We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,008)
Filter reviews
1,008 results
Traveller rating
472
337
122
36
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
472
337
122
36
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station great location rooftop bar starbucks coffee heritage building old town no air conditioning chapel bridge burger king recommend this hotel four star hotel street noise large windows tourist office great room hot water perfect hotel
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 1,008 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Staff was cooperative, easy access to railway station. Breakfast options were less but when requested they made special item for the vegetarians. Rooms were fine only the directions of beds was quite disturbing.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kratigupta71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Manager at Hotel Monopol Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

Dear Kratigupta71,

Thanks a lot for your visit in our Hotel MONOPOL Lucerne and the nice review.

Our Location is absolutely unique. Directly at the train station (no taxi), in the middle of the center of Lucerne, close to the lake, the world famous Chapel Bridge, the old town and all sightseeings in Lucerne.

Our cold and warm breakfast buffet has a total of 55 different foods and 25 different drinks. If you do not find your desired food, you can ask the Service employee, if we have your food.

Sorry, but we do not understand what you mean with the bed directions. Next time you give a phone call to the reception and they try to turn the bed however you want.

We send you many sunny spring greetings from Lucerne, Brigitte Heller, General Manager, Hotel MONOPOL Lucerne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

Rooms are spacious. Breakfast is also nice and has lot of options. Being a vegetarian i had options like cornflakes, fruits, crossiant breads, juices etc. Metro and train station is few mins away. Restaurants and shops are also very nearby. There is no AC but fan is available. Very good place for stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vinay_galactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

You would expect a four star hotel to offer the services that they advertise on platforms like Trip Advisor etc ... Room Service?!? We decided to make use of Breakfast-Room Service and filled in our Menu which was placed in the information file which was in the room. When we called, they informed us that they do not have room service and cannot bring us any breakfast. There is also no kettle or coffee in the room?!? The stay is not all bad, staff at reception is very friendly and hotel is close to the station, but I do not think that this hotel deserve a four star given the lack of certain amenities that you would expect to be a given in a four star hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anthonette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Manager at Hotel Monopol Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Dear Anthonette B,

Thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel **** MONOPOL Lucerne and that you have taken the time to give us your valuable feedback. Every comment is very important for us.

We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies.
Thank you very much for your kind feedback about our staff at reception. Our very nice location directly next to the train station (no taxi), in the middle of the centre of Lucerne, close to the lake, famous Chapel Bridge, old town and at the most interesting place of Lucerne.

We are very surprised about your comments about the breakfast service. We do serve breakfast in the hotel room during breakfast time. We cannot understand what is happen. You called the reception or directly to the kitchen? We have a menu list in each hotel room where you can fill out your choices. We excuse us for this misunderstanding. In addition, we will inform all our staff about our Breakfast-room-service.

Our hotel MONOPOL Lucerne is a real 4-star hotel. We have the certificate from Euro star and Hotelier Suisse. Both companies have expressed to us the certificate that we are a true four-star hotel.

It is not necessary in four star Hotels to put in each room a kettle or coffee machine. We have very nice Deluxe Design rooms, which have a kettle and a coffee machine. Next time book a Deluxe Design room and then you will get all this. On the fourth floor, we provide a room with kettle, ice machine and Microwave.

Once again, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and therefore offer our sincere apologies. It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel MONOPOL Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards and happy Easter,

Brigitte Heller,
General Manager, NDS HF Hotelmanagement,
Dipl. Hotelier-Restaurateur SHV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018

We chose the Monopol due to its convenient location to the main train station, having flown to Zurich from Melbourne (via HKG) and transferring to the train service immediately.

Although we arrived much earlier than check-in time, our room was made available immediately, and we were very pleased to discover that our room was in the new section and the fit/finish of the room was 1st class. So much so, that I took pictures of the bathroom fittings with a view to actually upgrading our own bathroom at home with similar items.

The bed/mattress was really comfortable, as were the pillows. We managed to avoid any jetlag by sleeping well each night.

The rooftop bar has fantastic views across Lake Luzern (Lucerne) and the cocktails are very interesting too. (Try the Cpt. Jack Sparrow!)

From the hotel, you can access the public transport options and also a range of good shopping by taking the escalator below street level, right outside the front door.

If you want McDonalds or Starbucks (not that I'd recommend either) they're within the hotel walls at street level.

The buffet breakfast is far broader than many European options and a great start to any long day of touring. If you're planning on having toast, start first with the toaster and select other things while you wait (it is a little slow to cook, and there is only capacity for two slices at a time).

Finally - the staff could not be more helpful or accommodating, though this trait seems consistent with every Swiss national we encountered.

The only things we thought might be improved (and these are such minor matters it is almost churlish to mention) - the availability of an iron/ironing board is not broadcast anywhere, and it would be handy to have after a long travel period and clothes crushed in a suitcase. Also - the Nespresso capsules did not get a top-up while we were there (3 nights), and we only had one small block of soap to share between shower and basin. While we tend to carry our own soap on most trips, on this holiday we have had to minimise weight at every opportunity and had intended to rely on hotel soap this time. Instead we went to the local Coop (small supermarket) and purchased some.

Nevertheless, the time at the Monopol has spoiled us for the other hotels we have booked on our European tour this Spring. If we were to return to Luzern this is definitely where we would stay again.

Room Tip: The new extension (adjacent apartments converted) is terrific
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lfandsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018

Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel is right across from the train station which is very convenient. Beautiful rooftop bar with views of the city and Lake Lucerne. Our room (606) also had views of the lake. Our room was large with a mini fridge and nice sitting area. Very clean and nice bed. Great location. Wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sacman43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews