We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excelsior
Ranked #60 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Very helpful staff, small but clean room and nice breakfast. Under normal circumstances it might be pricey for what is on offer but Geneva is somehow an exception. Very close to public transport to UN and the airport, easy reach to downtown and restaurants, in front of major department store but still quite. Recommended

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Annalisa_Pr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2016

This hotel is close to the city centre (central station) and has large rooms, good bed and... an extra chair in the room to relax.
Staff is friendly and supportive.
Good option when you want to stay in Geneva.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonaldOptio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

Located right near the main train station and tram hub, across the road from the biggest central shopping centre, and a 5 min walk to the lake, this hotel is ideally placed to explore all of Geneve! Hotel itself is beautiful, big spacious rooms, wonderful beds and lovely and quiet. Would definitely stY again, and recommend to all!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bambi_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016

Our stay here was very pleasant. On welcome & throughout our stay the staff, especially Philippe,were kind, helpful & knowledgable. We were given public transport ticket, though this is pretty common in the city's hotels. Our room had all we needed plus a walk in wardrobe, safe, large bathroom, mirrors, TV, desk & chair. The location is great walking distance to just about everything & if not there's a bus or tram nearby. Good bar next door & a supermarket/dept. store on the road if you want to buy some food etc.
Is all quite compact though & the only down side for me was not having a lobby area to sit in though this wasn't a bother for others I was with.
Staff were even kind enough to lend me an adaptor ( which I'd forgotten) so I could charge my phone

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadYaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

This is a small hotel within walking distance of downtown shopping, much of which is very high end. Plus every Swiss watch company you ever heard plus 12 more. Good walking or biking area (the only area on my trip with level sidewalks). A nice clean and fairly quiet comfortable hotel close to the Rhone river. And they still have brass room keys. Neat!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015

This hotel is very good for business trip. The rooms are small, but clean and well equiped. The location is perfect, just few stpes from the railway station or bus stop. Despite the fact that the hotel is located oposite the very busy department store Manora, the rooms are quiet.

Room Tip: výhled do dvora :o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michaela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015

This hotel situated 5 mins to the railway station, so transfering to and from the airport was very quick and easy. The lake is only a short walk and the hotel provides you with a free pass to use the public transport (inc the wee yellow ferries). We had a rear facing room and the view from the window was onto a shabby drying area and other room windows. The room itself was basic, clean and relatively spacious with a rather expensive mini bar.. The shower was adequate although care needed to be taken to avoid flooding the floor. The breakfast room was quite small but the continental breakfast was of a good standard, fresh boiled eggs, fresh croisants and really nice coffee. There seemed to be a lounge/bar area in the hotel but it wasn't open at any time during our stay. There is a coffee machine in the foyer and there is bar right next door if you fancy a drink. There is a supermarket across the road. We stayed there in early December and the room rate was quite reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, if you want any view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank noggie2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Bernina Geneve
#69 of 109 in Geneva
552 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#64 of 109 in Geneva
176 reviews
Drake Longchamp
#70 of 109 in Geneva
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Hotel Admiral Geneva
#81 of 109 in Geneva
474 reviews
ibis Geneve Centre Gare
#32 of 109 in Geneva
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior

Address: rue Rousseau 34, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: $142 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing