We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We were on a tour with TItan tours for one week staying at the Schweizerhof. I think we were lucky in so far as we were allocated a room in one of the chalet blocks and were very pleased with the room. Plenty of space, a fine outside area with seating and a tremendous view. One quibble, while the bathroom was large and tiled throughout with a wetroom area for showering, the shower had no rubber mat nor hand holds and when you are 70+ a slippery floor is a hip breaking hazard and my wife refused to use the area opting instead for the shower over the bath. One further quibble - A five star hotel giving guests a plastic stirrer for their tea and coffee facilities. Come on Schweizerhof you could afford a metal spoon, aluminium if not silver.
One thing the hotel could do for us is send us a settee and some chairs from the lounge, they are beautiful and comfortable (at least give us the maker).

Room Tip: Go for a chalet room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank norman_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweizerhof3818, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Dear guests,

thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay with the Titan company. You have made some very good points, which we would like to answer in short as follows: regarding the anti-slippery mats - we have plenty of them in store if need be, so a quick call to reception would've resolved that. We simply do not put them in the bathroom prior to arrival since they actually do not necessarily fit the optics of the suite ;-) Regarding the spoons: we had to switch to plastic ones since every single metal spoon will be thrown away into the litter or taken from the room and never returned. After loosing 1'000 metal tea spoons within a week, we simply quit on offering a 5 star corresponding service there. Also being well aware that it would equally affect guests who would never dream of taking equipment of the hotel away for good. With the international clients and mentalities we sometimes have to make hard decisions which really go against our understanding of service hospitality.

Nonethless it is great to see that you have enjoyed yourselves so very much and again thank you very much for your highly valued feedback.

Kindest regards,
your hosts, family Anneliese & Otto Hauser-Seger!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2017

Me and my husband booked a tour holiday and this stunning wonderful hotel was our base for the duration of our holiday,
We were first given a room within a chalet - so our room was our own but the facilities - main sitting area - was shared. Which considering we didn't know the other couple staying in the other half of the chalet - was a bit strange. So we went to the hotel reception. We ended up speaking to the owner of the Hotel - wow! He could not have been more helpful! We explained our situation and he said - I will move you to another room. Try to his word - we moved the following day to a new and spacious room - an upgraded room I might add - oh my gosh - the room was stunning.....fabulous.....And best of all. - the room had the most breathtaking views of the mountains when we opened our curtains! Even writing this review now - makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up!
We were very well cared for and well looked after!
The hotel is an excellent base to explore the Jungfrau region. The Hotel is about 2 minutes walk from the Grindelwald train station and 5 mins walk to the main shopping area...and is about a 30 minute train to Interlaken - a must if you are visiting!
The hotel has a traditionally decorated restaurant which serves one of the best buffet breakfast...I always found that the staff were always polite and friendly and will do anything to help! We didn't stay here for the skiing - we were staying here to enjoy the wonderful different places you can visit and the sightseeing in the region - but we would definitely stay here again!!!!!
Thank you to the hotel for looking after us - a highly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EmstarManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweizerhof3818, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your recent stay with us here at the Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof. It is such a huge pleasure to read your feedback and to learn that you have had a whale of a time in the middle of the Swiss Alps! We are so glad that you have been able to make the most of it and that we have contributed to your lasting positive memories.

We have forwarded your feedback to all our staff who are the hand picked very heart and soul of our family run establishment. We are certain they will just as much appreciate your feedback on their daily contribution.

Again thank you so much for your stay and your feedback. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you once again with us soon - maybe even in winter time?

Kindest regards,
yours Anneliese & Otto Hauser-Seger
and our whole Schweizerhof team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

When we stayed as family at the Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof and had a chalet. The chalet offers a great space in which to relax, recharge and watch the world go by. It has an open-plan lounge and dining area with large bedrooms each with an adjoining bathroom. The complimentary toiletries are supplied as standard. Linen and towels are provided. This is the life!!. Everything is automated so when you walk in the doors open and the lights come on. Kinda cool.

Room Tip: Ask for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweizerhof3818, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your recent stay in Grindelwald and for choosing one of our luxury chalet accommodations. It is a pleasure to see that you have enjoyed yourselves so much.

We are looking forward to your next stay.

Kind regards
Yours Anneliese & Otto Hauser-Seger
and our whole Schweizerhof team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

Excellent base to explore Jungfrau region...Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof is 2 mins walk from the Grindelwald train station and 5 mins walk to the main shopping area...and 15 mins walk to the firstbahn...it has heated pool,steam sauna to spend your evenings indoors as all malls and shopping closes in Switzerland by 7pm...anytime better to stay in this scenic Alpine village than crowded cities like Interlaken which is only 30 mins train ride anyways if one wishes to visit...spacious room with balcony overlooking the breathtaking Eiger mountain...beautiful lobby and traditionally decorated restaurant which serves one of the best buffet breakfast...staff always ready to help...hoping to be back soon!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank dsv1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweizerhof3818, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof here in the beautiful village of Grindelwald.

It is such a pleasure to see that you have enjoyed your time in the breathtaking Jungfrau region and with us so much and that we have met your expectations.

Thank you for your great feedback which we have already shared with all our Schweizerhof team.

Kind regards and hopefully we will see you again very soon.

Yours Anneliese & Otto Hauser-Seger
and our whole Schweizerhof team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

From arrival to departure we have been well cared and catered for. We could not have asked for more. The staff, from housekeeping to front of house , to waiters and waitresses have been professional, attentive, friendly and courteous throughout.

Room Tip: A room is for sleeping. There is much to do within the hotel itself if the weather should be unkind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KLF123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweizerhof3818, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your recent stay with us here in the Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof in Grindelwald. It is such a pleasure to see that our services have met your expectations and have helped to make your Grindelwald vacation a very special one.

Kindest regards,
yours Anneliese & Otto Hauser-Seger
and all our Schweizerhof team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

We are just leaving this beautifully decorated hotel today and felt compelled to write a review immediately due to the outstanding experience we had during our four night stay. The service was wonderful from the moment we checked in to the moment we left. All staff members are happy, kind, & take note of you and your preferences for a truly customized experience.

Included in the rate is a very robust breakfast sure to please all palates. In addition to the buffet, they have made-to-order crepes, pancakes, and omelettes as well as various espresso, juice, smoothies and even champagne (score)! The hotel has a very calm/quiet & mature demeanor that catered to couples looking for a retreat (for reference, we are in the 30-40 year range and we did feel like most patrons were a bit older). We didn't get to enjoy the use of the pool and sauna because we were too busy exploring beautiful Switzerland!

Pros: Aside from the inclusive breakfast and friendly staff, the hotel is steps away from the Grindelwald train station (3 minutes walking) and from Grindelwald First (15 minutes). Grindelwald was the perfect place to base for us looking to see a lot of the B.O. area. Wifi was excellent- seamless and strong signal the entire time. The restaurant for dinner was exceptional and offered varied dishes that weren't too adventurous for my picky palate.

Cons: the only real con I can think of is that the room sometimes became very warm. We asked them for a fan (I am not sure they have A/C) but they instructed us to open the windows. We were okay with that as the mountain air was cool and dry, but some nights weren't quite cool enough. Also, the King bed is actually two twins pushed together. Not a huge deal but worth mentioning.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amberlyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweizerhof3818, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Dear guests,

wow, that is some feedback ;-)

Thank you so much for your kind words, a praise that we have printed out and given to all Schweizerhof team members today, the first labour day of June. What a great and kind thank you for the services and efforts of our staff, our "children of the Romantik family".

It is a real pleasure to see that we have been able to contribute to the success of your vacations in the middle of this breathtaking scenery of the Swiss mountains that you have enjoyed on your various trips.

Hopefully we will be able to host you once again as our appreciated guests, our family members. Until then, please fare well and enjoy the remainder of the year just as much.

With kind regards from your hosts, Anneliese & Otto Hauser-Seger
and all our Schweizerhof team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

We went to Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof with a team of 30 people. The hotel staff was always helpful and friendly, before and during our stay. What i liked a lot is that they were very flexible with the Check in of my group... 10 minutes after the arrival everyone was already checked in and in his room. The breakfast is to die for!! Fresh, varied and nice presented. Why not excellent? The Hotel is a little old-style.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nadine_Sch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweizerhof3818, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your kind and open feedback on your recent stay with your group.

So great to see that you have enjoyed your time here with us especially with the little spare time that your job offers (always on the run).

Kind greetings and hopefully we will be able to host you once again.

Yours Anneliese & Otto Hauser-Seger
and all our team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 km away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
995 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
606 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Kreuz & Post
Hotel Kreuz & Post
#12 of 41 in Grindelwald
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
852 reviews
0.8 km away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
2.1 km away
Aspen Alpin Lifestyle Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald

Address: Swiss Alp Resort 1, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#10 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $539 - $952 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More of Everything Your 5 stars Swiss Luxury Hotel, Romantik Hotel, Wellness / Spa Hotel, Conference Hotel in Grindelwald. Our Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald peacefully nested in beautiful gardens is only a short walk from the village centre. The ambiance here is outstandingly luxurious and comfortable. Connoisseurs of traditional perfection appreciate our friendly luxury service, our culinary highlights in the 3 restaurants "Alpterrassen", "Schmitte" and "Gaststübli", a unique Wellness / SPA with indoor pool, saunas and massages / cosmetic offers as well as stylish seminar and banqueting facilities. In unison with our credo - More of Everything! More Cordiality. More Personality. More for your Well-Being - you will not arrive as a mere guest, but as part of our Schweizerhof family gladly to be welcomed back home again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing