We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Hotel - Top Location”
Review of Hotel Schweizerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2017

We visited Engelberg for an early morning family event and for ease of travel arrived a day earlier. We stayed in a pretty, quiet room on the first floor (which is one above ground floor). We ate a fine dinner in the hotel restaurant at a quite reasonable price.
The buffet-breakfast next morning was excellent and plentiful. Because it was the Easter weekend, the tables were decorated with chocolate eggs and chocolate Easter bunnies -- of course to take with you.
We enjoyed free car parking, including a few extra hours after we had checked out.
There will be further such events in the future, and we will definitely stay again at the Hotel Schweizerhof.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank sompost2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights during Swiss tour... very helpful staff... good food.. view from room was priceless..will upload some pics soon.. don't forget to visit Church in next lane. will surely suggest Schweizerhof... i visit here in May 2010. very late to post review..

Room Tip: just above entrance gate...perfect view to see snow mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DharmeshBOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of our Europe tour. This was our favorite hotel of the whole tour. The view outside of the windows is just so beautiful!!! Breakfast is nice. Hotel rooms have free WIFI. One tip we can give is, if you plan to go up the Mount Titlis and walk through glacier cave and play in the snow, you can buy the gloves from the hotel reception. But buy early, they run out fast.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We stayed for 3 days in this property. So like almost all Schweizerhof properties in Switzerland, the location of the hotel stands out. Its bang outside the Engelberg station. The rooms are OK in terms of size and amenities.
We had a baby (one year old) with us and there is no water heater or tea/coffee maker in the room, which was surprising (and we had booked a family room)!!! Also i found the staff (especially at the reception counter) to be not very friendly and polite. They were certainly not helpful, because even for getting a hot water glass they would ask you to come down at lobby and collect it!!! They would sternly remind you to return umbrellas etc.(as if we cant afford to have an umbrella of our own).
Other than location, i would not rate this hotel very high, especially because of unfriendly staff!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sumeet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for two night with a Top Deck tour as part of our two week European adventure and I have to say, it was the nicest hotel we stayed in!

The breakfasts were amazing (I wanted to take that Bircher Museli home with me!) and the rooms were cozy and warm. My only complaint (and I use the term loosely) was that our pillows were a bit too soft, resulting in a slightly sore neck the next morning.

The staff were so nice and accommodating, especially of our 40+ person tour group! There was ample room to hang out and have a few drinks in the foyer, and the reception staff were always helpful and nice.

The view of the mountains out of our window was phenomenal, and everything was within walking distance. I wasn't sure what to expect from Switzerland before this tour, but it's definitely been a highlight for me!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Emilie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed with our children three nights during our trip from Geneva to Zurich.
From our family room (balcony) in the 3rd floor we had a beautiful view. The rooms could have better or newer furniture. The breakfast was ok. The service was good, the ladies working there were nice, friendly and helpful. We also appreciated the free parking for our rented car. The hotel is central, somehow everything close to it: supermarket, cable car to Titlis, Brunni Bahn, etc.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank ummraed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We stayed here over a long weekend while we were studying abroad. Our main focus was on skiing/snowboarding. Switzerland is not a cheap place and we were all already sacrificing a lot to make this trip work. We ended up finding a deal for two bedrooms online. We were traveling with 5 people and we figured we could make it work. In the US, putting multiple people in a room is not a big deal. No one says anything. We thought nothing of it. The rooms were plenty big and we had no issue making it work.

Conveniently for the hotel, they notified us via email AFTER we left that it was 'illegal' for us to have as many people in the rooms as we did. They slapped us with a 1,500 euro charge for the police report they filed against us along with the additional price per person. It would have been cheaper for us to all get a ritzy hotel and each get our own bedroom than to stay here. It was clear that they did this intentionally to rob us of additional money. We would have paid the extra fee per night if they would have told us immediately. It was cowardly for them to never say anything. In addition, we never partook in the 'free' customer breakfast or used any of the amenities. We tried out best to keep a low profile.

I understand people have to do what they have to do, but charging a group of young American students an additional 1500 euro when they were well aware we were staying their the entire time is just greedy. If they would have approached the situation professionally we would have found a different place to stay or cooperated as we were in the wrong.

I appreciate people who look out for other people regardless of the amount of money you have in your pocket and the owners of this hotel do not. Just a heads up if you choose to stay there. I may be 'young' but I was still a customer and should not have been taken advantage of.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kamille F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schweizerhofengelb, Inhaber at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Dear Kamille F

Thank you very much for rating us on tripadvisor. We like to clarify some points.

You made an online booking for 2 single rooms. On your booking confirmation it was clearly mentioned that for each single room only 1 person is allowed to stay and also rates are based on 1 person per room. Our single rooms are large but this does not mean that several additional people are allowed to stay. You had been aware of this because at the check-in you signed a document with your name and address where you confirmed with your signature that only 1 person will stay per room. After we got suspicious you gave us again a written confirmation that only 1 person per room was staying. At the end of your stay you left the hotel in the early morning without paying your stay.

Aftwards we contacted our safety cameras and saw that you stayed with 6 people in the 2 single rooms. Of course, we charged your credit card after your stay as you did not pay on the departure and we also charged for the additional people in your room.

Some days after your stay, you confirmed us that you had been 6 people staying at our hotel and you asked for a refund. After we refused to give you a refund you made on the same day different bad ratings on booking.com and now on tripadvisor.

Please note: we will never pay someone money to give us a good rating or to avoid a bad rating.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.3 km away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 23 in Engelberg
284 reviews
0.2 km away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#2 of 23 in Engelberg
467 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 23 in Engelberg
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#6 of 23 in Engelberg
122 reviews
0.2 km away
Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 km away
Hotel Bellevue-Terminus
Hotel Bellevue-Terminus
#9 of 23 in Engelberg
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof

Address: Dorfstrasse 42 | 6390 Engelberg, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range: $255 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schweizerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Hotel Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing