We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
19
11
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
11
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews longer stay awesome location old building overlooking the lake lovely hotel one night cons guests fan bathroom station reception
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 38 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2018 via mobile

Charming old architecture in awesome location across street from lake, away from crowds. Only complaint is the hours of breakfast and reception. For people on the go, 0730 is too late. Open at 0600 and you get 5 stars.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank badbucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2018 via mobile

Spent one night on our way to Milan. Apologies for waking up the reception staff at 1h30am. However, we clearly signaled that we would have arrived after midnight.

We had to call and wait to get in. The reception staff was sleeping in his bed. Guests have to park the car outside. We were lucky as it was not raining. An extra payment is required for the parking permit. The family room is situated in the same room where the hotel stored their washing machines. Quite spacious but very similar to a clean hostel. It is necessary to roll down the shades unless guests are ok to change, take shower and go to the toilet in front of neighbors. This means that one has to open the very old windows and roll down the very dirty shades with your hands. In one case, the chain was working, but it was equally filthy.

There was also a kitchen, which could be good for longer stay. Two chocolates were offered to happy guests.

Wifi ok

Breakfast is minimalist, but ok. It was a sunny day, so guests could enjoy the terrace with a very nice lake view! Coffee was almost a violation to the right of good health.

For one night is ok, but it is pricey. Spent over €300. For this price, one can find other options.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank novembre1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chez-Gautier, Inhaber at Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Dear Novembre1965

Thank you very much for your stay with us and your feedback on Tripadvisor. On a couple of points we see the matter a bit different.
I think giving us 3 points for our services is not quite fair.

1. You booked very late that night and we told you that you call us in the night to check in. Obviously this worked out just fine. Even if it would have rained...the entrance in front of the hotel is covered, so no chance to get wet.
2. We are a city hotel, so parking spaces are scarce and we need to rent them on a high rate too.
3. You did not stay in a family room. It was a 1 bedroom design apartment. The art and design are by the reknown designer Daniel Hunziker and the artist Nina Staehli. So we cannot see the comparison to a hostel.
4. These are not "our" washing machines. The washing machine and the dryer are for the sole use of the guest.
5. In front of the bathroom window is a day curtain. People from outside cannot see the guest. So there was no need at all to lower the shades....well nobody does.
6. We offer a generous breakfast with croissants, organic bread, jam, butter, eggs, meat, Swiss cheese, fruits, cereals, tea, premium italian coffee, juices....cannot see this as minmal in our hotel category.
7. We serve premium italian coffee, made with a high end coffee machine. The premium coffee is roasted in Lucerne by the Bergen brothers.
8. We are not pricey. 300 Euros for 4 guests in a hotel in Lucerne on the lake side is very affordable for Switzerland.

Kind Regards
Manuel Berger
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018

I loved this place. The room was so charming and a steal for the price considering the location. We stayed on Easter and arrived in our room to find the cutest chocolate bunnies + a hand written note.

We only stayed at this hotel for one night but I would return for a longer stay. The staff was really attentive and quite funny! The hotel is artsy without being too pretentious. I love the little design details xx

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 517stephanied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

Great new boutique hotel in Lucerne. Had a fancy room with a great view on the lake and mount Pilatus. Breakfast on the Terrasse was excellent. The service was very friendly and helpful. Definitively will go again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
5  Thank OliverE41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews