We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing extraordinary”
Review of La Fromagerie

La Fromagerie
Ranked #29 of 55 Restaurants in Gstaad
Description: Typical Swiss dishes in a cosy setting. Why not come and try our legendary truffle and Champagne cheese fondue or a traditional raclette?
Restaurant details
Description: Typical Swiss dishes in a cosy setting. Why not come and try our legendary truffle and Champagne cheese fondue or a traditional raclette?
Reviewed March 5, 2018

A bit disappointed by our evening at La Fromagerie. Fondue was good but atmosphere did not impress us. We were sitting in a corner, squeezed between the bar and the buffet even though the restaurant was far from full. Service was quite "cold" and we felt both rushed and pushed by the staff. The place somewhat lacks the authenticity one is looking for when going out for a typical Swiss cheese dinner.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VBNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara B, Guest Relations Manager at La Fromagerie, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Dear VBNR,

Thank you for your sincere and as well as helpful feedback. We are very sorry that we could not achieve your expectations.

The good news is, that we have taken measures for this coming winter season and hopefully we can surprise you in a positive way.

We would be pleased to welcome you back starting the 21 December 2018 at our Fromagerie.

Best regards,
Barbara Branco-Schiess
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 29 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

My first bad review it is regrettable that it happens to be in a place that I know so well . So disappointed and disappointing . Overfilled Fromagerie we were squeezed between way too many tables and continuously pushed around by the waiters and other people coming or going to there tables , the service was miserable they could not have cared less .It took more than an hour to get our food a fondue that had not taste , they made a mistake in the order and forgot to bring our starters. No ice for our drinks apparently they had no ice cubes ...what can I say .. in a hotel as known as the Palace even on the 30 of December this should not happen. The only positive thing they offered us the wine. But still not a night to remember .

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank SylviaM1658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara B, Guest Relations Manager at La Fromagerie, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Dear Sylvia M,

We are very sorry to read what happened to you the 30 of December at our Fromagerie.

An evening such as described will not happen anymore. Next winter we will reopen the Fromageie with a face lifting and more space as well. You are absolutely right that it is not enjoyable to eat a fondue or raclette squeezed between too many tables. Please accept our sincere apologies for what happened to you at that night.

Thank you again for sharing you experience. With comments like yours, we can improve our quality.

We would be pleased to welcome you back at your place which you know so well

Best regards,
Barbara Branco-Schiess
Guest Relations Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2017

A group meal here - a fabulous Italian buffet starter followed by Fondue. Dipping new potatoes in cheese doesn't sound that great - but it was

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Gstaad,with the best and tasty fondue and raclette. Staff is very professional and the area is very warm. All dishes have excellent quality.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jetset-class
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2016

Good fondues, from cheese to Chinese. the place to meet the up and coming Gstaad visitors. Up to the standards of the Gstaad Palace, one of the best hotels in the world.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank carlovvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Fromagerie also viewed

 

Been to La Fromagerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing