We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
68
55
15
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
55
15
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily run hoteloldest hotelboil your own eggstrain stationend of seasonski busnice bathroomcable carfresh breadsingle roomnice hotelhotel barcold cutsyogurtcomfortable roomsthree nightsminute walk
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 141 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2016

Clean and comfortable room; with reasonably functional wifi. Breakfast was good enough, except for the bit with the cook your own egg that had run out of water and gave no guidance as to time or temperature. The associated restaurant, and the town as a whole, were much less hospitable.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvdwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2016

Arrived quite early at 11am hence room was not ready yet. Hotel reception was very kind to keep our luggages and immediately offered us advise on where to go etc. Was also given a discount card where we got a 10% discount for the Mt. Titlis cable car.

We checked in at about 4pm. Was greeted by another lady at the reception. She was very pleasant and friendly. The room was very nice with a touch of Swiss alpine feel. It had a nice terrace with chairs overlooking the main pedestrianised cobbled street below.
The bed and the mattress was super comfy and the bathroom with shower cubicle was very good with strong water pressure.

Continental breakfast was decent and served from 7am to 10.30am.

We left our luggage with the hotel for a few hours while we did a walk around town.

Location of this hotel is very good only 5 minutes walk from the train station and close to all restaurants in town.

I gave 4 out of 5 stars because the Wi-Fi reception in our room was literally non-existent. It picked up and lost signal immediately throughout my stay. Probably just the location of my room (Room 30) which was too far away from the wireless router. The signal however was functioning just fine in the restaurant where we had breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kent O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

spent a good weekend with friends in this friendly, family run hotel in the centre of engelberg. all went very well, good sleep and breakfast with a variety of local cheese etc.; we were taken care of very nicely by the owners. warm hearted lounge place to relax or read a paper on first floor.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Pasila24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

Location is good, in a middle of the town, everything is near by.
Hotel is family owned and runned, they are friendly, really helpful, always smiling and taking care of everything.
Building it self would need some repairs but rooms are cosy, clean and decent size.
Breakfast is good, but there is something to improve of, choice it self was good, but all was just so few, that everything was fall short, as the staff did not bring fast enough new ones...
Parking at the summer is no problem, but in winter the carage near by is too small and really tight, my Audi A5 was too large to fit in...

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank FIN_Nicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie_Infanger, Geschäftsführer at Engelberg Trail Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2016

Gut Afternoon,

Hey, thank you very much for your Review. It's very important for us your regard of our house. You are right the building need at some places Reparation and that's also in the plan for the near futur. We are going to renovate the first Floor with a sportif-bar and a nice place to put bikes, ski etc.... .

We are sorry about the breakfast, we are looking that the staff at the breakfast room look better at the breakfast-buffet. Thank you for the information.

We are looking Forward to see you again at Engelberg with some renovated places.

Our best regards
Nadia & Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2016

Enjoyed a three night stay during mid-week in February to have a short ski break. Very warm welcome from this lovely family-run hotel. Excellent communication when booking to organise parking and to find out about ski passes and local hire etc. We were able to purchase our ski passes from the hotel and they were very helpful with advice before reaching the slopes. There is a boot room at the hotel which opens out onto the street with seats outside to put boots on and off. Our room was quite compact and perfectly clean – the towels were a bit thin! Breakfast was served upstairs in a room which looked like it had originally been a ballroom. Superb choice of local cheeses and meats, fresh breads and croissants, eggs, fresh juices and their speciality of a different Smoothie every morning. The restaurant on the ground floor appears to have changed since we read the website on booking. Now serves only Raclette. Would have been good to have known this in advance so hopefully they will update their website. The restaurant was a lively place to sit with a drink after skiing but we didn't eat there because it was very limited. There is also a lounge upstairs with comfortable chairs and an honesty bar with drinks available in the fridge or a bell to ring for the staff to serve alcohol. We really enjoyed our stay here and have booked to stay again during the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank YorkshireHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews