We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$298
US$239
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$254
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$350
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$359
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

CASCADA Hotel(Lucerne)
US$326
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$224
US$191
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (620)
Filter reviews
620 results
Traveller rating
154
258
140
50
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
258
140
50
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barla cucinatrafalgar tourmodern hotelold towntrain stationchapel bridgetop floornespresso machine in the roomthe penthousefloor to ceiling windowswithin walking distancecentral locationcorner roomtwo nightslarge bathroombuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 620 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2018

The hotel was a great location but it was really cramped! luckily i travelled with carry-on so didn't really struggle. The restaurant downstairs made up for the crampiness. It was one of the coldest weeks in Lucerne but its centrally located and easy to get around.

Room Tip: unfortunately it was a little cold in the room despite the heating
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SZavahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2018

Dear SZavahir

Thank you very much for your stay and your feedback. We are happy that we could convince you with our central location and restaurants.

All the best to you! We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2018

Stayed here 3 nights with parents and it was a great haven in an accessible part of Lucerne. Opposite direction from the Lucerne Old Town, but 1 stop by bus / tram from the train station on multiple lines (stop: Kantonalbank), or just walk the whole way which takes <10mins. When we arrived reception was nice to let us deposit our luggage while we explore the area and when we returned we were went to a Business Deluxe room. It was spacious compared to other business hotels we stayed and even had a Nespresso machine. Bathroom was also nice and offered great privacy.

As a business hotel the place is popular for both seminars and tour groups. That said my family and I did not see them beyond during the breakfast which was hearty to say the least. We even hit the Penthouse bar one of the nights to catch the World Cup and the atmosphere was lit. Small oddities like why there is an escalator up but none down at reception, as well as why there was a knot in the clothing line which made us unable to make it secure until we untied it, but these are really small compared to the comfort we experienced at the Hotel Astoria.

Dinner options are there but expensive, I would suggest Dean&David closeby, or at the train station / Lucerne Old Town. To top it off, a free Lucerne card was provided that gave us free bus rides and discounts across the city. I dont think there is much more I can say besides, go here if you are looking for a nice hotel in Lucerne.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chow_TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Dear Chow_TW

Thank you very much for your great feedback! We are happy to hear that you appreciated our service. It is our everyday passion to give guests a great time; starting at the entrance and finishing with a positive and memorable experience.

All the best to you! We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Astoria Luzern!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2018

Hotel was in a prominent position close to the railway station with several uninviting restaurants nearby. Due to this, we had dinner in the hotel restaurant. Meal was ok but quite expensive.Check in was seamless and staff helpful. Breakfast buffet was adequate with limited choices. Rooftop bar was not for non smokers. We almost passed out from the smoke. Although we sat inside, smoke was drawn in to the area. Had to leave after one drink. As a general observation, smoking is widespread in Switzerland and extremely distressing to non smokers.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have best views.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank anthonypK7227YH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear anthonypK7227YH

Thank you very much for your stay and your feedback. We are happy that we could convince you with our central location and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2018

Unusual setup, appears to have been converted to a hotel from a couple of office buildings. The hotel reception is on the first floor and the breakfast restaurant is located on the ground in an adjacent building. Although linked to the reception area by a corridor, it was difficult to find and the lift down was slow. Easier to go outside the hotel and walk next door. However, the hotel location is very good and central, just 5-10 minutes walk to the Lucerne Train Station, Lake Lucerne and the Kapellbrucke over the Reuss.

The room was not spacious, wardrobe space rather limited and the bed not that comfortable with only one soft thin pillow. The bathroom had a small wash basin, basic toiletries, one short towel rail and not even a hook.

We were provided breakfast at the La Cucina restaurant ground floor next door, obviously only catering to tour groups staying at the hotel. The buffet was nothing special with passable service.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2018

Dear OldSaint

Thank you very much for your stay and your feedback. We are happy that we could convince you with our central location and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2018

This hotel is difficult to find, its real address is differente from the official. The Parking Basement is even harder to locate, and they charge exorbitant prices for both car and rooms. Breakfast restaurant is separate from the hotel. I was overcharged and handed a different guest's bill. Management unwilling to concede error and only gave a partial refund of overcharge. Book at almost any other hotel

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NielsFrederiksberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews