We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gstaad Palace Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Beautiful hotel, it is the perfect place for a getaway weekend. Even though I don’t speak Swiss German, all the staff spoke either English or French and they were all so friendly and helpful. The pool and outdoor area is where I spent my day sunbathing and relaxing with beautiful views of the Alps. I loved the decoration in the rooms, very warm with colors and furniture. The price per night is very expensive but it’s worth it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    33
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
53
115
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

This hotel is superb. I stayed there to attend the Roy Emerson tennis week (separate review). Everything about it was top notch - it has lots of character and style and is run very efficiently while retaining its heart. The room was nicely furnished with a south facing balcony overlooking the mountains. The service was faultless, the food excellent and the setting perfect. There are interesting details too such as proper room keys and safes that are at eyelevel and spacious. There is also a fantasic spa. You are paying for excellence and it is delivered - I will return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sagittarius_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

We enjoyed our lunch on the sunny terrace of the Gstaad Palace. Super friendly staff who quickly organized the club sandwiches the children ordered off-menu.
The lunch buffet was excellent, lots of fresh salads, a delicious small mushroom pastry and freshly prepared/sliced avocado. Best bit was the cheese board...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MarinaBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

We spent several days in gstaad palace this winter. Actually this 5 star hotel hasnt met fully our expectations. First of all it is considered to be a super comfortable and luxury ski hotel (not a business one), however I havent found any service to get to the ski lift except those for extra charges like taxi or ski instructor with his own car (often hotels at ski resorts provide such a delivery service which is very convenient). In addition the hotel ski rent doesn't provide with a good choice of equipment in line with high quality of the hotel, it's too shabby and old. The next thing I really didn't like is the breakfast: yogurts were like from the local supermarket in packages, no fresh natural yogurt, no fresh juice available, little choice, even omlette and eggs are for extra charge- that's 2 star maximum. Also I was a bit surprised with deception or slovenliness during the check out, everything that was paid at palace's ski shop appeared at final bill as unpaid. Afterwards when we shared our impression from the trip with our friends who stayed also at palace, we found out they had the same story with a bill. I honestly hope this is not a policy at the hotel to cheat clients following their wealthiness and as result inattentiveness in such situations. Except the above mentioned points, all other moments of our stay were at high level: excellent service, polite staff, nice food at dinners/suppers, good cleaning. To summarize this is not just a common hotel in the alps, but a house of leisure and relax offering a good choice of restaurants, spas and other services, but I question the value...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Katyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AScherz, Owner at Gstaad Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Dear Katyaa,

Many thanks for your constructive comments, which we also shared with Lorenz Bach who is renting our ski shop.

We are sorry to see that you were unaware that the hotel offers several shuttle services to the local ski slopes.

At breakfast, we refrain from serving fresh yoghurt for hygienic reason. However we took your comment at heart and provide now yoghurt with glass packaging and local yoghurt which are packet in a hygienic fashion. Omelettes and eggs are only at an extra charge if they are ordered to the room.

We investigated why you were charged twice the ski shop bill. There was a misunderstanding of names and room numbers between us and the ski shop clerk. We truly apologize for this incident. We would appreciate if you could share with us the name of your friend who had the same mishap. We are unaware of this incident.

Nevertheless, we hope that you will come back to the Palace on another occasion.

Yours sincerely,

Andrea Scherz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, U.K
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Regularly visit Gstaad for New Year. Went to the Palace (as on other occasions) for a drink, not on New Year's Eve. It was 10p.m and the main lounge bar had space available, however it was clear that as either non-residents, not Russian or Italian or not being prepared to hand over a hefty tip to get a seat, we were effectively dismissed from the hallowed ranks. I demanded a taxi and was told "we hope to welcome you back to the Palace" - never!!!The staff were extremely dismissive and clearly working for the highest immediate back-hander with no thought to what a distinctly seedy impression they create. Is it better if you stay in the hotel? I don't know and never will: as a matter of principle we will never visit this hotel again...I can only hope that the new Alpina hotel will open soon and hit the Palace hard

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sheena099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AScherz, Owner at Gstaad Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Dear Sheena099

Thank you for feedback regarding your last visit to the Gstaad Palace.

I am terribly sorry that you were disappointed by the fact that there was no table for you in our lobby. Unfortunately our lobby is relatively small and has only 20 tables. It is the favorite spot in the hotel of our guests and visitors. Specially over Christmas and new year the demand is extremely high. It is our policy to give priority to the hotel residents who pay a fair amount for their room and the facilities which come with the hotel. This is why at 10 pm you saw some tables empty ready for the hotel guest to have their after dinner drink.

However visitors are always welcome and we try our best to give them a table if if there is space available. Thanks for your understanding. And we looking forward to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely

Andrea Scherz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Reservation pack through the leading Hotels of the World. Excellent comprehensive and attractive web site for members. On hotel: Nice although somehow small room. Excellent personnalized welcome tray with wine and fruits. Impeccable cleaning. We were deceived by the restaurant though. Overloaded and to my opinion not well trained personnel. Food not above average. On breakfast next day we were seated on a remote room just the two of us as if we were punished! (On request we were allowed to change seats however). Also on the concierge (the very polite) staff gave us wrong directions for an event. Much to my surprise noone from the hotel followed suite to my (similar to above) remarks and complaints on my email to the LHW about this service that is spoiling such a fairytale beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AthensCostas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLehnort, Inhaber at Gstaad Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Dear AthensCostas,

Thank you for your taking time to write a feedback concerning your stay at the Gstaad Palace. We would like to apologize for your bad experiences with our restaurant and our concierge. Please rest assured that we discussed the matters, and we have found ways for improvement.

Nevertheless we hope that your overall good opinion of our property will encourage you to come again to the Gstaad Palace. We will be delighted to show you that these mishaps do not belong to our standard and that we can provide an impeccable service to you a second time.


Yours sincerely,
GSTAAD PALACE

Andrea Scherz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

The Palace in Gstaad is the best ski hotel that I have been to in Switzerland, and one of the best in the world! Great (friendly) service, great (varied) facilities, and amazing suites. It's pricey but well worth it. Here are some summary points:

- The service was super friendly as the hotel is mainly staffed by Italians, most of whom have been working here for donkey's years

- The facilities are plentiful. There is such a good variety of restaurants in the hotel that you really don't need to go into town much (from fondue to classic Swiss cooking). Most impressive is the Spa which has recently been renovated and has the most amazing outdoor jacuzzi which is more like a swimming pool due to its size. Imagine gazing at the stars twinkling above the mountains as you are massaged by the jet bubbles.. bliss...

- The suites (we stayed in a junior suite on the 6th floor) are some of the best I have ever seen, ski resort or no ski resort. Ours was around 600 square feet/55 sq meters and had a ton of windows all along the wall. So not only were we bathed in light but we were surrounded by the magnificent view of the village and the entire valley! Needless to say the suite had all mod cons!

A few final pointers:

- forget GreenGo, the nightclub. It's packed with kids from the nearby boarding school using their parents black Amex credit cards.. music is good but environment is a touch cheesy.

- be careful about getting a private guide for snow shoeing. We did this and were charged a ton.. much too much for a guy who basically takes you to a field where you walk around in the snow!

- look at going at a time which is slightly off-season. This will enable you to enjoy the hotel's off season packages. We did this and had a 3night for 2night package (free 3rd night).

All in all, one of the legendary ski hotels in the world. And for good reason...

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Titillator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
0.3 km away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.7 km away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.9 km away
Ultima Gstaad
Ultima Gstaad
#18 of 21 in Gstaad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
#7 of 21 in Gstaad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Solsana
Hotel Solsana
#16 of 21 in Gstaad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#9 of 21 in Gstaad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gstaad Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gstaad Palace Hotel

Property: Gstaad Palace Hotel
Address: Palacestrasse 28, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gstaad Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years the Gstaad Palace has earned an unrivalled reputation for discreet, refined hospitality, and has always welcomed the most discerning international clientele. Set on a hill overlooking Gstaad, the resort is privileged to offer a breathtaking view of the majestic Swiss Alps. The 104 tastefully decorated rooms include 19 junior suites, 4 suites, 2 Tower Suites and the most luxurious and sophisticated three-bedroom Penthouse Suite ever built in an Alpine resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Gstaad Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing