We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenery wonderful but carriage outdated”
Review of Bernina Express

Bernina Express
Ranked #15 of 948 things to do in Swiss Alps
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The most spectacular way to cross the Alps: the Bernina Express from Chur / Davos / St. Moritz - Valposchiavo - Tirano links up regions with different languages and cultures. This is not a rack railway and the train winds its way gently through splendid scenery. On the highest railway across the Alps, the Bernina Express climbs up to the glistening glaciers before descending to the palms of Italy far below. This rail link between Northern and Southern Europe builds bridges between regions with different languages and cultures. The railway is unique, blending ideally with the alpine landscapes around the Albula and Bernina Passes. The train negotiates the 55 tunnels, 196 bridges and inclines of up to 70 per mille with ease. At the highest point on the RhB, 2,253 metres above sea level, you will find the Ospizio Bernina. Here, visitors can delight in the cultural and natural surroundings and enjoy the Alps at their most impressive.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

You see wonderful scenery travelling in the Bernina express. We went from Chur to Tirano. Travelling first class was relaxing and enjoyable and the staff were very nice. However, after also travelling on the glacier express and Gotthard express, I can say the bernina express’ carriages have seen much better days. They had a ‘need replacing ‘ look about them. Also, no points to recharge items, no free wifi. Whilst they boast about being able to listen to their on board commentary, they have the temerity to charge 2 chf for earplugs! Fortunately, I still had my the earplugs provided for free, from the glacier express.
Nevertheless the scenery still was lovely

Thank gohawkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"st moritz"
in 204 reviews
"first class"
in 112 reviews
"train ride"
in 116 reviews
"lake como"
in 66 reviews
"panoramic windows"
in 65 reviews
"alp grum"
in 52 reviews
"take photos"
in 44 reviews
"day trip"
in 51 reviews
"both sides"
in 30 reviews
"local train"
in 25 reviews
"breathtaking views"
in 31 reviews
"bucket list"
in 19 reviews
"two hours"
in 26 reviews
"large windows"
in 19 reviews
"red train"
in 17 reviews
"return trip"
in 23 reviews
"panoramic train"
in 15 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 1,870 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely day at the Bernina Express from Chur to Tirano. The seats are comfortable and the windows goes all the way up to the roof, so you can see every detail in the beatiful landscape. We even had a stop at the highest top, so we could go outside to take pictures.

Thank Isilwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I recommend the Bernina Express. We had a lovely trip to St Mortiz from Tirano. We enjoyed the views and the free web portal was very good. We enjoyed the German traditional music from the portal :) It was very romantic.

Unfortunately coming back we had reserved seats next to a tour group of senior citizens. An elderly lady refused to move from our seats, even though we had paid extra for window seats! We were squashed within this tour group although half of the train was empty.
Their group tour leader was useless and did nothing, he told the lady that she had the right seat.

We did not want to fight but it was not fair that we had paid extra and this ruined a beautiful train journey. I would recommend first class to avoid this situation, especially if you were on the train journey for a special occasion.

I believe this situation would have been avoided if there were more staff on the train. On the first journey we had a lovely hostess on our carriage, but coming back their was only a bar.

In the end we moved to an empty seat, but this could have been avoided if the seating was better organised.

Thank Sibel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhaetischeBahn, Railservice at Bernina Express, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Allegra, dear Sibel

Thank you for your feedback.

Unfortunately, in this case it is very difficult for us to pursue all this, because we have neither a date nor a train.

We are very sorry, that you have had these experiance but we are glad to hear, that the Bernina Express was a good journey.

For further information we are on your duty – 7 days a week by e-mail on railservice@rhb.ch or by phone on +41 81 288 65 65.

Kind regards
Rhätische Bahn AG
Railservice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bernina Express also viewed

Chur, Canton of Graubunden
Chur, Canton of Graubunden
 
Chur, Canton of Graubunden
Maienfeld, Canton of Graubunden
 

Been to Bernina Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing