We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic accommodation at a reasonable price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sonne
Ranked #40 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Basic accommodation at a reasonable price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

We stayed at Hotel Sonne for 3 nights and found it adequate. It is in walking distance to town. Interlaken is a fantastic town. We found the room to be spacious and basic but it had all we needed. We had a balcony overlooking the mountains which was nice. We were a little suprised that we were only given coffee and tea for the first night as a 'welcome pack' and had to pay .40 cents? per sachet after that. We found Peter welcoming and helpful. For the cost we found the accommodation adequate.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macster03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    25
    15
    10
    15
See reviews for
14
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

We booked this hotel for honeymoon. We stayed there for 2 nights. Hotel is located 3 stops away from the railway station and has a halt for the buses. The room had all the basic amenities. It was simple and comfortable. The scenic view from the hotel corridor was adorable and enticing. Breakfast was good and fresh. The hotel also provides a free bus pass to roam around in Interlaken. The hotel staff was very ameable. I would surely recommend this.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SireeshaKiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

we went their for our honeymoon and and came to know abt this hotel through a reference.
the hotel is centrally located in interlaken and along with the interlaken card, which the hotel provides as complimentary, the whole of interlaken can be enjoyed without any hassles.
the hotel amenties and the services are impressive with good varities in breakfast.
we got what we were promised

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gkk207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at this Hotel, as part of a two centre holiday provided by Inghams.
The Hotel is on a very busy main road, and the traffic starts at 6.00 a.m.! Ask for a room at the rear, but you have view of the local Ice Rink.
The food was poor. I have eaten better in a transport cafe. Sliced, deep-fried Spam, described as Pork, the same soup offered on 4 nights out of seven, dried potato croquettes straight out of a freezer bag.
Nobody ever on reception to give advice on the locality, and a miserable owner, add up to an unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Biasbowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Interlaken hotels

Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

good little hotel warm and friendly staff we had a very pleasant stay .Food was of a good standard .clean and tidy room was basic but that is all you need in this fantastic country. Well situated for traveling to all tourist attractions the local bus and train services are second to none over all a great little hotel will definateley stay there again .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newsioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmiel, Israel
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

If you want double bed, order "french bed"
If you have accessibily problems(climbing up the stairs) , specify that you want a room in the building with the elevator.
DO NOT AGREE to stay, even 1 night, in the rooms that are located in the building of hotel Tell.
The rooms that are in the original building(with the elevator/lift) are MUCH BETTER
The breakfast is continental, of course...
Hard to get to the hotel from the rail stations by public transportation, far from the center... no view...
And the owner is not a pleasant man...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcotliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

A few dodgy reviews on here but I found the hotel fine. I booked a single room but was given one with 2 beds in it,probably used as an emergency twin as it was a bit small for 2 but adequate for me, the other double rooms seemed plenty big enough. Had a half board option which was a great choice as a) the 4 course meals were excellent, plenty of good home cooked food and that with the adequate "continental" breakfast kept me going for the day, and b) the average cost of a meal in these parts seemed to be about 25chf. About 10-15 mins walk into the centre. Bus stops within 1 minute walk, caught the bus to Wilderswil,about a 5 minute bus ride, drops you off at the station and only a few mins wait for a train to the mountain villages etc so good location and decent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vick99_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.1 km away
The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort
The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenh...
#1 of 1 in Matten bei Interlaken
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Crystal Interlaken
Hotel Crystal Interlaken
#31 of 40 in Interlaken
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#20 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#24 of 40 in Interlaken
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Artos Interlaken
Hotel Artos Interlaken
#28 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Property: Hotel Sonne
Address: Hauptstrasse 34, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonne 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing