We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every second of our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sunstar, I haven't a negative word to say about the hotel or Grindelwald.

We had an Eiger view room which was clean and well equipped. The service, food, pool, bar and location were all excellent, if we go to Grindalwald again we'll definitely stay at the Sunstar.

The reception staff were probably the most informed and attentive I've ever experienced, thanks for an excellent break.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaKaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

Excellent location with stunning views of the surrounding mountains.

Rooms were well appointed and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle15780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Had a lovely stay in grindelwald, this is a lovely hotel with good facilities and for a fair price given the area. Though for us it was definitely all about the view! We could happily have spent hours on the balcony enjoying the views of the Eiger and surrounding mountains. We would definitely return here. The jungfraujoch although not the cheapest trip is definitely a must see while you are in grindelwald.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurdc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Well I feel like I hit the jackpot with the Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald. My wife and I stayed there 3 nights and wished it was 7.
The hotel is big as it has incorporated the hotel next to it but don't be put off by its size as it still feels intimate and welcoming. It has a fantastic swimming pool and health spar and on a sunny day you can sit outside on the loungers and lake in the view as the location of the Sunstar is stunning with the Eiger massif practically in its garden.
Across the road is the First Bahn gondola which I would recommend taking just for the views at the top. We had a junior suite overlooking the front of the hotel and the First gondola station. The room was huge with a separate lounge and bedroom. The big bonus with this hotel is the free bar fridge in the rooms. Each day it would be stocked up with beer, coke, water and orange juice. It was perfect at the end of the day to come back to the room and have a drink on the balcony and watch the world go by and at last a hotel with tea and coffee in the room, Hotel Nirvana!!
The staff are all very helpful and with a choice of menu the food was first class.
Grindelwald is not a big resort so I would recommend getting out and about by using the various cable cars and buses to see the area. Of particular note is the Männlichen Cable Car ( the longest in the world) up to the top station and then walk to Kleine Scheidegg and get the train back to Grindelwald. it is a very easy walk and the views of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau are stunning.
I have never found a hotel that has impressed me enough to want to return but the Sunstar at Grindelwald has and I look forward to going back one day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank thefamilyguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Our party of three (myself, my husband and teenage son) stayed here for 3 nights during the summer. I had booked a Junior Suite and we were extremely pleased with it - plenty of room with a double bedroom, separate seating area, and probably the most wonderful bathroom I have ever experienced in a hotel - dual sinks, large bath and luxury shower, lovely fluffy towels, robes and everything spotlessly clean. We had a really comfortable stay. Our Junior Suite had absolutely stunning views towards the north face of the Eiger, and we really couldn't have been more pleased.

The breakfasts featured plenty of choice - something for everyone and all very well presented. Spacious lounge and bar areas. The staff are courteous, helpful and unfailingly polite. We spent a few hours in the Spa area and pool which was very relaxing (and deserted when we used it).

Would definitely return to this hotel, and possibly try others in the Sunstar range.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the tradtional part of the hotel. The rooms at the rear overlook the beautiful gree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RushHourSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Spent 11 nights here on a half-board basis and were more than happy with it all. Very comfortable in the rooms although rather on the warm side at night due to the lovely weather and the 'winter' duvet!
The food was absolutely wonderful; well prepared, cooked and a great variety. Couldn't have asked for a better selection at breakfast and the 5 courses we had on an evening were often too much for us. Particularly enjoyed the Sunday night fondue meal. A logistical nightmare I can imagine but it didn't show. Staff were on the whole helpful and efficient and there was only one evening they fell short! Unfortunately, it happened to be our Silver wedding anniversary so was rather disappointing. Interesting to read that in another review someone was treated on their birthday but although they had been told by our travel agent, we got no recognition and had one of our most expensive meals in the hotel. We decided to treat ourselves to a bottle of wine which, at the current rate of the pound cost us 45 pounds!!
I would love to go back, both to the hotel and Grindelwald, but at the moment, with the Swiss franc so strong, we most definitely wouldn't, as everything is about twice the price of what it is in UK. On our way back to the airport in Zurich, we stopped off in Lucern where we had 2 pizzas and 2 cold drinks and that was the equivalent of 50 pounds!!! Grindelwald is one of the loveliest places I have ever been to and, if I could go back, I would certainly go back to the Sunstar hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing room to get the views of the Eiger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank depsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights and enjoe every minute!
we had the suit up at the 5th floor with the amazing view to the EIgger. the suit was comfortabble for the 4 of us (2 adults and 2 teenagers) and allowed us to rest, nap, play card, have snacks in the living room, etc...
The only thing that need to be improved isb Breakfast which sufferd with poor selection of vegetables, breads, and did not vary from day to day.
Go for it!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice123075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.9 km away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
970 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
582 reviews
0.1 km away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
841 reviews
0.8 km away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
0.7 km away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald

Address: Dorfstrasse 168, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $305 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This holiday and spa hotel is in an outstandingly panoramic location, quiet and central but with uninterrupted views of the famous North Face of the Eiger, Wetterhorn and First. Inside, the hotel is decorated with lots of warm wood, and the spacious lobby has an open fire, creating a cosy atmosphere. The large, comfortable bedrooms with their light wooden furniture are perfect places to relax in. Those in certain categories have a balcony. The half-board "Ambiance" restaurant has picture-perfect views of the mountains, tempting you to linger and eat to your heart's content. Gourmet diners are also superbly catered for in the à-la-carte "Adlerstube" restaurant. In the spa centre, you'll find all kinds of ways to unwind: try the large swimming pool, the Finnish sauna, the Roman baths with four climate zones, the hydro-massage showers, the solarium or the rest room. The hotel also offers an attractive range of sports, from a fitness centre to aquagymnastics and aerobics. If you take your holidays in the glacier village of Grindelwald, you'll have the opportunity to enjoy all the many and varied activities that are available in the Jungfrau region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grindelwald Sunstar Hotel
Sunstar Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Grindelwald Hotel Sunstar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing