We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Nearby Hotels
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$260
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$169
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Seeburg(Lucerne)
US$185
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$359
US$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$238
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$337
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$327
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,001)
Filter reviews
2,001 results
Traveller rating
1,450
423
83
29
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,450
423
83
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslouis barscala restaurantlake leveljazz barspa suiteprivate funicularlive jazzfunicular railwaycable carlake lucernebeautiful hotelthe penthouseoverlooking the lakehotel lobbyhalf boardour honeymoonan upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
749 - 754 of 2,001 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed in the Jacuzi suite with my wife to celebrate our 43. birthday - really enjoyed the whole stay. The room we had was 602, with a jacuzzi on the balcony overlooking lake Luzern with the Swiss alps in the background. Very impressive, quiet, beautiful and unique. Very nice large bathroom with a wellness shower, steam, seperate bathtub, and some kind of aroma system. Bed was big and comfortable, TV high quality, sound system etc.

From the lobby of hotel there is a lift that goes directly down to the street, and its a minute walk to the Grand Casino Luzern and a few minutes walk to the 'old town' of Luzern - lots of nightlife, shopping, or walk around the lake and simply enjoy.

Room Tip: our room was 602, the smaller or the Jacuzzi suites, was perfect for us. view is the hammer!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jlyons69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My wife and I studied long and hard before selecting this hotel for our 4-day stay in Lucerne in June. It was everything we hoped for and more. We found its art deco design to be very stylish, with beautiful decor throughout. It had nice-sized rooms, very comfortable, and what a view from our balcony facing the lake. Even more spectacular is the view from the dining room and the outdoor deck, whether enjoying the top quality morning breakfast buffet served there or just relaxing with a glass of wine later in the day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for an easy walk into the old city and all its attractions, especially using the little funicular to get up and down the hillside. We've agreed that Lucerne is our favoriate area among all the places we have vacationed, and upon our return one day we will absolutely plan to stay at the Hotel Montana again

Room Tip: Many rooms are available with a lake view, and any extra cost here is worth it - looking out across the lake all the way to the Alps.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WarrenShoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed in a lakeview room for 4 nights. It was cloudy the first 3 days leaving us wondering if it was worth it to pay extra for the lake-view room. But on the 4th day, it all cleared up and it was beautiful(pic attached).
Location of this hotel is good. The hotel's fernicular gets you down to the bus station on the main road in less than 2 minutes. The bus ride to train station is less than 5 minutes (keep change handy for the bus tickets). In the evenings we chose to walk back to the hotel as it was a beautiful walk along lake lucerne.

My only gripe was that the breakfast buffet was very expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khushboo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My wife and me stayed for 3 nights between 2/19 and 2/22. Hotel is well conserved, nicely decorated, service is quick and courteous, view and location at it's best. Price is worth paying for what you get

Room Tip: Chosse the rooms with view to the lake
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hk4ruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed one night in the best room of our entire two week trip. We had a fabulous view over the lake, and the room, and the bathroom were huge. The hotel staff were very pleasant. There is a lovely funicular that takes you up and down the hill to the waterside. I wish we'd had more time in Lucerne. We arrived on the afternoon of "Dirty" Thursday - and at the hotel's suggestion, parked our car immediately and watched the Carnival parade and the costumes and street activity. It was wonderful fun. The hotel had a lovely non smoking bar where I had a lovely pre dinner aperitif. There was live music in the regular bar area, which I could hear, and see on the closed circuit TV. After dinner we had a lovely coffee in the same room. The hotel had complementary IHTs - which we enjoyed. Breakfast was good. Not as many cheeses and meats as some hotels, but it included smoked salmon. We thought that this was a great location, and very good value, particularly in a very expensive City in an expensive country.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, and do specify non smoking room. We forgot to specify, and ended up in a clean, but slightly smoky room. We didn't realize our mistake until after we'd unpacked, so we never asked to change.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LA12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews