We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”
Review of Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excelsior
Ranked #60 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Situated at the Old Town Area, this is a lovely small hotel with rooms set in a cabin type. It is at the other side of the Lake Geneva quite a bit of work to the central offices.

Room was clean same as the toilet. The hotel was not so silent at night due to its location. The elevator was kindda old and creaky. This hotel is near stores and you can pass by chocolateries. Most high fashion brands are on display and those watches more expensive than what you know you will know here.

You will enjoy walking and just plain window shopping as you walk. Try the gelatos along the street.

The hotel is near the St Pierre Cathedral and to most restaurants. You will enjoy the walk around Lake Geneva, be fascinated on seeing Jet d’Eau, checkout the lovely clock garden and enjoy Philippe Patek Museum. Try sampling items at the Old Town market during weekends. Fruits were awesome esp. the strawberries!

Try walking around the area during weekends. You will love the historical structures esp the structure with onion like domes in gold, Museums of Natural history. You can also visit the United Nations and check out the CERN -- European Organization for Nuclear Research which was featured in Dan Brown’s Angels and Demons. Be prepared to wear comfortable shoes like canvas or rubber shoes as the streets were mostly in cobblestones.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank VinciMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2016

The hotel is conveniently located about 1 1/2 blocks from the main train station. I picked up a free train ticket at the airport and then, walked to the hotel from the station. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. The hotel is small and my room was small. I had a single room with a single bed up against the wall, a small desk with chair and a suitcase rack. The room was clean with a small bathroom with a shower, pedestal sink and toilet. The self-serve breakfast buffet included eggs, breads, sliced meats and sausages, yogurt, pancakes and fruit.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lantana50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Very helpful staff, small but clean room and nice breakfast. Under normal circumstances it might be pricey for what is on offer but Geneva is somehow an exception. Very close to public transport to UN and the airport, easy reach to downtown and restaurants, in front of major department store but still quite. Recommended

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Annalisa_Pr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016

This hotel is close to the city centre (central station) and has large rooms, good bed and... an extra chair in the room to relax.
Staff is friendly and supportive.
Good option when you want to stay in Geneva.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonaldOptio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

Located right near the main train station and tram hub, across the road from the biggest central shopping centre, and a 5 min walk to the lake, this hotel is ideally placed to explore all of Geneve! Hotel itself is beautiful, big spacious rooms, wonderful beds and lovely and quiet. Would definitely stY again, and recommend to all!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bambi_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016

Our stay here was very pleasant. On welcome & throughout our stay the staff, especially Philippe,were kind, helpful & knowledgable. We were given public transport ticket, though this is pretty common in the city's hotels. Our room had all we needed plus a walk in wardrobe, safe, large bathroom, mirrors, TV, desk & chair. The location is great walking distance to just about everything & if not there's a bus or tram nearby. Good bar next door & a supermarket/dept. store on the road if you want to buy some food etc.
Is all quite compact though & the only down side for me was not having a lobby area to sit in though this wasn't a bother for others I was with.
Staff were even kind enough to lend me an adaptor ( which I'd forgotten) so I could charge my phone

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadYaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

This is a small hotel within walking distance of downtown shopping, much of which is very high end. Plus every Swiss watch company you ever heard plus 12 more. Good walking or biking area (the only area on my trip with level sidewalks). A nice clean and fairly quiet comfortable hotel close to the Rhone river. And they still have brass room keys. Neat!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Bernina Geneve
#69 of 109 in Geneva
550 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#63 of 109 in Geneva
176 reviews
Drake Longchamp
#70 of 109 in Geneva
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Hotel Admiral Geneva
#81 of 109 in Geneva
474 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#49 of 109 in Geneva
512 reviews
Home Swiss Hotel
#44 of 109 in Geneva
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior

Address: rue Rousseau 34, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: $144 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing