We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and friendly hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Continental-Park Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Continental-Park Hotel
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Dronninglund, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Stayed for 3 nights and was very satisfied. The room was stylishly designed and had great space for one person - and a desk! The internet access worked flawlessly and it was convenient close located to the train station (where I had to take the train every morning for a conference). Great breakfast, really friendly staff and fast room service (although I felt it was a bit too much pasta and pizza only on the menu).

The bed pillow was a bit too hard and too high, but I managed to get some sleep anyway. The road outside can be a bit noisy at times, even during night.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    223
    50
    19
    11
See reviews for
105
194
22
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Negaunee, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

We based out of this hotel for 1 week with a group. The location is amazing! Directly across from the train station, boat docks, short walk to the tower bridge, old town, etc. The staff was AMAZING, especially our main waiter Alvin, who oversaw our daily breakfast buffet & the Friday's group dinner. The rooms are small, but clean, extremely quiet & we had a small balcony overlooking a quiet street. The bed & duvet was so comfortable. Shower was very nice....excellent shower head. Restaurant, piano bar attached to the hotel. Nice group sitting room on the 1st floor where we could gather to visit, play cards, etc. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank splindenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
continentalpark, Owner at Continental-Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Thank you for your kind message, we are happy you liked our hotel and will be very pleased to welcome you a further occasion. Best wishes and kind regards.
Hotel Continental-Park Lucerne, Switzerland
Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

We asked for a non-smoking room and got a room (110) on the first floor that looked out the back over a lane which had 2 large garbage bins that serviced the back of the restaurant. This meant that we got the banging of bins and buckets for half the night and the staff would stand under your room window and smoke. This kind of defeated the smoke free quiet room theory. Don't get me wrong, the hotel is very nice and clean in a great location near the main train station, it was just the location of our room 110. We gave them the benefit of the doubt for 2 nights to see if it would improve but on the third day we had to complain and we hoped they would give us another room - not to be, the hotel was full, the staff were told not to smoke under our window but the noise continued. We left the next day. The hotel later claimed that they did offer us another room but it was on the day we were leaving - too late.
On a positive note if you can get any other room I believe you would really like this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcus202Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Forest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

This hotel is moments from the railway station and close to the pier and concert centre. It is a very short walk to the old town. There is no noise from the trains.

We booked a twin room (mother and daughter) and were told that we could have a big luxurious double bed. When we said that we did not want to sleep together we were told that we were being upgraded to another room. We were sent into the attic, into a room with a bathroom designed for someone disabled. The bedroom was bleak and bare and we had to try not to bump our heads on the roof. The beds were at least three inches apart. It looked like servants quarters to us. I did not make a fuss as we were not there for long and we wanted to get out and about. At night time in this room (610) there was a constant droning which might have been air conditioning..
The bathroom which included a wet room was fine though there were no net curtains or blinds for privacy. There were the main thick curtains and a light though. The towels would have been acceptable in a two star but were tiny for a four star. The cosmetics provided were just shower cream in a wall dispenser.
Both rooms were clean.

The buffet breakfast was good and suitable for all nationalities. The food at dinner was excellent and prepared for you with fresh ingredients. Service was very slow and haphazard. If you were unlucky you got a waiter/watress who could not understand English (our menu was only in English) so it was just chance what arrived or did not arrive. On the last night we gave up and left before finishing our meal.

My advice would be that until they have sorted out their problems it might be best to look where this hotel is and choose another one nearby. If you have already booked it is clean and convenient and you might get a better experience than us.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

Stayed half board for four nights. The hotel is accros the road from the side entrance of Lucerne railway station.It is only a few minutes walk from the lake and the boat piers. The buses all go past/to the railway station. The chapelbridge is only five minutes walk from the hotel with the old town on the other side of the bridge. Most of the old town is shops.

We had a sixth floor room - this was the top floor which meant that the roof angled at either side of the window. The room was very bland and not many facilities for a four star hotel. We arrived to no soap in the bathroom!
The room was clean and spacious. We had a wet room as a bathroom. We were given this room beacasue we wanted two separate beds and were told we were being given an upgrade. We did not feel convinced by the upgrade bit.

The breakfast was a buffet to help yourself. There was the option of scrambled eggs as well as cereal, bread (no toaster), a range of fruit juices and boiled eggs.

The evening meal was freshly made but the delay between courses could be up to 30 minutes. Not all the staff understood a lot of English and this caused problems when ordering. I recomend eating late so that you have done everything you want to in the day becasue there may not be time afterwards.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atyclb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at this hotel in June along with another couple we were traveling with. We all enjoyed our stay. The staff were helpful, professional, and willing to help with any questions. Our room was supposed to be a king bed, with Mt Pilatus view. We actually had a queen with no view of the mtn. The staff were willing to immediately change our room, but we opted to stay in the room we had. It was large, comfortable, well air conditioned, had a little balcony with a view of the park across the street. Our friends were on the top floor in the wellness room and they had the mtn view along with the exercise equipment. Since it was raining most of our Lucern visit, no one really could see the mtn. We did hear the bells from the bell tower, which were lovely and did not disturb our sleep. The sheets on the bed were short, as mentioned in other reviews. We figured it was a Europe thing and dealt with it, Our shower was excellent! Glass enclosed, great water pressure. Our electrical adaptor did not work in the bathroom so the staff came up to our room and gave us a workable adaptor for our stay. The internet wireless in the room was free and worked perfectly! TV channels were the usual BBC, CNN, but reception was clear and was on a nice flat screen, wall mounted. The in room safe was wonderful and big enough to hold my small netbook computer. The location of this hotel was terrific. Walk out of the back of the train station, cross the street and there's the hotel! Couldn't be more convenient. The hotel's directions explain where to exit the train station for the closest way to the hotel. We ate breakfast in the hotel both mornings. It was buffet style with order your own style eggs. Very nice, hot food was hot, fresh fruit, juices, cereal, pastries.
On check out day, we stored our luggage with the hotel, went to church, wandered around, picked up baggette sandwiches in the train station and came back to the hotel, went upstairs to the lounge and ate our lunch, killing time til it was time to catch our train. We would definitely stay here again. Prices for the hotel were comparable to others in Lucern. It was easy walking distance to the bridge, lots of restaurants, the Stadkeller, and shops.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJMomMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

perfect location for visiting the Lucerne concert hall, quiet, excellent kitchen, parking. located only 100 metres from the Lucerne train station. he covers on the bed were too short. It was too expensive. I am not happy to see the man in front of me check out and only paid 190 for his double room. Not the best value for money u can get in Europe.

elegant bath and plenty of space for 3 persons; short walk to the old bridge and old town. excellent Italian restaurant frequented by local Lucernites.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AbhishekG_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 km away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.4 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#11 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.2 km away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#12 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#10 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental-Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental-Park Hotel

Property: Continental-Park Hotel
Address: Murbacherstrasse 4 | 6002 Luzern, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#12 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#21 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Continental-Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The individual and seminar hotel Continental-Park is a modern and stylish establishment, family-owned, characterized by personal commitment and human warmth. Free W-Lan/WiFi with unlimited broadband throughout the hotel. Private garage. Excellent location opposite station and city park, 2 to 3 min. Walk to KKL and lake. 92 Bright, elegant and quiet rooms with air condition provide a feeling of wellbeing. The furnishing is impressive and deliberately adapted to the guests requirements. The well thought-out seminar and conference facilities impress with generous rooms, with a total of 460 sqm, without pillars, with flexible walls, daylight, expert advice and professional care. We are always on the ball when it comes to helping with the accompanying programme.In the "bellini Ristorante Ticinese" we take our guests to present-day Ticino. Here, you can enjoy original dishes and fine wines in a dignified atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Continental-Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Park Lucerne
Hotel Continental Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing