We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
40
20
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
20
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quaint place to stay train station one night suite titlis summer switzerland
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 61 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2018

We chose to visit Engleberg at a very quiet time of year so the hotel was not full. Unfortunately as the ski season was nearing an end the onset of finer weather brought the beginning of a lot of construction work in the town. We had chosen a standard room which was pleasant and had a view of the Titlis mountain, but we were disturbed by building works behind the hotel so the reception staff were kind enough to move us to the Rotegg suite which was delightful and very peaceful. The breakfasts were superb and we enjoyed the cosy ambiance of the restaurant with excellent suppers.
It is,however, the people who make the experience special and we were made to feel very welcome and at home by the staff throughout our stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: the standard rooms are comfortable but the Rotegg room is very large with a great bathroom, but sadly no view.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mysteryshopper40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2017

We recently spent a night here while visiting Switzerland. If you are looking for a quaint place to stay look no further! The staff is friendly and professional and the hotel is charming. Our room was cozy and very clean. We walked from the train station and it only took us about 10 minutes. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic. If you are heading to Engelberg look into staying at Hotel Alpenclub. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orkid621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Fabulous hotel - beautiful room (we stayed in the Titlis Suite). Very relaxing and peaceful. Food was wonderful. Unfortunately the weather was not great so we didn't visit the mountains, however was lucky with the weather at the Dolomites and Zermatt. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kym M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

What a delightful experience we had during our 5N stay (29 Sept - 5 Oct 2017) at Hotel Alpenclub. We had some lovely autumn foliage during our visit and as this was off peak season, we enjoyed the serenity of the surroundings during our walks.

Many thanks to the hotel's deputy manager, Manuel (the movie star Mr. Ben Stiller lookalike) who created such wonderful experiences for us esp at dinner. From the pleasant welcome when we checked in, to the last night of our dinner, he was exceptional in his service and warm hospitality. Indeed a great asset to the hotel.

We highly recommend Hotel Alpenclub if you want a quaint traditional swiss rustic architecture that is reminiscent of a cozy wooden cottage. The 2 Double Standard rooms we had (21 & 22) were spacious enough, with an old swiss charm of wooden windows and doors and ceilings. This building was first used as a guesthouse in 1875 and though it has gone through many renovations, it retains its rustic nostalgic charm. Not for those who want something more modern with 21st century lightings.

The bathroom however had a modern shower cubicle, strong hot water and good water pressure for a great bath after a long day of sight seeing and walking. Generous toiletries like bottles of shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, body milk and shower cap were supplied. The shower amenities are more than adequate. Just note that the bathroom may fit only one person at a time esp those with a larger sized frame and girth.

There was a Nexpresso machine, coffee capsules, tea sachets, cups, glasses and a water glass container in the room. Although there was no fridge in the room, it was around 6-13 degrees Celsius during our stay, so we used the window shelf with the cold outside air as our fridge. There was a decent sized HD TV around 29 inches and you can check the live webcams of Mt. Titlis on channel 31 as well as Brunni and Furenalp on it.

We really enjoyed sleeping on the good quality mattress. The room is a little dimmer at night which makes it very conducive for a good night's sleep. Since the bedside lamps are not the energy saving bulbs, it is always advisable to switch them off when leaving the room.

With only 8 rooms, there is a very homely and cozy atmosphere to the place. The front desk is not manned at all hours, even during the day. However, we had no issues with requests which we could make in the morning when the staff was around.

They do not provide transport from the train station. Nevertheless it is an easy 15min leisurely walk with our roll on luggages. If you need, they can call a taxi which would take only a 5min journey to the hotel and station.

The Benedictine monastery (very ornate interior of the baroque church) is just a 8min walk from the hotel. The grounds are well kept and the little cheese factory is just a stone's throw away within the compound. Behind the pretty cemetery is a nice path towards Brunni station, which is a nice alternative from walking along the main road. The autumn colours on the mt sides with the looming cliffs above, were a spectacular sight. We also walked to the Titlis station which took us around a leisurely 15-20min stroll instead of taking the bus.

As for the food, the hotel restaurant is truly exceptional and is highly rated for the friendly staff and the amazing delicious food. We were so impressed with the 3 Course set dinner the first night (main course was stroganoff) that we decided to go Halfboard 4 out of the 5 nights we were there. The restaurant closes on Tuesdays, otherwise we would also have gladly taken halfboard on the 5th night. A big thanks to Manuel for working out the choice of meals for us and the chefs for their great meals and desserts.

Breakfast was always a sumptuous spread. Everything was freshly prepared and the scrambled eggs were one of the best we have tasted. The muesli mix with cold fresh milk was delicious, as was the bread basket and cold cuts and cheese. Yoghurt and orange juice, great coffee or hot chocolate.

To Michaela (many thanks for remembering to order our fav nutty croissant at breakfast) and preparing the sumptuous breakfasts each morning, to Christina (their professional "Picasso Van Gogh artist" who served the chef's special chocolate mousse dessert on the final night's dinner), to friendly Pamela, as well as cheerful Marlene at the front office, Andrea, you have all made such a difference to our wonderful stay in Engelberg. Indeed true, genuine hospitality was experienced during our stay.

A hotel may have the hardware in place, but its the heartware of the staff who make the stay a memorable one for guests. Alas our 5 night stay passed by much too fast and we will have to return to Singapore after one night in Zurich.

It has been such a memorable stay and we hope to return to Engelberg and Hotel Alpenclub again. Danke Schon!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank traveljet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2017

Wonderful hotel and people. The room we stayed in was very nice with a nice view of the mountains. The breakfast was excellent. The people who run the hotel are fabulous - making sure your stay at the hotel is one of the best you'll have.
The location of hotel is in the city center, with easy access to the major sights such as Titlis, Brunni and Fürenalp. We thoroughly enjoyed hiking in the mountains around the city.
Yes, we will be back one day.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DigitalScape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews