We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The essence of Luzern”
Review of Luz Seebistro

Luz Seebistro
Ranked #119 of 433 Restaurants in Lucerne
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Luz is an unpretentious place with a great terrace giving to the lake. From the terrace one reflects on the Lake, the boats coming and going and the old town in the distance. It is a great place to wait for a boat or for a train (the railway station is three minutes away across the road) over a good glass of Luzern wine (not well known but Luzern wines are worth trying!)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robert_bos53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavolago_AG, Geschäftsführer at Luz Seebistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Dear Robert
Thank you so much for your amazing review!
It is nice to read that you enjoyed your visit and especially the location with the beautiful view across the lake as well as a good glass of wine.

We would love to welcome you again at your next visit to Lucerne.

Best regards
Your LUZ-Team
Céderic Blaser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 154 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2018

Located right on the lake, across the plaza from the train station - this sweet little cafe serve decent coffees and sandwiches. We are here in the off-season so it was filled with locals. I can imagine it must be jammed during the summer. Terrific place to linger and enjoy the view.

Thank GOBEAVS96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavolago_AG, Geschäftsführer at Luz Seebistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Hello

Thank you so much for your amazing review!
It is nice to read that you enjoyed your visit, the food and beverages and especially the location with the beautiful view across the lake.

We would love to welcome you again at your next visit to Lucerne.

Best regards
Your LUZ-Team
Céderic Blaser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I found this place by accident our first night in Lucerne. We were both tired and hungry so we decided to have dinner not too far from our hotel. The fact that it was literally on the lake was a good reason for choosing it. The inside is really pretty with chandeliers and many panned windows, but we were lucky to find a table outdoors on the back deck with a beautiful view on the Lake. We both had sandwiches and wine all of which were delicious. We liked this place so much we returned a couple more times for drinks and sandwiches. This seems to be a lively place for gathering with friends. Great vibes even for us senior citizens!

Thank Rockport4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavolago_AG, Geschäftsführer at Luz Seebistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Hello
Thank you so much for your amazing review!
It is nice to read that you enjoyed your visit and especially the location and Food with the beautiful view across the lake.

We would love to welcome you again at your next visit to Lucerne.

Best regards
Your LUZ Team
Céderic Blaser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2017

Found this great place to eat right across from the train station. What made it magical was that it was right on the lake (literally). We don't normally eat burgers, but the Luz Burger (Angus beef burger with smoky BBQ sauce) and the Zander Burger (pike-perch fish with sour cream) seemed most appertising - and they were! Although expensive by Australian standards, we were in Switzerland, not Australia, so what the heck!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank phebianMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavolago_AG, Geschäftsführer at Luz Seebistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Thank you so much for your amazing review!
It is nice to read that you enjoyed your visit and especially the location with the beautiful view across the lake.
Most of our ingredients are being sourced from local suppliers, that are just as passionate about quality as we are. Also we only work with Swiss meat.
This is the reason for the slightly higher prices for some of our products.

We would love to welcome you again at your next visit to Lucerne.

Best regards
Your LUZ-Team
Céderic Blaser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017

I came here for a cup of coffee with my husband. The cappuccino was expensive (5.50 CHF each!) but the view was spectacular. I guess that's really what you're paying for. We spent enough time here that it was worth it, but if you're just looking for a quick coffee, this is not the place to grab it.

Also -- we were told that they did take credit cards, but when we were paying, our waitress demanded cash. Just FYI. This was one of our last spots on our trip and we were down to our last few Swiss Francs!

Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavolago_AG, Geschäftsführer at Luz Seebistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Dear Kate
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences of your visit to LUZ on this platform.
Most of our ingredients are being sourced from local suppliers, that are just as passionate about quality as we are.
This is the reason for the slightly higher prices for some of our products.
We are sorry they could not pay with credit card. For organizational reasons, we only start at CHF 20.00
We fully stand behind our decision to support the local economy and hope for your understanding.

Kind regards
Your LUZ-Team
Céderic Blaser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luz Seebistro also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Luz Seebistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing