We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 2nd time Staying Here - Still Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This time round My hubby and I booked a lake view room at a great winter break discount of CHF290/night. We stay Five nights. As this was the last leg of our 3 week europe break, we had 4 huge luggages. So I emailed the staff to help me arrange pick up at the train station and airport transfer at 6am on the day we are leaving. My email was promptly replied and they also called to make sure I was arriving at the correct time.
The room has a wonderful view of the lovely lake and the city lights. It was spacious, warm and comfortable. Room service was also great. (we had stayed in often due to heavy snowfall on several days)
Overall I have a great experience. And will definitely stay here again when I visit Luzern again. Thumbs Up!

Room Tip: Choose a Lake View Room. They are much bigger, definitely worth to pay the extra 20%!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracieYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Staubli, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Tracie

We are happy you have chosen our hotel already for the second time. Our prices are based on a yield management system which includes seasonality, events in Lucerne at the same time and availability. So it seems you where lucky and got a competitive price.

Thanks for contacting us in advance so we had the chance to make sure everything is well organized around your stay. We would be glad to welcome you again soon for the 3rd time and wish you all the best until then.

Warm regards

Simone Staubli
Head of Marketing, Sales & PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,856 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

This is a very nice hotel up on the hill with amazing views over Lake Lucerne and the surrounding mountains. When we booked the hotel we noted on trip advisor that some other comments were concerned with the fact that the hotel was a 10 minute walk back into town. We found the walk was actually a very enjoyable 10 minute walk along the lake front after a small funicular ride down the hill (which the kids loved and the funicualr was all decorated out in fairy lights) and was not an isue at all. The hotel and rooms very amazing and the staff of the hotel very friendly and helpful in all respects. They also made our kids very welcome with the little ducks left on their beds when they arrived. The hotel restaurant has amazing views and the food was beautiful and the staff had a good knowledge and were very helpful in selecting a nice bottle of wine. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Lucerne.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bentleysinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Staubli, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your time posting your feedback on tripadvisor. We are really happy you liked our historic hotel and you even highly recommend it.

We do agree with you that the 10 minutes walk to the centre is enjoyable and gives you a great opportunity to see the city from it's most beautiful perspective. The funicular is a highlight for children but also for adults. We are happy you felt welcome with your kids and our staff was perceived as friendly. In fact this is for us even more important than the beautiful rest of our design hotel, which you also praised.

We are looking forward welcoming you again

Warm regards,

Simone Staubli
Head of Marketing, Sales & PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Spent one night on business at Montana. Staff was courteous, friendly and effective (save for a complete system failure disabling everyone's checkout the next morning). Both restaurant and bar are worth a visit. Good views over the lake from the room. Spacious, but a little bit simple habitation. Still good value for money.

The h

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kittilsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Staubli, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear Kittilsen

Thank you for visiting us on your business trip and your feedback on tripadvisor. As we understand you pointed out, that at the end staff is more important than technical systems when it comes to system failure as you experienced. We are very pleased to see, that our reception staff was still perceived this friendly in such a displeasing situation and aplogize for any inconvenience it may has caused.
We do offer different room categories and also have individualized rooms within the categories. Please just tell us if you have any size preference for a next booking.

We would be happy to welcome you again

Warm regrads,

Simone Staubli
Head of Marketing, Sales & PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

i stayed in this hotel with my husband on my honeymoon. One of the best hotels i have stayed in so far. the staff is really warm n helpful who guides u through the hotel and takes personal care of you. The room was big and beautiful,warm n cozy!! The Lake view from the room is breath taking, u just cant ask for more. The room also gives you a tiny balcony with two chair and a table.We had our drinks sitting there and it was definitely romantic. They have a private lift that drops u down the hill onto the lake side, which makes it really comfortable. plus they provided us with bikes to explore the city on our own. The hotel is centrally located and the station is easily accessible. I Would love to visit the city again n would prefer Art Deco.The hotel is no where less than a 5 star property.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aasthagupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Staubli, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your feedback and your time you have taken to write it. We are really happy you chose us for this special occasion, your honeymoon. It is a great pleasure to us, that you liked the way our staff and the overall hotel where.
We agree with you, that the view is breathtaking and really Swiss looking at the alps, the lake and the city of lucerne. Should you decide to visit us again, please do not hesitate to ask for support as you did with the bikes. I promise you, we have many more great locations to see and activities to make. We would love to make them accessible to you.

All the best to both of you and our best wishes for your marriage.

Warm regards

Simone Staubli
Head of Marketing, Sales & PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Lucerne was one of several stops for our first time to Switzerland. The Art Deco Hotel Montana was a phenomenal hotel and made our visit even more memorable. Our view of the lake from our room was stunning. The service was excellent and the room was very clean and comfortable. The lift that takes you from the street to the hotel lobby was pretty cool, too. We plan on returning to Lucerne and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Staubli, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Dear Charlotte

Thank you very much for your time writing a review about our hotel and giving us a great feedback. We are happy, that you recognized how much effort we put in our service to make sure you feel welcome. The view over the lake and city of lucerne as well as the alps is really beautiful.

We are much looking forward to welcome you back at the Art Deco Hotel Montana

Warm regards

Simone Staubli
Head of Marketing, Sales & PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Nice short Trip into this nice hotel at Lucerne. Good service and top Spa staff !

Room was very nice, just some little progress I think regarding the Bathroom (very clean) but to short regarding this type of room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Warm welcome from reception and taken to my superior room (surprisingly no carpet). Large bathroom with freestanding bath but shower cubicle was too small so kept bashing elbows! Fabulous view overlooking the lake and the room had a tiny balcony with table and 2 chairs - shame it was winter so too cold to sit out.
Ate dinner in the restaurant which was suberb - fine dining at its best and the local Luzern wine was great. Attentive and friendly staff.
The hotel has access to the lake via the smallest furnicular - takes 60 seconds but deposits you down the hill onto the lakeside - v cute!

I was there on business but would definitely like to go back in the summer on holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geordielass64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,102 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
1.4 km away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,012 reviews
2.7 km away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
1.3 km away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $303 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing