We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same time next year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Same time next year”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My wife & I have stayed at the Gstaaderhof almost every year since the early 1980's so they must be doing something right. And indeed they are. We like: friendly management and staff; clean comfortable and quiet rooms; the vey Swiss cuisine; the cows that parade past in the morning and gently awake us from our alpine slumbers. So what’s not to like ? The exchange rate means that this year we may just have to miss out on our Autumn hiking week (do look out for the great value packages on offer). Gstaad itself is a tad limiting in what it can realistically offer any but the more affluent visitors or those undemanding of night-life. Still do try shopping in the small village stores, and stock-up with a picnic from the Co-op, absolutely compulsory if you're planning a day out up the many cable car lifts to the Alpine plateaux.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beezkneez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    86
    19
    2
    6
See reviews for
58
107
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This hotel is located literally 1 minute outside the old town. The rooms are large with comfortable beds and clean bathrooms and the ones to the back have lovely views over the mountains.

The breakfast is lovely and the dinner at the hotel is excellent (a la carte) and is good value compared to Rialto (a very expensive and not better in terms of quality restaurant in Gstaad old town).

The down side is that the decor does scream a little of the 1980s in some areas - but this really is a small thing.

Reception are friendly, I liked how the chap who ran the place would walk about and greet people and check if they were having a good time.

I think if I were to stay in Gstaad, I would very likely stay here again and eat here, too.

Tip: we went for the Yehudi Menuhin Festival and were there for the first night's cocktail party where there was Perrier Joet flowing - it's really a great atmosphere and probably the only free event in Gstaad/Saanen. The concert was wonderful, too - but beware, for us Londoners, at 145 CHF, it was rather dear. The Yehudi Menuhin Philosophy walk was wonderful and from the top of the mountains, the views are stunning (as in so many parts of Switzerland).

There are rather a lot of 'hooray henrys' in Gstaad, so beware. And it certainly is not a budget destination. The Golden Pass is lovely, too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller88888london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Conveniently located near the central pedestrian area, Gstaaderhof Hotel was a good choice for a long weekend visit to Gstaad.
The professional welcome was reinforced by a comfortable and well appointed room. The somewhat elongated shape incorporates bathroom, comfortable bed area and sitting areas plus a wide, South facing balcony overlooking local chalets.
Fittings are good quality, but refurbishment will be necessary in a year or two.
The hotel has a good restaurant and an excellent and professional service team who dealt with our needs in a very competent and engaged manner.
Breakfast was good, albeit nothing special and the evening meal well presented and tasty (bar one indifferent lamb fillet) ~ reasonable price.
The internet connection in the rooms is via paid cable, but there is free wifi in the lounge .
The hotel has an underground carpark and is close to the railway station and the two main ski lifts from Gstaad.
Because of the rise and rise of the Swiss franc the hotel is expensive, as is Gstaad, but local activities are so well organized and so varied that this cost can be forgiven.
Recommended

Room Tip: Request rear facing balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed at the Gstaadterhof for 2 nights. The rooms were of decent size and very clean. All rooms have a balcony and a spacious bathroom including bathtub. The furniture is solid and has next to the beds a sofa and a couch table and a chair and a desk. The beds in our double room were two single beds, pushed together. Each The design is a bit to frumpy for my taste (a lot of wood, a beige carpet and terra cotta red sofa and cushions). On the plus side does the room provide a spacious mirrored cabinet and a wardrobe with enough space to nicely store all your cloth away, so you don't have to live out of your suitcase.
The hotel has a large wellness area. In the wellness area, the sauna is free, the rest is not. If you want to use the sauna no reservation is necessary, but you need to tell reception 45min in advance to allow them to heat it up.

Breakfast is generous and focussed around continental breakfast. A huge variety of bread and rolls and good quality cheese and cold cuts are provided next to cereals, fruits and yoghurt. Fried, scrambled or poached eggs with ham or bacon are available upon request.

The restaurant belonging to the hotel is really good. The food is superb and the prices very reasonable (for Gstaad). Especially the menues are of great value. It must be one of the handful of restaurants in all of Switzerland where you will find a fully vegetarian 5 course menu offered. The portions are really big too.
The only downside is the sometimes weird humour of the staff. It is not unsual for them to make a jokes at rather unexpected times.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rootero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Just stayed at the Gstaaderhof for one night last week. Nice hotel, good location in the centre. Did not use much of the facilities but would say this is a good alternative if you look for something close to the centre of the village and the pedestrian area.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baanbellerive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We had the unexpected opportunity to extend a Swiss business trip for a few days and wanted to visit the Gstaad region. Nothing is inexpensive in Gstaad, but the Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel seemed to provide the best balance of cost versus amenities. I must say we were very pleased with our decision. Much of what made our stay pleasant were the personal touches provided by the staff.

This started with our early arrival. Even though we didn't expect it, they were able to provide us with a clean room, which was great since we had been traveling since early morning. The room itself, while small, was clean, well furnished (bed was fine), and bright. We had no problems with sound from other rooms. Internet in the room was free.

The main focus of our visit to Gstaad was to hike. The substantial breakfast (extra at the time of booking) was a good value (tough to find in Gstaad). Between the breakfast and picking up half-price (day-old) pastries in Gstaad, we were well-fueled for our daily travels.

As a side note, we found the Gstaad Easy Access card a great bargain--36 CHF/3 days of public transportation was definitely a value compared to paying per ride. Even though many of the cable cars were not operating (late May) we still got our money's worth from the buses and rail travel.

The hotel's "Wellness Center" was great after a day of hiking. The sauna and steam room are well done and clean and, together with relaxing afterwards, were a perfect way to finish a day of hiking.

Even our departure was well-handled by the hotel. We departed well before breakfast started, but the night porter was able to gather up a reasonable breakfast (and coffee) for us (eaten in the dining room), and then insisted on driving us to the train station. (Though it would have been an easy (10') walk.)

All-in-all a very pleasant and comfortable stay. I feel that we got our money's worth, especially since we were Americans traveling in Switzerland with a very weak dollar.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEE_and_ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

1. Room : Simple and Functional - they were clean, modern and functional with web-tv in each room and a small sitting area with a small terrace (enough for 2 chairs and a table). The bathrooms were a little bit of a let down duw to their size but at least the showers were good and strong.

2. Food (half board) : Whereas breakfast is nothing astounding (except for the bread rolls, which are simply superb), the half-boar dinner is astounding. A 4-course meal (choice of 2 starters, a soup, 2 mains, desser or cheese) every night and the quality was on par with anything I've easten at the Palace, etc in Gstaad. Quality of meat was 1st-rate with Barberie Duck, Roasted Beef, etc all making appearances. At no point did you feel like you were getting a second-rate meal as you were half board. Furthermore, the Raclette and Fondue restaurant in the basement is amongst the best available - definitely try the champagne & truffle fondue. Definitely 5-star.

3. Location - not on the main pedestrian area but 2 minutes walk away. Gstaad isnt a ski-in ski-out town but the hotel has a ski bus service and the towns free ski-bus stops directly outside. Furthermore, tyhe hotel has a loarge garage underneath.

4. Kids - made to feel most welcome, especially at the fantastic restaurant. There is a billiards room, a young kids play room and an older kids play room. The staff were very helpful.

5. Service - also impecable at a 4-star level. Not as good as a good 5-star but impressive considering the bargain price point.

Summary - this hotel is excellent. The only let down are the slightly boxy rooms nad the small bathrooms but this is reflected in the price. We have lready booked to go back next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reallyreallyfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
2.8 km away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#6 of 21 in Gstaad
101 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#4 of 21 in Gstaad
225 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
#9 of 21 in Gstaad
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
385 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Bernerhof Gstaad
Hotel Bernerhof Gstaad
#14 of 21 in Gstaad
129 reviews
3.2 km away
Hotel Solsana
Hotel Solsana
#16 of 21 in Gstaad
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Lauenenstrasse 19, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Gstaad
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gstaad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gstaad
#7 Family Hotel in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Gstaad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing