We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Hotel Spannort is a gem and it is set up very well for skiers, especially the weekenders. It is centrally located just a short walk or bus ride from Bahnhof, and is close to restaurants, bars, and shops, including ski rental across the street with nice discount for hotel guests. Delightful staff make you feel very welcome and provide great recommendations for everything in town. Beautiful setting, nice breakfast, cozy rooms. Best part for weekend skiers is that the hotel graciously allows guests to use the ski room, luggage storage, and spa/shower area after checking out so you can get in a full day of skiing and then clean up, re-pack the gear, and feel good for the trip home. Most hotels allow this to some degree but Spannort is really excellent in this manner!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank gitanomericano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Dear gitanomericano,

Thank you kindly for your review and for staying with us.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Engelberg!

We are glad that you enjoyed the service to use the showers and changing facilities before flying home after a long day skiing! Thank you!!

Looking forward seeing you soon again!

Winter greetings from Engelberg

Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2017

We stayed at Spannort for 4 days between Xmas and NY 2017.
The staff is VERY nice and made us feel welcome and home right away. Lounge area in reception is very well designed and really inviting. The interior is modern "chalet" with a scandinavian touch. The Ski-room is great. The place was fully booked and due to our late booking, we had to stay in a standard room, which was very tiny (we travelled with our 7yr old) but cozy. Very nice comfy bed. Bathroom is mini-mini (about 2m²).
Breakfast is nice and we liked the fact the breakfast-room was set up very warmly and wasn't illuminated like a super-market- very pleasant start of an early morning :) We only missed some warm egg-dishes (scrambled, fried etc). Service was amazing- always smiling. Thank you!
Engelberg is certainly not the romantic and "cozy" ski-resort that one would wish for (especially without any snow!), but Spannort and its staff is really sweet and a lovely place to stay in Engelberg!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lennyoverthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Dear Lennyoverthere,

Greetings from Engelberg.
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about your recent stay at Spannort. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you for your kind words regarding the service, we are happy that despite this year's lack of snow during the holidays that we could make your visit to Engelberg enjoyable.

We are already looking forward welcoming you back!

Winter greetings

Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

I have thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The staff is so nice and helpful, the rooms are clean with comfortable beds and quiet too. The location is close to everything, (ski rental, grocery, restaurants, bars). I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Boilerpilot85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Dear Boilerpilot85,

Thank you very much for your review and for staying with us.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Spannort and that you had a nice visit to Engelberg.

Looking forward seeing you soon again!

Winter greetings
Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We have stayed at the Spannort two times this season and plan on coming back many times next season. It feels like a home away from home. Very friendly staff and owners (Stefan and Anette), great breakfast, nice comfy and clean rooms, super location, great restaurant. The official rating is three star but for me this is definitely a four star hotel offering great value for money.

Room Tip: Groups of 3-4 should go for the Juior suite or the Spannort Suite, great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pelleskog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Dear Pelleskog,

Thank you for your stay at Spannort and for writing a review. We are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed Spannort and Engelberg as well as our hospitality.

We are looking forward seeing you soon again.

Winter greetings

Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel with charme and a good atmosphere. The staff is really helpful and friendly. I can recommend this accommodation because it's close to everything, Kloster Engelberg, Shops, train station etc. A more powerful hairdryer could be helpful ;)

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank zumara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Dear Zumara,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking your time to review your recent stay at Spannort.

We will have to check if we can get a more powerful hair-dryer for your next visit :) We are sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Hope to see you soon again.

Kindest regards
Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel, which is very cosy and has lots of character. Modern Scandinavian interior style that is very well maintained. The bedrooms are not large but they are well equipped and the lounge area is so nice that you can happily spend hours there relaxing. The breakfast was a good continental selection. The team are extremely friendly and welcoming. I can't fault this hotel in any way and highly recommend it.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MartinH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Inhaber at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Dear MartinH11,

Greetings from Engelberg,

Thank you very much for taking your time reviewing your stay at Spannort. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you like the interior design!

Thank you so much for your lovely words about the team, I promise to pass it on to the whole team.

We are looking forward welcoming you back in a very near future again!

Have a great continuation of the winter


Kindest Regards

Stefan Brunqvist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

We just went to the spannort hotel in Engelberg. The location is good, close to the bus. The skiroom is accesible and very well equiped. The loby looks cosy and the rooms are very nice. This hotel could be a 4 star but there are some points that should be improved. The bathrooms are not meeting the standards ! The old bathrooms have had a very superficial renovation (old broken sink, shower in the bath with a curtain, ...). Furthermore the breadfast could be improved. You can not have a baked eggs or bacon. Everything is presented in very small quantities and the waiter has to run to the bakery several times to buy some more croissants... This gives a bad feeling to the guests. But as we said it is a good hotel and the family who runs it is so nice. So please go there!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank sheshoedai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Inhaber at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Dear sheshoedai,

Thank you very much for taking your time writing a review about your recent stay at Spannort. We are so happy that we had the pleasure welcoming you as our guest.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and that you liked the interior design in the Guest Lounge. Thank you for giving us valuable feedback about the bathroom, we would like to apologise that it did not live up to your expectations. We hope to have the possibility to improve the bathrooms in a near future.

Thank you also for your review about your experience at the breakfast, we will look into the feedback that you have given us and will try to do our best to improve the experience in the future.

We hope that we will have the pleasure welcoming you back again.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and review, it is very valuable for us and will help us to improve in the future!

Wish you a great winter!

See you soon again

Yours sincerely

Stefan Brunqvist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.1 km away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 23 in Engelberg
282 reviews
0.1 km away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#2 of 23 in Engelberg
459 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 23 in Engelberg
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#8 of 23 in Engelberg
121 reviews
0.3 km away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#3 of 23 in Engelberg
239 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#16 of 23 in Engelberg
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spannort Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spannort Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Dorfstrasse 28, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
#2 Business Hotel in Engelberg
#3 Green Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range: $276 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spannort Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Spannort Hotel & Restaurant in Engelberg: a traditional Swiss hotel (20 rooms, 35 beds) and restaurant with a warm atmosphere located right in the centre of the village close to the train station and with its own parking area. The hotel has got high standard rooms with own balcony and alp-inspired interiors which will offer you a good rest after a long day out in the mountains. The restaurant offers a traditional Swiss kitchen with all its culinary thrills served to you in a warm environment. To fulfill the experience we present a broad wine list including a great choice of wines from Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Spannort Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spannort Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing