We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meat and views in the region. ”
Review of Sonnenhof

Sonnenhof
Ranked #2 of 55 Restaurants in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

Pricey, but worth every centime. The meat is out of this world, and the views are divine. Good service and dog friendly.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank sergeib985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 152 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful view and really delicious food. A little expensive but worth it! We would recommend going when it is light out so you can see the beautiful view. We walked up from town - it’s steep!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank mollyg547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

Excellent meal and appropriate value . Superb service and really tasty home prepared food. Will visit again

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank matt31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018

We have been coming to this restaurant for over twenty five years and it must have changed owners at least a couple of times over the years. In winter it is nice to eat dinner inside in a comfortable and cosy setting and in summer on the outside overlooking the Gstaad Valley and Schoenried the setting is quite spectacular. The food was excellent , well prepared and served nice and hot. Service could not be faulted and the owner passed by our table two or three times to enquire whether everything was to our satisfaction. One slightly negative comment is that we called to book a table one Saturday evening about 20.15 and were told quite abruptly to call back a couple of hours later to make our booking as they were right in the middle of the evening service.!! Either do not answer the phone please or else allow customers to leave a message requesting a table booking - this should keep everybody happy. Reading over many of the reviews my strong recommendation is to to try and avoid going to Sonnenhof on Friday and Saturday evenings when it is probably over busy and this may account for several of their somewhat negative reviews. If possible avoid very good restaurants on these two evenings as our experience is that the food quality and service sometimes falls off to a degree as the restaurant is may be overbooked and struggling to offer their usual quality.!!
The emince de veau a la creme was tender and delicious and the roesti was the best that I have eaten for some considerable time. The stuffed ravioli with mushrooms, the tuna carpaccio were also very good.
If you are in or near Gstaad on a summer day or skiing you must visit Sonnenhof you will enjoy a great meal and have a most enjoyable experience , I promise.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018

As usual, our family decided to have dinner at the Sonnenhof in August. We booked our table a few days in advance and arrived promptly at 7:30pm. To our great surprise, the restaurant terrace was packed full with many extra tables improvised left and right. It took the waitress 20 minutes to come to our table. While the first course arrived within 40 minutes, the main course was taking forever. When we eventually complained at 9:30pm, the spouse of the owner gave us an arrogant answer that they were full and had over 100 servings etc. We were somewhat surprised by the tone, when a simple short apology would have been sufficient, but that was too much too ask. Later, when we paid our bill, we tried to explain again that the service was slow, we were told that “our guests accept this”. Some 30 minutes later, around 22:30, the restaurant owner called us. Hoping that finally he found some common sense, he continued his wife‘s arrogant attitude and again was not able to apologise for the quality of the service, epitomizing the arrogance of this establishment. This is the last time we will be visiting this restaurant after some 30 years. Some people wonder if the Saanenland has lost its soul, well it looks like the Sonnenhof has.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank MarcErzberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing