room for 3 people; the room had 1 bunk-bed and 1 single bed. Each bed had a reading light, there was ample storage in the form of a wardrobe and small drawers, there was a wash-basin in the room and it was spotless. The price included 2 towels and bed-sheets per person.

The facilities- The reception was amazingly friendly and there was a neat lounge area with TV, a spacious cyber-room and loads of guide books and travel references. The price didn't include breakfast. It has an amazing kitchen (open till 11 p.m.) and I sooo wanted to stay another night and cook, lol

Location- Its a very short walk from the Geneva main station. The city is rather small, so one could pretty much walk everywhere; still the hostel is in a great location. It has a nice-looking breakfast place down the road, grocery stores and restaurants (though they are pricey).

What stood out - They have these amazing bins on each floor for recycling, which impressed me a lot. ( Refer to pics attached.) The emphasis on keeping Switzerland clean is visible almost everywhere, but City Hostel, Geneva went one step further. They also say they are the cheapest sellers of the famed Swiss army-knives, cute!

We wanted to stay another night but the place was completely booked; the next day being a Saturday at that!

All in all, I loved this hostel. There were a couple of families with children as well and they looked happy being there. According to me, if families seem comfortable living in an accommodation, the accommodation must have done something right. City Hostel, Geneva sure did.

Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Book sooon!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita_Visvanath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Geneva is easily the most expensive city I've been to. The hotels are obscenely priced with nothing semi decent for less than 200 euros. Took a chance with this hostel and I wasnt disappointed. It's very clean. The reception staff is friendly and helpful. Book early, they run out of space quite rapidly. The receptionist had to tell at least 5 callers that the hostel was full in the 10 min that I was chatting with her.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
Thank dxbtraveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews