We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Restaurant Les Artistes: fine location, bad service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palace Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palace Luzern
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Restaurant Les Artistes: fine location, bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

In some place, you have to beg and to wait for receiving the bill, in spite of its high amount. "Les Artistes" belongs without any doubt to this category. Number, style and skills of the waiters / waitresses unsufficient.
Food was good but nothing special. Gaspacho quite ordinary. Menu with "Flammekueche" (a kind of alsatian tiny pizza) is not a bad idea, but a bit ridiculous for a place of this alleged standard. The same with the "Fish'n chips" for 39 CHF (45 USD).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pimlico032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceLuzern, Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor from 25th August 2011.

We are sorry that we were not able to meet with your expectations during your stay at our Restaurant "Les Artistes". The restaurant Les Artistes is our second restaurant and an addition to our gourmet restaurant "Jasper". The Les Artistes' menu offers a range of international dishes that offers the guest the possibility to enjoy just a quick meal or a whole menu.

The Les Artistes' concept is not to establish a second fine dining location, but to offer our guests a place, where they can enjoy a meal of high product quality in an easy and uncomplicated setting. However, that does not mean, that services has not to be professional and we apologize that the Les Artistes team was not up to their task during your visit.

We hope, that we have the chance to welcoming you again at the Palace Luzern in the near future and stay at your disposal for any further questions.

Raymond Hunziker
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    148
    56
    12
    18
See reviews for
191
474
29
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

I want to recommend the staff at the Palace Hotel for any business conference needs. They were all highly professional and had a "Can do" attitude. I conduct numerous business leadership programs in Europe per year, and the staff at the Palace made our stay one of the best!
I highly recommend Georg, Head Concierge and the team Ulrich and Daniel. Stefanie Thiele as Event Manager was fantastic and responsive. At breakfast, Sabine continued to look after us in such an attentive way.
What a great experience!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PsychBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

I would like to thank Daniel Friedrick! I wasn't a guest at this beautiful hotel but a friend of mine was. I asked her to bring me back a certain kind of mints. She was not having any luck with them and decided to ask for help! Well not only did Daniel step in, he tracked them down for her!!! WOW! She was so happy that he found them, he even posed for a photo with the mints that she sent on to me.

Daniel you went above and beyond and you made a ex Swiss resident very very happy!
Thanks for going above and beyond!
Much Appreciated!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aprilleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

What a beautiful location...relaxing ambience….great food...very comfortable rooms….would be even better once they finalize AC installment to all guest rooms.
I highly recommended this venue for conducting executive seminars.
Why? Highly professional staff. As you focus on content ….there is nothing pertaining logistics to worry about.

All the staff was great, including:
• General Manager Markus W. Iseli
• Concierge team (Georg Kaesler and Daniel Friedrich) …who always went above and beyond taking care of participants
• Kongress & Event Manager (Stefanie Thiele and Daniel)
• Front desk (Catalina)


Thanks Palace Lucerne Team!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zhern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay, India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Stayed for 3 nights at the Palace, Hotel Lucerne.A great experience.

The location : Easily accessible from the Station (Routes 6 and 8 drop you right outside the Hotel). On the lake front , with a gorgeous view as you walk along the promenade.

The Hotel : Five star, though I would not call it luxurious. The common areas (the restaurant Les Artistes etc) are impressive. The foyer though, is small. Tiny reception. Certainly not the place if you expect a large reception area where one can lounge on sofas and watch life (and other guests) pass by.

The Rooms : Nice. Molton Brown toiletries in the bath. Tea maker available on request.

Sleep quality; Although ours was a double room, the bed has two single matresses instead of one double. This means that there is a kind of "valley' towards the centre of the bed where the two matresses meet. Each person will have to keep to their sides of the bed! Very strange for a 5 star property.

The view: Ours was a "city view" = not much of a view.

The Breakfast : Sumptuous. Strongly recommend their "Birscher Muesli". Lovely view of the lake from the Breakfast room. One grouse though - for a hotel of this standard one would have expected tiny individual bottles of preserves, but these were missing.

My grouses:
1) The Hotel issues just one key card per room , even for a double occupancy ! Could be restrictive. All other hotels that I have visited issue two such cards.
2) I had requested for a tea maker in my room by e-mail. Found a nice set of tea bags on arrival, Strangely, the cups and saucers disappeared on the next day, while the tea maker stayed. Surely, any one who used the teas maker would need the crockery! had to call up house keeping thrice to get the crockery back in my room. Had my own tea bags and requested for some dairy whitener, but nothing forthcoming despite a series of calls.
Inexplicable , for any hotel - leave alone a five star.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SameerBombay_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslingden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We found the hotel Staff friendly and helpful during our stay. We had a very nice, clean room overlooking lake. Excellent although pricey breakfast. Anyone who knows Switzerland will know they know how to charge and this place was no exception.

I also get very tetchy when a hotel of this calibre offers no free WiFi in rooms. Whilst their business centre provided the internet access we required (we just need to check our emails regularly).

The TV choice was, as usual on the continent, very limited for UK travellers offering the yawningly tedious News and Sports channels and not a lot else.

Overall - probably better for a business trip than a romantic getaway

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delgirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
184 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

I stayed here because it's sister hotel in Interlaken was so amazing, and I was hoping for the same experience here. I was disappointed with the service and the quality of my room. I was given a terrace room that was shared by the other guests, which made me feel uncomfortable as a solo woman traveler. My room was so hot I had the staff bring me a couple of fans before bed. The room amenities were not of high quality and it could have been cleaner as well. The offerings at the breakfast buffet were just OK, however the dining room itself was beautiful.

The best thing about this hotel was it's location, right on the lake, however the shopping and center of town is quite a distance to walk. I will definitely stay somewhere else if I get back to Lucerne.

Room Tip: Ask if the airconditioner is working if you are traveling in warm weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceLuzern, Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Dear Madam

Thank you very much for your feedback posted on trip advisor concerning your stay with us in May 2011. We regret you did not enjoy a perfect stay and apologize for not meeting your expectations to a 100%.

The rooms on the 1st floor are offering a view on the lake and mountains - what overall makes Lucerne so nice - and the possibility to enjoy this feeling by utilizing the wide terrace.
This width is generous but on the other hand, you are right: the terraces are not separated from one room to the other and this might give a feeling of lack of privacy.
Unfortunately not all rooms are equipped with A/C so far and some rooms need to be refreshed, a project that will be accomplished next year.

We are happy that you liked our Les Artistes restaurant and we are - actually this very moment - about to improve our breakfast offer.
Please feel free to share some suggestions or likings that may help us to meet our guest's expectations; any idea would be very much appreciated.
Should your travel plans bring you back to Lucerne one day, please do not hesitate to contact us personally in order ensure your valued feedback helped us indeed improving our services and offerings.

Kind regards

Raymond Hunziker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
1.2 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.1 km away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#12 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
2.7 km away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#21 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Luzern

Property: Palace Luzern
Address: Haldenstrasse 10 | 6002 Luzern, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Luzern 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lakefront Hotel with elaborately carved stone facade, rooftop cupolas & spires; within walking distance to Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Luzern Lucerne
Palace Luzern Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing