We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable weekend rate”
Review of Beau-Rivage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Reasonable for the weekend rate, beautiful location and convenient to the old town.
Good size of superior room, nice view of lake. Reception and restaurant staffs try hard to please the guests but not yet up to 5* proficiency. Food just okay, but love the out-door bar setting and friendly service too. First time ever found few small black mildews in bathroom from a 5* hotel in Switzerland.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bruhlmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2010

I usually love this place but this year, it was a quiet disappointing stay at the Beau Rivage. Actually the only thing that was good is the breakfast staff and service on the terrace.

Check in was a mess, no one to show you your room (because of an Internet booking this time?) The room wasn't spotless as it should be with Swiss Deluxe Standards. Lots of dust, spots, etc. Our windows were left opened during the day, but at night, no one came to close them. As the light was on, i had hundreds of mosquitoes on the walls at 2am!
The breakfast food was terrible....

Bathroom amenities were poor, i had the impression that the Beaurivage was losing its standards.... maybe a bad period ( it was fully booked) but still that didn't leave me a good feeling. I will think twice before booking there next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank somablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

The hotel is located in beautiful old building. The rooms are very elegant and beautiful, adapted to the beauty of the building. Many rooms offer a fantastic view over the lake and towards the mountains. We had a delicious dinner in the restaurant and liked the breakfast buffet too. Probably one of the best values for a five-star hotel in Switzerland.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EHGZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

i stayed many times in this hotel because there are not many in the region. its big and comfortable. the rooms are nice and big. the service is okay and the location good. they also have a nice terrace in summer however with 10000 mosquitos to share with. its just fine but for me it lacks atmosphere and intimacy. you feel purely on a business trip. however, if you do not stay to long and only for business its fine.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peppinchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

overall the restaurant and bar are very good and the staff are helpful and friendly. The hotel itself is ok and what you'd expect, clean and fairly spacy, and the location of stunning (when it’s sunny) but the concierge was awful, unhelpful, arrogant and overall a very bad impression and quite annoying. It reminded me of the old Delta airhostesses ... a very unpleasant experience and for sure one which the hotel can (and should) easily remedy.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank arbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

I stayed at the Beau Rivage on a business trip. The hotel is an impressive building on the shore of Lake Neuchatel a short taxi ride from the train station. As you would expect the hotel in nicely decorated and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The room was large and well appointed consisting of a large comfortable bed, desk, couch, flat screen TV and a walk in closet. The desk was equipped with a good speed broadband connection. The room I was in was at the back of the hotel and due to the small windows and heavy curtains it was difficult to get natural light into the room.

The restaurant and bar overlook the lake and serve good quality food and wine. Breakfast consisted of a very large selection of hot and cold food of good quality and the coffee was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captainmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2007

I have stayed here on a number of business trips to Neuchatel.

I have found this hotel to be very sophisticated and stylish.

The rooms and bathrooms are huge, with all the trimmings of a five star hotel.

The view from the rooms looking over lake Neuchatel are truly amazing.

The restaurant serves great food and is to a Michelin standard.

I only have one complaint, regarding room service. I ordered sandwiches late one evening after the restaurant was closed and when they were delivered to my room, they were practically frozen. I never followed up on this with management, as it did not appear on my bill when I checked out.

I would recommend this hotel to any business traveller, but not for vacation purposes.

Stayed: November 2006
Thank fego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Neuchatel hotels
0.5 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Beaulac
3.3 km away
Hotel Palafitte
Hotel Palafitte
#1 of 12 in Neuchatel
588 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#6 of 12 in Neuchatel
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel de l'Ecluse
Hotel de l'Ecluse
#7 of 12 in Neuchatel
83 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel-Restaurant La Maison du Prussien
0.3 km away
Hotel Touring au Lac
Hotel Touring au Lac
#8 of 12 in Neuchatel
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau-Rivage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau-Rivage Hotel

Address: esplanade du Mont-Blanc 1, Neuchatel 2000, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Neuchatel > Neuchatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Price Range: $381 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beau-Rivage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury five-star Superior Beau-Rivage Hotel in Neuchatel enjoys a privileged position on the popular Esplanade du Mont-Blanc promenade beside Lake Neuchatel. The hotel enjoys spectacular views of the lake and the Bernese Oberland Alpine chain and is within a five-minute walk of the historic city centre. In addition to the 66 stylish and spacious rooms and four suites, the hotel offers a restaurant called O'terroirs, a Veranda Bar and two well-tended outdoor terraces with bar, lounge and restaurant. As well as a B-Spa, a cellar and six conference rooms. The hotel is member of Relais & Chateaux and the Swiss Deluxe Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beau-Rivage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing