We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't recommend to anyone but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Studio Geneve Centre
Ranked #14 of 22 Geneva B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I stayed here for four nights for a work event in Geneva. This was the only 'hotel' we could find in Geneva for under 1000 francs per night during the time period. I think our sponsor paid about 150 CHF, certainly not a good deal for this place, although I'm not sure any price would make it a good deal! haha.

As mentioned, you must check in around the corner at the Novotel hotel, where even they raise their eyebrows when you mention you are staying at the residence. The door to the residence is flanked by the employees from the Novotel on smoke break and prostitutes on the corner.

The room reminded me of a large dorm room at university. Relatively clean, basic and cement. There is free wifi which was very good. I was quite happy that it was just me there - I would not want to bring my family to this place.

Although you are in the 'red light district' of Geneva, it is hardly rough compared to other cities in the world. I never felt unsafe, although it certainly was loud! Most nights, and I wasn't there for a weekend, the noise went until about 4 in the morning. You will want to be on a high floor for sure.

Please see attached photo for a picture of my room and the view outside. I was on the fifth floor, there is only one tiny elevator that did get stuck one day that I was there and I quit taking it after that!

All in all, a survivable experience if you are really stuck for a place. Was ok for me since I wasn't paying out of pocket and was not in my room too often.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MUhrblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2010

This hotel is on my list of worse places ever.. One night was enough, two nights would be suicide!

Where was the kitchenette they promised? And what was that smell? A dead rat?
The TV was great, at least the one channel i could watch without snow.
The matrass was heavily used and I wonder how long ago they changed the blankets..
The street is the prostitue/drug street with noisy guys walking around shouting insults at 4 o clock in the morning. Ok i could have closed my window, but the airco was broke, and the room was terribly hot..

If you look 70's design, this place is great (don't mind the hairs in the bath though)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevo1978Herent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Small, run down, very noisy from street and other rooms, strong smell in room ... a nightmare.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonAlejandro72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2008

Be prepared to pay extra 100 CHF for the priviledge of using the so called kitchinette. Not worth.
Furiniture very basic one, used, could be cleaner.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johanna033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank salvatore e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank cmonavisamoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#39 of 109 in Geneva
1,355 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#46 of 109 in Geneva
464 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#14 of 109 in Geneva
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#80 of 109 in Geneva
183 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel ibis Geneve Centre Lac
James-Fazy
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#63 of 109 in Geneva
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Studio Geneve Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Studio Geneve Centre

Address: rue de Berne 36, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Price Range: $110 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence Studio Geneve Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Studio Geneve Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Studio Geneve Centre Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing