We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I had been planning a proposal for 12 months and had looked at several possible venues. After hours of looking on the net at luxery hotels, I came across Hotel Montana. Everything exceeded my expectations and was simply amazing. The views of the mountains, the amazing lake, the wonderful balcony and terrace. We will certainly be returning, possibly for a honeymoon.

Room Tip: It's a must to ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,215
    365
    76
    24
    15
See reviews for
260
974
54
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed in the Jacuzi suite with my wife to celebrate our 43. birthday - really enjoyed the whole stay. The room we had was 602, with a jacuzzi on the balcony overlooking lake Luzern with the Swiss alps in the background. Very impressive, quiet, beautiful and unique. Very nice large bathroom with a wellness shower, steam, seperate bathtub, and some kind of aroma system. Bed was big and comfortable, TV high quality, sound system etc.

From the lobby of hotel there is a lift that goes directly down to the street, and its a minute walk to the Grand Casino Luzern and a few minutes walk to the 'old town' of Luzern - lots of nightlife, shopping, or walk around the lake and simply enjoy.

Room Tip: our room was 602, the smaller or the Jacuzzi suites, was perfect for us. view is the hammer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlyons69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My wife and I studied long and hard before selecting this hotel for our 4-day stay in Lucerne in June. It was everything we hoped for and more. We found its art deco design to be very stylish, with beautiful decor throughout. It had nice-sized rooms, very comfortable, and what a view from our balcony facing the lake. Even more spectacular is the view from the dining room and the outdoor deck, whether enjoying the top quality morning breakfast buffet served there or just relaxing with a glass of wine later in the day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for an easy walk into the old city and all its attractions, especially using the little funicular to get up and down the hillside. We've agreed that Lucerne is our favoriate area among all the places we have vacationed, and upon our return one day we will absolutely plan to stay at the Hotel Montana again

Room Tip: Many rooms are available with a lake view, and any extra cost here is worth it - looking out across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenShoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed in a lakeview room for 4 nights. It was cloudy the first 3 days leaving us wondering if it was worth it to pay extra for the lake-view room. But on the 4th day, it all cleared up and it was beautiful(pic attached).
Location of this hotel is good. The hotel's fernicular gets you down to the bus station on the main road in less than 2 minutes. The bus ride to train station is less than 5 minutes (keep change handy for the bus tickets). In the evenings we chose to walk back to the hotel as it was a beautiful walk along lake lucerne.

My only gripe was that the breakfast buffet was very expensive.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khushboo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My wife and me stayed for 3 nights between 2/19 and 2/22. Hotel is well conserved, nicely decorated, service is quick and courteous, view and location at it's best. Price is worth paying for what you get

Room Tip: Chosse the rooms with view to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hk4ruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed one night in the best room of our entire two week trip. We had a fabulous view over the lake, and the room, and the bathroom were huge. The hotel staff were very pleasant. There is a lovely funicular that takes you up and down the hill to the waterside. I wish we'd had more time in Lucerne. We arrived on the afternoon of "Dirty" Thursday - and at the hotel's suggestion, parked our car immediately and watched the Carnival parade and the costumes and street activity. It was wonderful fun. The hotel had a lovely non smoking bar where I had a lovely pre dinner aperitif. There was live music in the regular bar area, which I could hear, and see on the closed circuit TV. After dinner we had a lovely coffee in the same room. The hotel had complementary IHTs - which we enjoyed. Breakfast was good. Not as many cheeses and meats as some hotels, but it included smoked salmon. We thought that this was a great location, and very good value, particularly in a very expensive City in an expensive country.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, and do specify non smoking room. We forgot to specify, and ended up in a clean, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LA12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Lovely hotel with great views over the lake. 10 minute walk from town, but very enjoyable walk and bus stop close-by for when you're tired. Hotel has its own funincular, which is a great treat.
Great service, really friendly and extremely helpful. Hotel even provided a nappy bin when we asked for a cot in our room. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
1.3 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
1.3 km away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
1.4 km away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#8 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
2.7 km away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Property: Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing